Cloud Atlas (Paperback)

Author: Mitchell, David

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

AVERAGE RATING
5 out of 5
5
1
4
0
3
0
2
0
1
0
Total Reviews
1
5
Overall Satisfaction
5
Value
5
Ease of Use
5
Performance

Amazing!

by Jacqueline on 9/11/2012

This is one of the most unique and special books I have had the pleasure of reading in the recent past. It is unlike any other book and Mitchell really comes into his own with this piece of work. This is my third Mitchell book and he gets better with each book. Glad I read this before the movie came out!

Was this review helpful to you?

YESNO

Product Overview

By the New York Times bestselling author of The Bone Clocks | Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize

A postmodern visionary and one of the leading voices in twenty-first-century fiction, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending, philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Haruki Murakami, and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction as profound as it is playful. In this groundbreaking novel, an influential favorite among a new generation of writers, Mitchell explores with daring artistry fundamental questions of reality and identity.

Cloud Atlas begins in 1850 with Adam Ewing, an American notary voyaging from the Chatham Isles to his home in California. Along the way, Ewing is befriended by a physician, Dr. Goose, who begins to treat him for a rare species of brain parasite. . . . Abruptly, the action jumps to Belgium in 1931, where Robert Frobisher, a disinherited bisexual composer, contrives his way into the household of an infirm maestro who has a beguiling wife and a nubile daughter. . . . From there we jump to the West Coast in the 1970s and a troubled reporter named Luisa Rey, who stumbles upon a web of corporate greed and murder that threatens to claim her life. . . . And onward, with dazzling virtuosity, to an inglorious present-day England; to a Korean superstate of the near future where neocapitalism has run amok; and, finally, to a postapocalyptic Iron Age Hawaii in the last days of history.

But the story doesn?t end even there. The narrative then boomerangs back through centuries and space, returning by the same route, in reverse, to its starting point. Along the way, Mitchell reveals how his disparate characters connect, how their fates intertwine, and how their souls drift across time like clouds across the sky.

As wild as a videogame, as mysterious as a Zen koan, Cloud Atlas is an unforgettable tour de force that, like its incomparable author, has transcended its cult classic status to become a worldwide phenomenon.

Praise for Cloud Atlas
 
?[David] Mitchell is, clearly, a genius. He writes as though at the helm of some perpetual dream machine, can evidently do anything, and his ambition is written in magma across this novel?s every page.??The New York Times Book Review
 
?One of those how-the-holy-hell-did-he-do-it? modern classics that no doubt is?and should be?read by any student of contemporary literature.??Dave Eggers
 
?Wildly entertaining . . . a head rush, both action-packed and chillingly ruminative.??People
 
?The novel as series of nested dolls or Chinese boxes, a puzzle-book, and yet?not just dazzling, amusing, or clever but heartbreaking and passionate, too. I?ve never read anything quite like it, and I?m grateful to have lived, for a while, in all its many worlds.??Michael Chabon
 
?Cloud Atlas ought to make [Mitchell] famous on both sides of the Atlantic as a writer whose fearlessness is matched by his talent.??The Washington Post Book World
 
?Thrilling . . . One of the biggest joys in Cloud Atlas is watching Mitchell sashay from genre to genre without a hitch in his dance step.??Boston Sunday Globe
 
?Grand and elaborate . . . [Mitchell] creates a world and language at once foreign and strange, yet strikingly familiar and intimate.??Los Angeles Times


From the Hardcover edition.

Specifications

Publisher Random House Inc
Mfg Part# 9780375507250
SKU 36338153
Format Paperback
ISBN10 0375507256
Release Date 8/1/2004
Product Attributes
eBooks Kobo
Book Format Paperback
Number of Pages 0528
Publisher Random House Trade

More Buying Options

Seller Infomation Price & Shipping  
ShopSpell $14.49 + $3.99 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock
Brand New In Stock
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Athena Express $21.93 + free shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock
New and Best Brand Name Products! Ships Within 1-2 Business Days With Tracking!
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Ria Christie Collections $24.25 + $2.98 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock

Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
M and N Media $25.20 + $5.49 shipping
Condition: Used-Acceptable
In Stock

Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
M and N Media $35.14 + $5.49 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock

Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
loading
$14.49 + $3.99 shipping
$16.00 You save $1.51 (9%)
Rakuten Super Points Earn 15 ($0.15) Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
Get this item for
(price with shipping)
(redeem points)
Format: Paperback
Condition: Brand New
In Stock. Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
Please select an option to buy
Add to Cart

Sold By:  ShopSpell
What is a Marketplace and Shop Owner?
  • Our marketplace is a platform where approved third-party retailers (Shop Owners) can sell their products
  • Items are sold and shipped by Shop Owners
  • Your credit card and personal information remain secure; Rakuten.com meets all PCI Security Standards.
  • Purchases can only be returned to the Shop Owner
  • All purchases receive Rakuten Super Points™
ADVERTISEMENT
Promotions & Offers (1)
  •  custom promo
    5% Back* Sitewide with Promo Code Rewardme *See page for details
Buy From Other Sellers (5)
kobo
  • Take your library with you wherever you go
  • Use the device you want to use… smartphone, desktop and many of today’s most popular eReaders

WHY KOBO?

We love the Kobo eReading service… and we know you will too. We’ve partnered with them to bring you the most flexible, enjoyable eReading experience in the U.S.

SHOPPING ON KOBO

You’ll be asked to sign in or create a new account with Kobo. Once you do, you’ll immediately get access to millions of titles and be ready to start eReading. Anytime. Anyplace.

continue to kobo
Recent Product Reviews


Amazing! by Jacqueline on Sep 11, 2012

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT