Crazy Rhythm: Standard Transcr CD (2000)

Artist: Hank Penny

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview


Label Bloodshot
SKU 60422167
UPC 744302080628
UPC 14 00744302080628
Format CD
Release Date 7/18/2000
Author Hank Penny
Technical Info
CatalogID 806
Lable Name Bloodshot
Released 07/11/2005
Original Release 2000
Number of Discs 1
SPARE Code n/a
Length 70m : 32s
Mono/Stereo Stereo
Studio/Live Studio
UPC 00744302080628
Album Notes and Credits
Recorded for Standard Radio Transcription Services in 1951. Includes liner notes by Rich Kienzle.
Digitally remastered by Phil York (Yorktown Digital).
This is part of the Revival series, coproduced by Bloodshot and Soundies Records.
Liner Note Author: Rich Kienzle.
Recording information: 1951.
Hank Penny, though never achieving the fame and success of fellow artists Bob Wills and Spade Cooley, was a giant in the field known as Western swing. Though nearly forgotten by mainstream country audiences, Western swing--a fusion of country and jazz with touches of blues and Tex-Mex--was immensely popular from the 1930s through the early '50s, and was one of the cornerstones of rock & roll. Penny had a smooth, slightly drawling voice (a bit like Merle Haggard's or Jack Teagarden's) and a wry, irreverent delivery; his band featured excellent musicians who were equally at home with swinging jazz and country.
CRAZY RHYTHM collects radio transcriptions (recordings made exclusively for radio broadcast) from 1951, and it's essential for Western swing fans. The sound quality is superb, the liner notes are comprehensive and this set contains 30 songs, totaling over 70 minutes. Also, the jazz orientation (including some bebop influence) is strong here, with many fine instrumentals--listen to and marvel at "Progressive Country Music for a Hollywood Flapper."
Professional Reviews
CMJ (8/21/00, p.24) - "...An essential addition to the [Western swing] cannon and an irresistible call to cut a rug."
Disc 1
1 Kiss Me Honey (But Take Your Time)
2 Wang Wang Blues
3 Rabbits Don't Ever Get Married
4 Penny Opus No. 1, The
5 Hold The Phone
6 No Fuss, No Muss, No Bother
7 Won't You Ride In My Little Red Wagon
8 Progressive Country Music For A Hollywood Flapper
9 Don't Start Breathing Down My Neck
10 Mister And Mississippi
11 I'm Waiting Just For You
12 I Like The Wide Open Spaces
13 Flamin' Mamie
14 Cross Your Heart
15 I'm Not In Love (Just Involved)
16 Taxes, Taxes
17 Peroxide Blond
18 Ship Of Broken Dreams
19 Things Are Gettin' Rough All Over
20 Big-Footed Sam
21 That Mink On Her Back
22 Catch 'Em Young, Treat 'Em Rough, Tell 'Em Nothin'
23 Crazy Rhythm
24 White Shotguns
25 You're Bound To Look Like A Monkey
26 You're So Different
27 We Met Too Late
28 Alabama Jubilee
29 I Want My Rib
30 September Song
Sold Out
Sorry, you missed the deal! This product is currently not available.