From The Original Master Tapes CD (2004)

Artist: Checkers

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview


Label Collectables Records
SKU 61008172
UPC 090431288825
UPC 14 00090431288825
Format CD
Release Date 6/22/2004
Author Checkers
Technical Info
Producer Victor Pearlin (Compilation)
CatalogID 2888
Lable Name Collectables
Released 03/14/2006
Original Release 2004
Number of Discs 1
SPARE Code n/a
Mono/Stereo Stereo
Studio/Live Studio
UPC 00090431288825
Album Notes and Credits
The Checkers: Clyde McPhatter, Bill Brown , Charles White.
Liner Note Author: Victor Pearlin.
The Checkers were a short-lived vocal group founded in 1952 and lasting until 1954. During these short two years, the group released 11 singles on King, and found some commercial success despite heavy turnover. White Cliffs of Dover collects these 22 Checkers' songs, represented by the A- and B- sides of their 11 releases. The title track is probably the quartet's best-known release, but other tracks -- "Without a Song" and "Don't Stop Dan" -- also sold fairly well. The latter song, interestingly, is a belated answer song to "Sixty Minute Man" (which had also been sung by Checkers' founder, Bill Brown) and is coupled with a fantastic version of "House With No Windows." There's also the odd coupling of "You've Been Fooling Around" with a vibrant take on "Over the Rainbow." Interestingly, the group's last single -- "Heaven Only Knows" and "Nine More Miles" -- wasn't released until 1958, four years after the group had busted up. Whether these recordings emanated from the original group and had been hidden away in the vault, or King hired a new group to record them remains a mystery. White Cliffs of Dover is a fine collection and will be warmly embraced by fans of '50s vocal music. ~ Ronnie D. Lankford, Jr.
Disc 1
1 Without A Song
2 Oh, Oh, Oh Baby
3 Flame In My Heart
4 My Prayer Tonight
5 Let Me Come Back
6 Love Wasn't There
7 Night's Curtain
8 I Wanna Know
9 Ghost Of My Baby
10 You Never Had It So Good
11 White Cliffs Of Dover
12 I Promise You
13 House With No Windows
14 Don't Stop Dan
15 You've Been Fooling Around
16 Over The Rainbow
17 Mama's Daughter
18 Can't Find My Sadie
19 Trying To Hold My Gal
20 I Wasn't Thinkin', I Was Drinkin'
21 Heaven Only Knows
22 Nine More Miles (The Faster, Faster Song)
Product Attributes
Artist Checkers
Label Collectables Records
Music Format Compact Disc

More Buying Options

Seller Infomation Price & Shipping  
Importcds $11.65 + $2.98 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns
All our items are brand new - Ships directly from our Warehouse in California - Estimated delivery time: 5-7 days after shipment.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Blow It Outa Here $14.79 + free shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns
All products are BRAND NEW and factory sealed. Fast shipping with tracking and delivery confirmation! 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
$11.65 + $2.98 shipping
$15.98 You save $4.33 (27%)
Rakuten Super Points Earn 12 ($0.12) Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
Format: CD
Condition: Brand New
In Stock. Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
Please select an option to buy
Add to Cart

Sold By:  Importcds
What is a Marketplace and Shop Owner?
  • Our marketplace is a platform where approved third-party retailers (Shop Owners) can sell their products
  • Items are sold and shipped by Shop Owners
  • Your credit card and personal information remain secure; meets all PCI Security Standards.
  • Purchases can only be returned to the Shop Owner
  • All purchases receive Rakuten Super Points™