Coming Up For Air CD (2009)

Artist: Davy Knowles

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview

Produced by Peter Frampton and mixed by Bob Clearmountain, Coming Up For Air, a smorgasbord of rockers and acoustic ballads, includes Davy Knowles and Peter's dueling guitar solos on George Harrison's anthem, "Hear Me Lord," and an extraordinary bonus track duet with Jonatha Brooke of her "Taste of Danger."

The album is built around nine Davy originals (two co-written with Peter Frampton). Highlights include rockers "Tear Down the Walls" and "Riverbed" and the soulful "You Can't Take This Back."

Track Listing
1. Coming Up For Air
2. Riverbed
3. Mistakes
4. Hear Me Lord
5. Amber's Song
6. Tear Down The Walls
7. You Can't Take This Back
8. Country Girl
9. Keep On Searching
10. Saving Myself
11. Taste of Danger (Featuring Jonatha Brooke)


Label Blix Street Records
SKU 211151916
UPC 739341009327
UPC 14 00739341009327
Format CD
Release Date 6/16/2009
Author Davy Knowles
Technical Info
Engineer Frank Rosato; Ian C. Charbonneau; Frank Rosato
Producer Davy Knowles; Jonatha Brooke; Peter Frampton; Bob Clearmountain; Peter Frampton
CatalogID 10093
Lable Name Blix Street Records
Released 06/01/2009
Original Release 2009
Number of Discs 1
SPARE Code n/a
Length 48m : 31s
Mono/Stereo Stereo
Studio/Live Studio
UPC 00739341009327
Musical Guests
Jonatha Brooke
Album Notes and Credits
Personnel: Davy Knowles (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, National guitar, tenor guitar, mandolin); Jonatha Brooke (vocals, acoustic guitar); Peter Frampton (guitar, acoustic guitar, background vocals); Gil Goldstein (accordion); Benmont Tench (Wurlitzer organ); Christian McBride (upright bass); Fritz Lewak, Steve Gadd (drums); Christine Collister (background vocals).
Audio Mixer: Bob Clearmountain.
Recording information: Woodcliff Studio.
After the critical and commercial triumph of 2007's ROLL AWAY, Isle Of Man blues-rock guitarist and singer Davy Knowles and his Back Door Slam returned in 2009 with the Peter Frampton-produced COMING UP FOR AIR. The Frampton connection is especially important since Knowles is stressing the rock side of his musical equation this time out, complete with AOR-worthy old-school songcraft such as the title track and "Tearing Down The Walls." No matter what the genre however, Knowles is without doubt a greatly gifted player; he takes the most smartly constructed solos with a rich, fat tone, very reminiscent of James Gang-era Joe Walsh. And even though bassist Adam Jones and drummer Ross Doyle have pursued a different musical path since this recording, right here these boys are a tight, rocking power trio who show more than a little substance.
Artist Bio
Davy KnowlesDavy Knowles has known what he wanted to do with his life since the age of 11. I was in the car with my dad, and he put on a cassette of Dire Straits' 'Sultans of Swing,'" explains the 21-year-old guitarist, singer and songwriter. "I just fell in love with the music then and there. That track changed my life, and I realized, 'I really want to be able to do that.'"Hailing from the Isle of Man, the tiny kingdom in the middle of the Irish Sea, might have posed a challenge to that childhood epiphany for a lesser talent.He played in bands throughout his school years - usually as the "kid" among older players - and, ultimately, formed Back Door Slam with his school mates. The band's debut recording Roll Away, which featured Adam Jones on bass and Ross Doyle on drums, was released by Blix Street Records in June, 2007. Knowles wrote all but one of the tracks on the record, which became a Top 5 staple on Billboard's Blues chart.Such acclaim continued as the band played clubs, concerts and festivals and shared billings with George Thorogood, Buddy Guy, Kid Rock & Lynyrd Skynyrd, The Who and the legendary jam band Gov't Mule.After parting company with his bandmates Jones and Doyle, Knowles began to record the follow up to Roll Away.
Disc 1
1 Coming Up For Air
2 Riverbed
3 Mistakes
4 Hear Me Lord
5 Amber's Song
6 Tear Down The Walls
7 You Can't Take This Back
8 Country Girl
9 Keep On Searching
10 Saving Myself
11 Taste of Danger
Product Attributes
Artist Knowles,Davy
Label Blix Street Records
Music Format Compact Disc
$21.16 + free shipping
Rakuten Super Points Earn 22 ($0.22) Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
Format: CD
Condition: Brand New
In Stock. Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
Please select an option to buy
Add to Cart

Sold By:  Blow It Outa Here
What is a Marketplace and Shop Owner?
  • Our marketplace is a platform where approved third-party retailers (Shop Owners) can sell their products
  • Items are sold and shipped by Shop Owners
  • Your credit card and personal information remain secure; meets all PCI Security Standards.
  • Purchases can only be returned to the Shop Owner
  • All purchases receive Rakuten Super Points™