Ships from/sold by Movie Mars
Seller Rating:
See All Buying Options
Artist: Various
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Broken Hearts   Dirty Windows:songs CD 1 of 1
(Save 33%)
$8.62 + $2.98 SHIPPING
EARN 9 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
IN STOCK: Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
2 New
See all sellers
View My Store
More Buying Options
Seller Information

Learn more about Broken Hearts Dirty Windows:songs:

Format: CD
Sku: 215868304
UPC: 094012004224
UPC 14: 00094012004224
Release Date: 6/21/2010
See more in Pop

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
1. Bruised Orange (Chain of Sorrow) - Justin Vernon ~ Various Artists
2. Wedding Day in Funeralville - Conor Oberst and the Mystic Valley Band ~ Various Artists
3. All the Best - My Morning Jacket ~ Various Artists
4. Mexican Home ~ Various Artists
5. Six O'Clock News ~ Various Artists
6. Far from Me - Justin Townes Earle ~ Various Artists
7. Spanish Pipedream ~ Various Artists
8. Angel From Montgomery ~ Various Artists
9. Late John Garfield Blues, The ~ Various Artists
10. Daddy's Little Pumpkin ~ Various Artists
11. Unwed Fathers - Deer Tick ~ Various Artists
12. Let's Talk Dirty in Hawaiian ~ Various Artists

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote Tributee: John Prine.
Muze PNote Liner Note Author: Justin Vernon.
Muze PNote Recording information: Beech House Recording Studio, Nashville, TN; Chase Park Transduction, Athens, GA; Electromagnetic Radiation Recorders, Winston-Salem, NC; Fall Creek, WI; Great North Sound Society, Parsonfield, ME; House Of David Studios, Nashville, TN; Paradox Productions, Murfreesboro, TN; Providence, RI; Sonic Ranch, Tornillo, TX; The Cowboy Arms Hotel & Recording Spa, Nashville, TN; The Funeral HOme, Louisville, KY; The Garfield House, San Diego, CA.
Muze PNote What's instantly noticeable and commendable about this tribute to the songwriting of John Prine is that none of the artists chosen to do the honors are contemporaries of the author. Prine, in his early sixties at the time of the album's release, had been a fixture on the singer/songwriter scene since the early '70s, long before most (any?) of the participants were even born. That's a smart move by the compilers: by removing the context in which these songs were first written and recorded, the younger artists were free to reinterpret them on their own merits. Issued simultaneously with Prine's own In Person & on Stage live album, Broken Hearts & Dirty Windows completes a retrospective picture of Prine's accomplishments to the date of this release. Some of the performers choose from among Prine's better-known material, while others dig deeper into the catalog. Old Crow Medicine Show's take on "Angel from Montgomery" is reminiscent of the early music of the Band, old-timey yet contemporary too. The album opens with Justin Vernon of Bon Iver, who brings a faraway gospel feel to "Bruised Orange (Chain of Sorrow)," the title track of a 1978 Prine album, and it closes with Those Darlins' surfy take on one of Prine's more humorous efforts, "Let's Talk Dirty in Hawaiian." Some of the most impressive interpretations veer from Prine's arrangements: Conor Oberst and the Mystic Valley Band turn up the indie rock volume on "Wedding Day in Funeralville" and Drive-By Truckers give a bar band rawness to "Daddy's Little Pumpkin." Justin Townes Earle's "Far from Me" is low-key and imbued with an easygoing rural quality, My Morning Jacket turn "All the Best" into an alt-country singalong, and Deer Tick (featuring Liz Isenberg) are reminiscent of Gram Parsons and Emmylou Harris' duets with their front-porch "Unwed Fathers." ~ Jeff Tamarkin

Producer: Josh Talley (Compilation)

Musical Guests
Muze Guest Artist Liz Isenberg

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 05/31/2010
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 2010
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : CDOBR042
Music Label Name Label : Oh Boy
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 1
Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Stereo
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00094012004224

Professional Reviews

Rolling Stone (p.80)
- "The tunes are personalized with minor mutations, capturing the sort of signature life-affirming darkness epitomized by a couplet from 'Six O'Clock News'..."

Mojo (Publisher)
- 4 stars out of 5 -- "Conor Oberst injects indie rock into 'Wedding Day In Funeralville,' but all of it is done with a loving, humble grace."

Paste (magazine)
- "At last, the tribute he deserves. The songs of dirt-road troubador John Prine are malleable -- simple, elegiac tales of people living out simple lives."

Pitchfork (Website)
- "Abandoning the ethereal folk of Bon Iver, Justin Vernon invests 'Bruised Orange (Chain of Sorrow)
' with an earthy gravity, packing in a novel's worth of detail in just four minutes."

Record Collector (magazine)
- 3 stars out of 5 -- "Respectful covers abound...with the ever-improving Justin Townes 'Son Of Steve' Earle especially affecting on 'Far From Me'..."

Uncut (magazine)
- 4 stars out of 5 -- "[A] stirring salute to the unflashy genius of John Prine."

Advertisement Bottom