Ships from/sold by Buy.com
See All Buying Options
advertisement

Call the Midwife Farewell to the East End (Paperback)

Author:  Jennifer Worth
Earn Super Points: Write a Review
37%
OFF
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Call the Midwife Worth, Jennifer 1 of 1
$15.99
(Save 37%)
$10.06 + $2.90 SHIPPING
EARN 11 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Super Points
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
FORMAT: Paperback
CONDITION:  Brand New
IN STOCK: Usually Ships within 24 hours
3 New and Used
from
$10.06
See all sellers
45 day return policy
Share
 
Description
More Buying Options
 

Learn more about Call the Midwife:

Format: Paperback
ISBN-10: 0062270060
ISBN-13: 9780062270061
Sku: 243803253
Publish Date: 3/12/2013
Dimensions:  (in Inches) 8H x 5.5L x 0.75T
Pages:  336
See more in Personal Memoirs
 
The final book in the acclaimed memoir series--the basis for the acclaimed PBS series: an enduring work of literary nonfiction that combines a heartwarming coming-of-age story and a startling look at women''s lives in the poorest section of postwar London.
From the Publisher:

The last book in the trilogy begun by Jennifer Worth's New York Times bestseller and the basis for the PBS series Call the Midwife

When twenty-two-year-old Jennifer Worth, from a comfortable middle-class upbringing, went to work as a midwife in the poorest section of postwar London, she not only delivered hundreds of babies and touched many lives, she also became the neighborhood's most vivid chronicler. Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End is the last book in Worth's memoir trilogy, which the Times Literary Supplement described as "powerful stories with sweet charm and controlled outrage" in the face of dire circumstances.

Here, at last, is the full story of Chummy's delightful courtship and wedding. We also meet Megan'mave, identical twins who share a browbeaten husband, and return to Sister Monica Joan, who is in top eccentric form. As in Worth's first two books, Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times and Call the Midwife: Shadows of the Workhouse, the vividly portrayed denizens of a postwar East End contend with the trials of extreme poverty?unsanitary conditions, hunger, and disease?and find surprising ways to thrive in their tightly knit community.

A rich portrait of a bygone era of comradeship and midwifery populated by unforgettable characters, Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End will appeal to readers of Frank McCourt, Katherine Boo, and James Herriot, as well as to the fans of the acclaimed PBS show based on the trilogy.

Product Attributes

Product attributeeBooks:   Kobo
Product attributeBook Format:   Paperback
Product attributeNumber of Pages:   0336
Product attributePublisher:   Ecco Press
Advertisement Bottom