Definitive Collection CD (2007)

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview


Label Universal Music Group
SKU 204323523
UPC 602517303829
UPC 14 00602517303829
Format CD
Release Date 4/17/2007
Author Flying Burrito Broth
Compilation Appearance A m 50:Anniversary Collection
Compilation Appearance 70's
Associated Artist/Work White, Clarence
Technical Info
Producer Gram Parsons; Jim Dickson; Henry Lewy; Larry Marks; Jim Dickson; Henry Lewy; Larry Marks; Mike Ragogna (Compilation)
CatalogID AAB000878102
Lable Name Hip-O
Released 04/17/2007
Original Release 2007
Number of Discs 1
SPARE Code n/a
Length 78m : 26s
Mono/Stereo Stereo
Studio/Live Studio
UPC 00602517303829
Album Notes and Credits
The Flying Burrito Brothers: Chris Hillman, Gram Parsons (guitar); Michael Clarke , Sneaky Pete Kleinow, Bernie Leadon.
Personnel: Chris Hillman (vocals, mandolin); Gram Parsons (vocals, keyboards); Bernie Leadon (guitar, dobro); Sneaky Pete Kleinow (steel guitar); Byron Berline (fiddle); Leopold Carbajal (accordion); Buddy Childers (cornet, flugelhorn); Tommy Johnson (tuba); Chris Ethridge, Leon Russell (piano); Sam Goldstein, Popeye Phillips, Fast Eddie Hoh, Jon Corneal, Michael Clarke (drums); Frank Blanco (percussion).
Additional personnel: Tommy Johnson (tuba); Sam Goldstein, Popeye Phillips, Fast Eddie Hoh, Jon Corneal, Leon Russell, Leopold Carbajal, Frank Blanco, Buddy Childers, Byron Berline.
Liner Note Author: Robyn Flans.
Photographers: Jim McCrary; Barry Feinstein.
The Flying Burrito Brothers created an undisputed masterpiece when they cut their first album, The Gilded Palace of Sin, in 1969, and while the group would continue to make records in one form or another for the next thirty years, as far as most fans were concerned, it was pretty much over when Gram Parsons -- the lead singer, principle songwriter and creative visionary behind the first album -- quit the band after completing their second LP, 1970s Burrito Deluxe. The Definitive Collection plays to the common consensus that the two albums with Parsons represented the band's best work by featuring both in their entirety, along with three bonus tracks -- the rare non-LP single "The Train Song," and covers of "Six Days on the Road" and "Close Up the Honky-Tonks." While by all logic this disc ought to live up to its title, in practice it falls a bit short of the mark. While The Gilded Palace of Sin is a uniformly superb album, Burrito Deluxe sounds a bit spotty in comparison, with a few tracks that are clearly filler (even Parsons admitted to journalists he was preoccupied with other things while it was being recorded); the superb compilation Farther Along: The Best of the Flying Burrito Brothers wisely cherry-picked the best songs from the second album and instead devoted the space to superior outtakes and rarities, and as a consequence it's a more consistent and satisfying listen. Despite this, The Definitive Collection does offer two albums anyone with a serious interest in the roots of country-rock needs to hear in one handsome package, remastered in their original mixes and featuring fine liner notes from Robyn Flans, and it's full of superb music from one of the guiding lights of the genre. If it doesn't quite qualify as definitive, it's close enough to merit a spot in most folks' music collection. (The same compilation was previously released by Universal under the title Sin City: The Very Best of the Flying Burrito Brothers, with similar front-cover artwork.) ~ Mark Deming
Disc 1
1 Christine's Tune (aka Devil in the Disguise)
2 Sin City
3 Do Right Woman
4 Dark End of the Street
5 My Uncle
6 Wheels
7 Juanita
8 Hot Burrito #1
9 Hot Burrito #2
10 Do You Know How It Feels?
11 Hippie Boy
12 Train Song, The
13 Lazy Days
14 Image Of Me
15 High Fashion Queen
16 If You Gotta Go
17 Man In The Fog
18 Farther Along
19 Older Guys
20 Cody, Cody
21 God's Own Singer
22 Down In The Churchyard
23 Wild Horses
24 Six Days On The Road
25 Close Up the Honky-Tonks
Product Attributes
Artist Flying Burrito Broth
Label Universal Music Group
Music Format Compact Disc

More Buying Options

Seller Infomation Price & Shipping  
Blow It Outa Here $6.95 + free shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns
All products are BRAND NEW and factory sealed. Fast shipping with tracking and delivery confirmation! 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Importcds $4.13 + $2.98 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns
All our items are brand new - Ships directly from our Warehouse in California - Estimated delivery time: 5-7 days after shipment.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
$7.30 + $1.90 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns

On Order
Add to Cart
Movie Mars $8.09 + $2.98 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock
The Definitive Collection
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
amitcj $8.47 + $3.16 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy. (DEFINITIVE COLLECTION)
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Load More Buying Options
$6.95 + free shipping
$9.98 You save $3.03 (30%)
Earn 7 ($0.07) Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
Format: CD
Condition: Brand New
In Stock. Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
Please select an option to buy
Add to Cart

Sold By:  Blow It Outa Here
What is a Marketplace and Shop Owner?
  • Our marketplace is a platform where approved third-party retailers (Shop Owners) can sell their products
  • Items are sold and shipped by Shop Owners
  • Your credit card and personal information remain secure; meets all PCI Security Standards.
  • Purchases can only be returned to the Shop Owner
  • All purchases receive Rakuten Super Points™