Early Girls Vol 5 CD (2008)

Artist: Various

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview


Label City Hall Records
SKU 207656314
UPC 029667032124
UPC 14 00029667032124
Format CD
Release Date 5/2/2008
Author Various
Technical Info
CatalogID 1181
Lable Name Ace (Label)
Released 05/02/2008
Original Release 2008
Number of Discs 1
SPARE Code n/a
Mono/Stereo Stereo
Studio/Live Studio
UPC 00029667032124
Album Notes and Credits
The fifth volume of this long-running series of girl group-styled music offers 28 singles from the early to mid-'60s, all of which managed to make the national Billboard chart. That doesn't mean, however, that you'll remember all of them, even if you were listening to the radio at the time, as the majority of these songs failed to crack the Top 40, some of them only managing to reach the section for those 45s "bubbling under" the Top 100. Partly for that reason, this isn't nearly as memorable as girl group comps that focus on the big hits, though there are a few Top Ten smashes here, like Diane Renay's "Navy Blue," Patty Duke's Lesley Gore-styled "Don't Just Stand There," Doris Troy's classic "Just One Look," and Sarah Vaughan's "Broken Hearted Melody" (which isn't exactly a girl group tune, but welcome as it's considerably superior to most of the rest of the set). There are a few good obscurities here: the Cinderellas' "Baby, Baby (I Still Love You)" (co-written by Cynthia Weil) is, in fact, one of the finest little-known Brill Building girl group gems, while the Rag Dolls' "Dusty" is a pretty good Four Seasons knockoff. The Royalettes' "Blue Summer" is gossamer soul-pop; the Shepherd Sisters' "Don't Mention My Name" also takes its cues from Four Seasons-styled production; the Paris Sisters' "Be My Boy" is a studied attempt by producer Phil Spector to replicate the sound of the Teddy Bears' "To Know Him Is to Love Him"; and the Chiffons' cover of the Shirelles' "Tonight's the Night," weirdly, seems upon research not to be the Chiffons of "He's So Fine" fame, but an entirely different group. It seems like much of the rest didn't catch on in a big way for a good reason, however; the songs just aren't strong enough, sometimes reflecting the more vacuous face of early-'60s pop/rock pandering to the most blandly innocuous segment of the teen audience. That makes it an uneven listen even for girl group collectors, but they'll appreciate the thorough liner notes, which draw connections from a lot of these relics to some surprisingly well-known musicians, songwriters, and producers. ~ Richie Unterberger
Disc 1
1 It Hurts To Be Sixteen
2 Baby, Baby (I Still Love You)
3 Don't Just Stand There
4 Blue Summer
5 Dusty
6 Joey Baby
7 Don't Mention My Name
8 Donnie
9 Just One Look
10 Broken Hearted Melody
11 All I Want To Do is Run
12 Sneaky Sue
13 Richie
14 Poor Little Puppet
15 Lonely Sixteen
16 Jimmy Boy
17 Be My Boy
18 Kookie Little Paradise
19 Sparkle and Shine
20 Paper Tiger
21 Eternally
22 Navy Blue
23 What Makes Little Girls Cry
24 P.S. I Love You
25 Without Your Love
26 Dancin' the Strand
27 Tonight's the Night
28 Play It Again
Sold Out
Sorry, you missed the deal!
This product is currently not available.