Ships from/sold by Buy.com
See All Buying Options
advertisement

Eels An Exploration, from New Zealand to the Sargasso, of the World's Most Mysterious Fish (Paperback)

Author:  James Prosek
Earn Super Points: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Eels Prosek, James 1 of 1
$14.99
(Save 31%)
$10.27 + $2.90 SHIPPING
EARN 11 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Super Points
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
FORMAT: Paperback
CONDITION:  Brand New
IN STOCK: Usually Ships within 24 hours
Very few left In Stock! Order soon -- product may sell out.
2 New
from
$10.27
See all sellers
45 day return policy
Share
 
Description
More Buying Options
 

Learn more about Eels:

Format: Paperback
ISBN-10: 0060566124
ISBN-13: 9780060566128
Sku: 220178303
Publish Date: 10/11/2011
Pages:  304
See more in Animals / Marine Life
 

"This is a delightful work with the urgency of a good detective story." --Thomas McGuane

"I loved it! A beautiful adventure story of one of the most wide-spread and least-known but ecologically important fish." --Bernd Heinrich, author of Summer World

Famous for his deeply informed, compulsively readable books on trout, writer-painter James Prosek (whom the New York Times has called "the Audubon of the fishing world") takes on nature''s quirkiest and most enigmatic fish: the eel. Fans of Mark Kurlansky''s Cod and The Big Oyster or Trevor Corson''s The Secret Life of Lobsters will love Prosek''s probing exploration of the hidden deep-water dwellers. With characteristically captivating prose and lavish illustrations, Prosek demystifies the eel''s unique biology and bizarre mating routines, and illuminates the animal''s varied roles in the folklore, cuisine, and commerce of a variety of cultures.

From the Publisher:

“This is a delightful work with the urgency of a good detective story.” —Thomas McGuane

“I loved it! A beautiful adventure story of one of the most wide-spread and least-known but ecologically important fish.” —Bernd Heinrich, author of Summer World

Famous for his deeply informed, compulsively readable books on trout, writer-painter James Prosek (whom the New York Times has called “the Audubon of the fishing world”) takes on nature’s quirkiest and most enigmatic fish: the eel. Fans of Mark Kurlansky’s Cod and The Big Oyster or Trevor Corson’s The Secret Life of Lobsters will love Prosek’s probing exploration of the hidden deep-water dwellers. With characteristically captivating prose and lavish illustrations, Prosek demystifies the eel’s unique biology and bizarre mating routines, and illuminates the animal’s varied roles in the folklore, cuisine, and commerce of a variety of cultures.

Product Attributes

Product attributeeBooks:   Kobo
Product attributeBook Format:   Paperback
Product attributeNumber of Pages:   0304
Product attributePublisher:   Harper Perennial
Advertisement Bottom