Get Free Shipping when you spend at least $0.01 with Blow It Outa Here.
Ships from/sold by Blow It Outa Here
Seller Rating:
See All Buying Options

Civil War (1990)

Artist: Soundtrack
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Civil War CD 1 of 1
(Save 27%)
$13.84  + Free Shipping
EARN 14 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
IN STOCK: Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
5 New
See all sellers
View My Store
More Buying Options
Seller Information

Learn more about Civil War:

Format: CD
Sku: 60266785
UPC: 075597925623
UPC 14: 00075597925623
Release Date: 12/4/1990
See more in Soundtracks & Scores

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
1. Drums Of War ~ Original TV Soundtrack
2. Oliver Wendell Holmes - Paul Roebling ~ Original Soundtrack
3. Ashokan Farewell - Evan Stover/Jay Ungar/Matt Glaser/Molly Mason/Russ Barenberg ~ Original Soundtrack
4. Battle Cry of Freedom - Jacqueline Schwab ~ Original Soundtrack
5. We Are Climbing Jacob's Ladder - Bernice Johnson Reagon ~ Original Soundtrack
6. Dixie/Bonnie Blue Flag - New American Brass Band ~ Original Soundtrack
7. Cheer Boys Cheer - New American Brass Band ~ Original Soundtrack
8. Angel Band - Molly Mason/Russ Barenberg ~ Original Soundtrack
9. Johnny Has Gone for a Soldier - Jesse Carr/Jacqueline Schwab ~ Original Soundtrack
10. Lorena - Jay Ungar/Matt Glaser/Molly Mason ~ Original Soundtrack
11. Parade - New American Brass Band ~ Original Soundtrack
12. Hail Columbia - New American Brass Band ~ Original Soundtrack
13. Dixie - Bobby Horton ~ Original Soundtrack
14. Kingdom Coming - Jay Ungar/Matt Glaser/Art Baron ~ Original Soundtrack
15. Battle Hymn of the Republic - Jacqueline Schwab/Matt Glaser ~ Original Soundtrack
16. All Quiet on the Potomac - Jacqueline Schwab ~ Original Soundtrack
17. Flag of Columbia - Jacqueline Schwab ~ Original Soundtrack
18. Weeping, Sad and Lonely - Peggy James/Jesse Carr/Jacqueline Schwab ~ Original Soundtrack
19. Yankee Doodle - Old Bethpage Brass Band ~ Original Soundtrack
20. Palmyra Schottische - New American Brass Band ~ Original Soundtrack
21. When Johnny Comes Marching Home - Old Bethpage Brass Band ~ Original Soundtrack
22. Shenandoah - John Colby/John Levy ~ Original Soundtrack
23. When Johnny Comes Marching Home - Yonatin Malin/Peter Amidon/Jacqueline Schwab/Jay Ungar/Matt Glaser/Molly Mason ~ Original Soundtrack
24. Marching Through Georgia - Peter Amidon/Jay Ungar/Matt Glaser/Molly Mason ~ Original Soundtrack
25. Marching Through Georgia (Lament) - Jacqueline Schwab ~ Original Soundtrack
26. Battle Cry of Freedom - Jacqueline Schwab ~ Original Soundtrack
27. Battle Hymn of the Republic - Abyssinian Baptist Gospel Choir ~ Original Soundtrack
28. Ashokan Farewell/Sullivan Ballou Letter - Abyssinian Baptist Gospel Choir ~ Original Soundtrack

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote Personnel: Bernice Johnson Reagon (vocals); Jay Ungar (guitar, mandolin, fiddle); Molly Mason, Russ Barenberg, Bobby Horton (guitar); Peter Amidon (banjo); Peggy James, Evan Stover, Matt Glaser (fiddle); John Levy (cello); Yonatin Malin (flute); Jesse Carr (recorder); Art Baron (euphonium); Jacqueline Schwab, John Colby (piano).
Muze PNote Liner Note Author: Ken Burns.
Muze PNote Recording information: 1984-1990.
Muze PNote Directors: Robert Sheldon; Kirby Jolly; Dr. Jewel T. Thompson.
Muze PNote Editors: Ed Barteski; Phoebe Yantsios; Tricia Reidy; Paul Barnes; Meredith Woods.
Muze PNote Photographers: Franklyn Fulton; Robert Rhodes.
Muze PNote Unknown Contributor Roles: John Colby; Abyssinian Baptist Gospel Choir.
Muze PNote Elektra/Nonesuch scored one of the biggest successes of the classical specialty label's history with this soundtrack to the Ken Burns public television series The Civil War. More a multi-artist compilation than an actual "soundtrack" in the formal sense, the album is filled with low-key highlights from the series -- Jay Ungar's "Ashokan Farewell" is the most familiar of the material that was new to most listeners, but it was surrounded by fare such as "Battle Cry of Freedom," "Bonnie Blue Flag," "Dixie," "Hail Columbia," and "Battle Hymn of the Republic," which will certainly be known, at least by memory, to anyone who attended school in the United States before 1967 or so. There's also some representation of spirituals, most notably "We Are Climbing Jacob's Ladder." There are some full-band performances here ("Yankee Doodle," "Parade") and a few tunes featured in more than one incarnation (most notably "Marching Through Georgia"), but the overall thrust of this soundtrack is toward the small-scale and intimate in terms of sound and arrangements -- it's a far cry from the mostly upbeat Civil War song compilations that appeared in the late '50s and the start of the 1960s, in the run up to the war's centenary. Less is more seems to have been the operating theory behind the music, which makes it more enduring as a listening experience -- subtlety being a hallmark of the music -- and a strong tug on the conscience and the intellect. And the final track, "Ashokan Farewell/Sullivan Ballou Letter," the latter read by Paul Roebling, can bring a tear to the eye of the most hardened listener. ~ Bruce Eder

Producer: Fiddle Fever; Julie Dunfey; Jay Ungar; John Colby; Ken Burns; Toshi Reagon; Bernice Johnson Reagon; BobbY Horton

Engineer: Don Wershba; Michael Golub; Paul Goodman; Scott Hull; Billy Shaw

Associated Artists and Works

California Dreams
Original Soundtrack

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 12/04/1990
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 1990
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : 79256
Music Label Name Label : Nonesuch (USA)
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 1
Music Studio or Live Studio/Live : Studio
Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Stereo
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00075597925623

Professional Reviews

Rolling Stone (4/4/91)
- Regarding the track `Ashokan Farewell' "...a quintessentially American lament...has all the bittersweet tragedy and uplift contained in the Civil speaks directly to the heart."

Entertainment Weekly (1/21/91)
- A "`Ashokan Farewell' is tender, haunting, and filled with delicate melodic twists...a tune of such runaway gorgeousness."

Time Magazine (2/4/91)
- "The haunting tune `Ashokan Farewell'...was inspired by 19th century Scottish laments...there is a fair chance that this composition may become somethig of a classic."

Advertisement Bottom