Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview

When his orchestra disbands, daigo kobayashi moves back to his h ometown and takes a job preparing corpses for burial. Too embar rassed to admit his new career to his family, daigo keep his pro fession a secret until he learns the true joy and wonder of livi ng.


Studio E1
SKU 212636829
UPC 741952675792
UPC 14 00741952675792
Format DVD
Release Date 1/12/2010
Rating Rating
Classical Music
Editors Note
Note After Daigo Kobayashi (Masahiro Motoki) loses his job as a cellist, he feels lost. Daigo returns to his hometown in search of work, and a job ad leads him to work at a funeral home. While those around him shun his new career, Daigo finds solace and direction in his work. This thought-provoking look at life and death was Japan?s submission for the Oscars in 2008.
USA Today "The score, heavy on the cello, is gorgeous, the visuals are painterly in their composition, and the film is calm and stately, even when depicting grief at its most raw." 05/29/2009
Wall Street Journal "[B]eautiful moments abound. In DEPARTURES, the contemplation of death prepares the way for an appreciation of life." 05/29/2009
Chicago Sun-Times 4 stars out of 4 -- "The music is lush and sentimental in a subdued way, the cinematography perfectly framed and evocative, and the movie is uncommonly absorbing." 05/27/2009
Total Film 3 stars out of 5 -- "Winner of this year's Best Foreign Film Oscar, DEPARTURES offers a gentle, unashamedly sentimental take on death and reconciliation." 12/07/2009
Empire 4 stars out of 5 -- "[B]lack comedy is interspersed with moments of tenderness....Unique, clever and full of warmth." 06/01/2010
Yojiro Takita
Masahiro Motoki
Ryoko Hirosue
Cast & Crew
Masahiro Motoki - Star
Ryoko Hirosue - Star
Tsutomu Yamazaki - Star
Kazuko Yoshiyuki - Star
Yo Kimiko - Star
Takashi Sasano - Star
Kundo Koyama - Screenwriter
Toshiaki Nakazawa - Producer
Toshihisa Watai - Producer
Yashuhiro Mase - Executive Producer
Takeshi Hamada - Director of Photography
Joe Hisaishi - Composer
Yojiro Takita - Director
Technical Info
UPC 00741952675792
Number of Discs 1
Running Time 131 minutes
DVD, Widescreen, Dolby Digital (5.1), English, Subtitled
Product Attributes
Video Format DVD
Sold Out
Sorry, you missed the deal!
This product is currently not available.