Ships from/sold by
See All Buying Options

Celebrate (2014)

Artist: James Durbin
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Celebrate CD 1 of 1
(Save 21%)
$9.35 + $1.90 SHIPPING
EARN 10 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
IN STOCK: Usually Ships within 1 business day
3 New
See all sellers
45 day return policy
More Buying Options

Learn more about Celebrate:

Format: CD
Sku: 262329294
UPC: 601501335228
UPC 14: 00601501335228
Release Date: 4/8/2014
See more in Pop

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
1. Children Under the Sun
2. Parachute
3. You Can't Believe
4. Issues
5. Fool For You
6. Louder Than a Loaded Gun
7. Live Right Now
8. You're Not Alone
9. Forget It
10. Celebrate
11. Real Love

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote Audio Mixer: Mark Needham.
Muze PNote Recording information: Rygo Studio, Benton, IL; The Cabin Studios, Los Angeles, CA; Volcano Studio, Venice, CA.
Muze PNote Photographer: Leann Mueller.
Muze PNote James Durbin's latest effort takes a refreshingly honest turn toward pop. It's a marked change considering that Durbin played the role of the rocker during his run on the 2010 season of American Idol. Sure, he had previously fronted the L.A. rock band Hollywood Scars, who covered Guns N' Roses, Iron Maiden, and M?tley Cre, but he was no more Axl Rose than Adam Lambert was Freddie Mercury. Nonetheless, Durbin, with his hair spiked and eyes rimmed in kohl, could hit the high notes with enough resonant nasal squelch and stage passion to evince the stock character of the rock star, or at least the Broadway version of one. His post-Idol debut, 2011's Memories of a Beautiful Disaster, bore this out as it showcased his ability to sell both emo-inflected rock tunes, electronic-infused pop songs, and the occasional, obligatory ballad. Durbin's follow-up, 2014's Celebrate, finds him moving almost completely away from the faux-hard rock of Memories, and embracing a shiny, mainstream pop sound. Produced by Scott "The Ninja" Stevens, who previously contributed to Daughtry's 2013 album Baptized, Celebrate is in all ways a pop record. Cuts like the lead-off "Children Under the Sun," "Parachute" and "Issues" are shimmering, U2-influenced anthems arranged with sparkling guitars, exuberant synths, and in the case of "Issues," a string section. Similarly, cuts like "Fool for You," and "Live Right Now," mix Daniel Powter-esque aphorisms with catchy melodies and a mix of live and programmed drums. In that sense, the album feels a lot more in tune with Durbin's bright, positive-minded persona and huge voice. As he sings on"You Can't Believe," "You Can't believe/What people say about you/You gotta be/Yourself in your own virtue." Ultimately, by letting go of his outer rocker, Durbin is free to embrace his inner pop singer, and the result is definitely something for him to Celebrate. ~ Matt Collar

Producer: Scott "the Ninja" Stevens

Engineer: Scott "the Ninja" Stevens

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 04/08/2014
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 2014
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : 13352
Music Label Name Label : Wind-Up
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 1
Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Stereo
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00601501335228

Product Attributes

Product attributeArtist:   Durbin,James
Product attributeLabel:   Wind-Up Records
Advertisement Bottom