Electric Light Orchestra (Limited Edition) (Bonus Tracks) CD (2004)

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview


Label EMI Uk/zoom
SKU 63975152
UPC 724358298307
UPC 14 00724358298307
Format CD
Release Date 1/1/2004
Author Electric Light Orche
Associated Artist/Work Original Soundtrack
Technical Info
Engineer Roger Wake
Producer Rob Caiger; Roy Wood
CatalogID 5829830
Lable Name EMI
Released 04/07/2003
Original Release 1971
Number of Discs 1
SPARE Code n/a
Length 47m : 52s
Mono/Stereo Stereo
Studio/Live Studio
UPC 00724358298307
Album Notes and Credits
Electric Light Orchestra: Roy Wood (vocals, acoustic & slide guitars, cello, clarinet, bassoon, recorder, bass, percussion); Jeff Lynne (vocals, electric guitar, piano, bass, percussion); Steve Woolam (violin); Bill Hunt (French horn); Bev Bevans (drums, percussion).
Recorded at Philips Studio, London, England.
A band that loved to lace some delicious pop melodies with incredibly intricate playing, this debut album from the Electric Light Orchestra is expanded to include two additional songs on this version.
CD contains 2 bonus tracks.
Personnel: Roy Wood (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, slide guitar, cello, recorder, clarinet, oboe, bassoon, saxophone, percussion); Wilfred Gibson (violin); Hugh McDowell, Andrew Craig, Mike Edwards (cello); William T. Hunt (French horn, natural horn); Richard Tandy (piano, electric bass).
Audio Mixer: Trevor Smith.
Liner Note Author: Roy Wood.
Recording information: Philips Studios, London, England (07/1970-06/1971).
Photographer: Alan Johnson.
Here's one of the few rock urban legends that appears to be true: This album, eponymously titled in the rest of the world, was called NO ANSWER in the US because when a secretary at United Artists called the band's office to find out the title, no one was there, and a handwritten note to that effect was mistaken for the record's name.
This is less the first ELO album than the last Move album. Four of the nine tracks are by Move leader Roy Wood, and even the five Jeff Lynne tracks sound closer to the Move's classically orchestrated hard-rock masterpiece MESSAGE FROM THE COUNTRY than to the shiny pure-pop ELO albums to come. Wood's tracks, like the acoustic instrumental "First Movement" and the faux-medieval "Battle of Marston Moor," foreshadow his more experimental solo work, while Lynne's brilliant "10538 Overture" is the first of his classic string of pop songs.
Disc 1
1 10538 Overture
2 Look At Me Now
3 Nellie Takes Her Bow
4 Battle of Marston Moor, The (July 2nd 1644)
5 First Movement (Jumping Biz)
6 Mr. Radio
7 Manhattan Rumble (49th Street Massacre)
8 Queen Of The Hours
9 Whisper in the Night
10 Battle of Marston Moor, The (July 2nd 1644)
11 10538 Overture /The Move/ELO
12 Enhanced Section
Sold Out
Sorry, you missed the deal!
This product is currently not available.