Gimme Dat Harp Boy CD (2007)

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview


Label Msi Music
SKU 204223643
UPC 033531030227
UPC 14 05033531030227
Format CD
Release Date 3/1/2007
Author Captain Beefheart
Technical Info
CatalogID OZITCD 302
Lable Name Ozit
Released 10/14/2002
Original Release 2002
Number of Discs 1
SPARE Code n/a
Mono/Stereo Stereo
Studio/Live Studio
UPC 50335310302274
Album Notes and Credits
GIMME DAT HARP BOY is a compilation of blues artists that have influenced Captain Beefheart, it also contains rare material by Beefheart himself.
Tributee: Captain Beefheart.
Personnel: Dorsey M. Dixon, Howard Dixon, Lonnie Johnson, Robert Petway, Tommy McClennan, Blind Joe Taggart (vocals, guitar); Noah Lewis (vocals, harmonica); Louis Armstrong (vocals, trumpet); Victoria Spivey (vocals, piano); Kanui & Lula, Cab Calloway (vocals); Danny Barker (guitar); Yank Rachell (mandolin); Jerry Blake (clarinet, alto saxophone); Rahsaan Roland Kirk (saxophone, manzello); Sidney Bechet (soprano saxophone); Hilton Jefferson, Charlie Parker (alto saxophone); Chu Berry, Walter Thomas (tenor saxophone); Dizzy Gillespie, Lammar Wright, Jr., Mario Bauz , Miles Davis (trumpet); Tyree Glenn (trombone, vibraphone); Keg Johnson, Quentin Jackson (trombone); James P. Johnson, Tadd Dameron, Benny Payne (piano); Cozy Cole (drums).
Recording information: Atlanta, GA (12/1926-??/1967); Charlotte, NC (12/1926-??/1967); Chicago, IL (12/1926-??/1967); Memphis, TN (12/1926-??/1967); New York, NY (12/1926-??/1967); Paris, France (12/1926-??/1967); Richmond, IN (12/1926-??/1967); Royal Roost Club, NY (12/1926-??/1967).
Arranger: Benny Carter .
Professional Reviews
The Wire (3/03, p.64) - "...A wonderful album....A convincing portrait of the sounds that were bouncing around Don Van Vliet's mind..."
Disc 1
1 Intro
2 New Minglewood Blues
3 Lion, The
4 Diddie Wa Diddie
5 Mope
6 New Black Snake Blues, Pt. 1
7 New Black Snake Blues, Pt. 2
8 Best Batch Yet
9 His Majesty the Policeman
10 Rubber Dolly Rag
11 Tomi Tomi
12 Cream Puff Comment
13 Old Folks' Boogie
14 You're Gonna Need Somebody on Your Bond
15 Wild Cat Blues
16 Rockin' Chair Blues
17 Weaver's Life
18 Jungle Suite
19 Egg Comment
20 Keep on the Firing Line
21 Who's Yehoodi?
22 Howlin' Wolf Comment
23 Hungry Wolf
24 Somebody's Leaving
25 Fang, The
26 Skeleton in the Closet, The
27 Poem
28 Koko
29 Go Away From My Door
30 Little Scratch
31 Johnny B. Goode
32 New Highway 51
33 Stravinsky Comment
34 Flaming Autograph
$13.65 + $2.98 shipping
$19.98 You save $6.33 (31%)
Earn 14 ($0.14) Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
Format: CD
Condition: Brand New
In Stock. Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
Please select an option to buy
Add to Cart

Sold By:  Importcds
What is a Marketplace and Shop Owner?
  • Our marketplace is a platform where approved third-party retailers (Shop Owners) can sell their products
  • Items are sold and shipped by Shop Owners
  • Your credit card and personal information remain secure; meets all PCI Security Standards.
  • Purchases can only be returned to the Shop Owner
  • All purchases receive Rakuten Super Points™