Get Free Shipping when you spend at least $0.01 with Blow It Outa Here.
Ships from/sold by Blow It Outa Here
Seller Rating:
See All Buying Options
Artist: Nanci Griffith
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Complete Mca Studio Recordings (Bonus Tracks) CD 1 of 1
(Save 12%)
$8.74  + Free Shipping
EARN 9 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
IN STOCK: Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
2 New
See all sellers
View My Store
More Buying Options
Seller Information

Learn more about Complete Mca Studio Recordings (Bonus Tracks):

Format: CD
Sku: 60603505
UPC: 008817038124
UPC 14: 00008817038124
Release Date: 6/17/2003
See more in Pop

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
1. Tumble And Fall - (previously unreleased) ~ Nanci Griffith
2. Lone Star State Of Mind ~ Nanci Griffith
3. Cold Hearts/Closed Minds ~ Nanci Griffith
4. From A Distance ~ Nanci Griffith
5. Beacon Street ~ Nanci Griffith
6. Nickel Dreams ~ Nanci Griffith
7. Sing One For Sister ~ Nanci Griffith
8. Ford Econoline ~ Nanci Griffith
9. Trouble In The Fields ~ Nanci Griffith
10. Love In A Memory ~ Nanci Griffith
11. Let It Shine On Me ~ Nanci Griffith
12. There's A Light Beyond These Woods (Mary Margaret) ~ Nanci Griffith
13. Anyone Can Be Somebody's Fool ~ Nanci Griffith
14. I Knew Love ~ Nanci Griffith
15. Never Mind ~ Nanci Griffith
16. Love Wore A Halo (Back Before The War) ~ Nanci Griffith
17. So Long Ago ~ Nanci Griffith
18. Gulf Coast Highway - (with Mac McAnally) ~ Nanci Griffith
19. Little Love Affairs ~ Nanci Griffith
20. I Wish It Would Rain ~ Nanci Griffith
21. Outbound Plane ~ Nanci Griffith
22. I Would Change My Life ~ Nanci Griffith
23. Sweet Dreams Will Come ~ Nanci Griffith
24. Wooden Heart - (previously unreleased) ~ Nanci Griffith
Disc 2
Song Title
1. I Don't Want To Talk About Love ~ Nanci Griffith
2. Drive-In Movies And Dashboard Lights ~ Nanci Griffith
3. You Made This Love A Teardrop ~ Nanci Griffith
4. Brave Companion Of The Road ~ Nanci Griffith
5. Storms ~ Nanci Griffith
6. It's A Hard Life Wherever You Go ~ Nanci Griffith
7. If Wishes Were Changes ~ Nanci Griffith
8. Listen To The Radio ~ Nanci Griffith
9. Leaving The Harbor ~ Nanci Griffith
10. Radio Fragile ~ Nanci Griffith
11. It's Just Another Morning Here ~ Nanci Griffith
12. Late Night Grande Hotel ~ Nanci Griffith
13. It's Too Late ~ Nanci Griffith
14. Fields Of Summer ~ Nanci Griffith
15. Heaven ~ Nanci Griffith
16. Power Lines, The ~ Nanci Griffith
17. Hometown Streets ~ Nanci Griffith
18. Down 'N' Outer ~ Nanci Griffith
19. One Blade Shy Of A Sharp Edge ~ Nanci Griffith
20. Sun, Moon, And Stars, The ~ Nanci Griffith
21. San Diego Serenade ~ Nanci Griffith
22. Stand Your Ground - (previously unreleased) ~ Nanci Griffith

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote Personnel: Nanci Griffith (vocals, acoustic guitar); Mark O'Connor (acoustic guitar, mandolin, violin, viola); Byrd Burton (acoustic & electric guitars); Mac McAnally (acoustic guitar, background vocals); Billy Joe Walker, Jr.
Muze PNote Rick West (acoustic guitar); Phillip Donnelly (electric guitar); Jerry Donahue (electric guitar); Pat Alger (guitar); Lloyd Green (pedal steel guitar, dobro); Bela Fleck (banjo); Emory Gordy (mandolin, electric bass); John Catchings (cello); James Hooker (piano, Hammond B-3 organ, synthesizer); John Jarvis (piano); Roy Huskey, Jr. (upright bass); Mo Foster (electric bass); Russ Kunkel (drums, percussion); Fran Breen (drums); Albert Lee, Tanita Tikaram (background vocals).
Muze PNote Producers include: Tony Brown, Nanci Griffith, Glyn Johns, Peter Van Hooke, Rod Argent.
Muze PNote Compilation producer: Mike Ragogna.
Muze PNote Recorded between 1987 & 1991. Includes liner notes by Scott Schinder.
Muze PNote The standard line on Nanci Griffith's five-year sojourn at MCA Records is that Griffith, a Texas-born singer/songwriter, earned a major-label Nashville contract after four independent folkie releases on the basis of Kathy Mattea's Top Ten country recording of her song "Love at the Five and Dime," at a time when country music seemed more open to new sounds and MCA's Tony Brown was also signing such mavericks as Steve Earle and Lyle Lovett. But after two albums, Lone Star State of Mind (1987) and Little Love Affairs (1988), met resistance, failing to produce a major country hit, Griffith was transferred to the label's pop division, where Storms (1989) showed promise but Late Night Grande Hotel (1991) turned out to be too much of a pop move and turned off her existing fan base without attracting a new one. Then MCA dropped her. After a sojourn at Elektra Records, Griffith returned to indie status with Rounder in 2002, which oddly landed her back at MCA, since the major had a distribution deal with Rounder. MCA has also reissued Griffith's early albums, which gives the label a considerable stake in her catalog. So, there is a full-priced one-disc compilation of her actual MCA recordings (From a Distance: The Very Best of Nanci Griffith), a discount-priced Millennium Collection best-of, and now this two-disc package combining all four MCA albums with a few rarities. And when you listen to it from beginning to end, the standard line no longer seems to hold. The first two albums are no more country than Griffith's early "folk" albums, and the last two are not so "pop." The distinctions have more to do with production approaches, which pale before the dominant aspects of the music -- Griffith's sweet and sour voice with its distinctive twang and the terrific songs. Maybe there was something to the notion that Griffith, who delighted in showing listeners what novel she was reading on her album covers, was a bit too erudite for a Nashville thrush, but the result is a set of songs, written by her and some well-chosen others, that stand up well a decade later and are likely to sound just as good many decades hence. ~ William Ruhlmann

Compilation Appearances

Muze Music Compilations Songs Of Pete Seeger
Muze Music Compilations Celebration
Muze Music Compilations Essential Chieftains
Muze Music Compilations Wounded Heart Of America
Muze Music Compilations Veteran's Day: The Tom Russell Anthology
Muze Music Compilations Poet:tribute To Townes Van Zandt
Muze Music Compilations Rounder Records Story
Muze Music Compilations Don Mclean:american Troubadour

Associated Artists and Works

Chieftains (The)

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 06/17/2003
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 2003
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : 0000447
Music Label Name Label : MCA Nashville
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 2
Music Studio or Live Studio/Live : Studio
Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Stereo
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00008817038124

Professional Reviews

Q (11/03, p.130)
- 4 stars out of 5 - "...Here's a handy reminder of her enduring strengths: literate, characterful songs; unshakeable humanity; wonderfully sparkling voice. She remains a breath of fresh air..."

Advertisement Bottom