Ships from/sold by Buy.com
See All Buying Options
advertisement

Cloud Atlas (Paperback)

Author:  David Mitchell
Earn Super Points: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Cloud Atlas Mitchell, David 1 of 1
$15.00
(Save 32%)
$10.11 + $3.75 SHIPPING
EARN 11 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Super Points
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
FORMAT: Paperback
CONDITION:  Brand New
IN STOCK: Usually Ships within 24 hours
2 New
from
$10.11
See all sellers
45 day return policy
Share
 
Description
More Buying Options
 

Learn more about Cloud Atlas:

Format: Paperback
ISBN-10: 0812984412
ISBN-13: 9780812984415
Sku: 230980176
Publish Date: 9/11/2012
Dimensions:  (in Inches) 8.5H x 5.5L x 1.25T
Pages:  514
See more in Literary
 
From the Publisher:
Now a major motion picture starring Tom Hanks, Halle Berry, Susan Sarandon, and Hugh Grant

Directed by Lana and Andy Wachowski and Tom Tykwer

?[David] Mitchell is, clearly, a genius. He writes as though at the helm of some perpetual dream machine, can evidently do anything, and his ambition is written in magma across this novel's every page.??The New York Times Book Review

A postmodern visionary who is also a master of styles of genres, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian lore of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction that reveals how disparate people connect, how their fates intertwine, and how their souls drift across time like clouds across the sky.

?One of those how-the-holy-hell-did-he-do-it? modern classics that no doubt is?and should be?read by any student of contemporary literature.??Dave Eggers

?Wildly entertaining . . . a head rush, both action-packed and chillingly ruminative.??People

?The novel as series of nested dolls or Chinese boxes, a puzzle-book, and yet?not just dazzling, amusing, or clever but heartbreaking and passionate, too. I've never read anything quite like it, and I'm grateful to have lived, for a while, in all its many worlds.??Michael Chabon
Annotation:
As they weave through, reference, and illuminate each other, these lengthy stories comprise a startlingly original novel. They tap into different time periods (from the 19th to the 22nd centuries), locations (the Chatham Islands, London, California, a future dystopia in what was once Korea) and genres (noir, sci-fi, diaries, dialect narrative). Divided into two sets of tales, the book first progresses toward a central, futuristic story of tenuous survivors in a new Iron Age, then moves back again through the worlds of the first section, culminating--as it began--in the diary entries of a man in the South Seas in 1850. All together, as they comment on the passing of time and the human desire for some kind of redemption, the narratives tell a powerful, complex, and completely gripping story. A New York Times Notable Book for 2004.

Praise

"[T]he main virtue of the novel is that imponderable quality of outright likeability. Zachry is the last in a line of disarmingly charming narrators accommodated by the imagination of the author: David Mitchell is a tremendously engaging host-writer....[A]n affecting achievement of the imagination." - Stephen Abell 02/27/2004

"Great Britain's answer to Thomas Pynchon outdoes himself with this maddeningly intricate, improbably entertaining [novel]....[I]n one of the most imaginative and rewarding novels in recent memory, the author unforgettably explores issues of exploitation, tyranny, slavery, and genocide....Sheer storytelling brilliance." 05/15/2004

"Mitchell's virtuosic novel presents six narratives that evoke an array of genres, from Melvillean high-seas drama to California noir and dystopian fantasy." 08/23/2004

"David Mitchell entices his readers on to a rollercoaster, and at first they wonder if they want to get off. Then--at least in my case--they can't bear the journey to end. Like Scheherazade, and like serialised Victorian novels and modern soaps, he ends his episodes on cliffhangers and missed heartbeats. But unlike these, he starts his next tale in another place, in another time, in another vocabulary, and expects us to go through it all again. Trust the tale. He reaches a cumulative ending of all of them, and then finishes them all individually, giving a complete narrative pleasure that is rare." - A. S. Byatt 03/06/2004

Product Attributes

Product attributeBook Format:   Paperback
Product attributeNumber of Pages:   0514
Product attributePublisher:   Random House Trade
Advertisement Bottom