Ships from/sold by Importcds
Seller Rating:
Artist: Johnnie Ray
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Great Hit Sounds CD 1 of 1
(Save 68%)
$9.14 + $2.98 SHIPPING
EARN 10 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
IN STOCK: Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
View My Store
Seller Information

Learn more about Great Hit Sounds:

Format: CD
Sku: 224076134
UPC: 604988069327
UPC 14: 00604988069327
Release Date: 9/13/2011
See more in Pop

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
1. Cry - (featuring The Four Lads) ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
2. Walking My Baby Back Home ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
3. I'll Never Be Free ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
4. Alexander's Ragtime Band ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
5. Who's Sorry Now ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
6. Street of Memories ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
7. No Wedding Today ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
8. Candy Lips ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
9. Let's Walk That A-Way ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
10. Paths of Paradise ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
11. Hey, There [From The Pajama Game] ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
12. Hernando's Hideaway [From The Pajama Game] ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
13. I Miss You So ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
14. You Don't Owe Me a Thing ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
15. Touch Of God's Hand, The - (featuring The Buddy Cole Quartet) ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
16. I'm Gonna Walk and Talk With My Lord - (featuring The Buddy Cole Quartet/The Four Lads) ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
17. Endlessly ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
18. Look Homeward Angel ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
19. Yes Tonight, Josephine ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
20. Tell Me ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
21. Don't Leave Me Now ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
22. Ain't Misbehavin' ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
23. Destiny ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
24. Up Until Now ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
25. No Regrets ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
26. In the Candlelight ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
27. Flip, Flop, and Fly - (featuring Les Elgart & His Orchestra) ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
28. Thine Eyes Are as the Eyes of a Dove ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
29. Somebody Stole My Gal ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
30. Pretty-Eyed Baby ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
Disc 2
Song Title
1. Just Walking in the Rain ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
2. Little White Cloud That Cried, The - (featuring The Four Lads) ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
3. I'll Never Fall in Love Again ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
4. Build Your Love (On a Strong Foundation) ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
5. Only Girl I'll Ever Love, The ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
6. Such a Night ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
7. (Here I Am) Broken Hearted ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
8. So Long ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
9. Song of the Dreamer ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
10. Walk Along With Kings ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
11. Lonely for a Letter ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
12. Papa Loves Mambo ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
13. Faith Can Move Mountains ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
14. Parade of Broken Hearts ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
15. Good Evening, Friends ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
16. Up Above My Head ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
17. Tell the Lady I Said Goodbye ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
18. In the Heart of a Fool ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
19. Let's Forget it Now ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
20. Wagon Wheels ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
21. Empty Saddles ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
22. Tumbling Tumbleweeds ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
23. Last Round-Up, The ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
24. Home On the Range ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
25. Bury Me Out On the Lone Prairie ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
26. Springtime in the Rockies ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
27. Ridin' Home ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
28. Twilight On the Trail ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
29. Red River Valley ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
30. I'M an Old Cowhand ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)
31. Cool Water ~ Johnnie Ray (Vocal)

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote Liner Note Author: Robert Nickora.
Muze PNote Whether it was due to his partial deafness, or maybe he had somehow managed to absorb a lifetime's worth of pain and suffering into his heart, but Johnnie Ray's tear-drenched voice filled songs like 1951's "Cry" with such majestic romantic suffering that listening to them can feel at times like intrusion. This 61-track set includes "Cry" and Ray's 1956 classic redo of the Prisonaires' "Just Walkin' in the Rain" along with other hits, as well as duets with Frankie Laine and Doris Day and much more, to make a lengthy portrait of a unique vocalist who blended pop, jazz, and R&B with intense emotion and came up with his own signature pop sound. ~ Steve Leggett

Musical Guests
Muze Guest Artist The Four Lads
Muze Guest Artist The Buddy Cole Quartet
Muze Guest Artist Les Elgart & His Orchestra

Compilation Appearances

Muze Music Compilations 1953 British Hit Parade
Muze Music Compilations America's Greatest Hits 1952
Muze Music Compilations 1954 British Hit Parade
Muze Music Compilations Vol 1-1956 British Hit Parade
Muze Music Compilations 50S Love Songs
Muze Music Compilations Singers & Actors Vol 1
Muze Music Compilations 1959 British Hit Parade:b Sides Pt 2
Muze Music Compilations Year In Your Life:1952
Muze Music Compilations Year In Your Life 1953

Associated Artists and Works

Laine, Frankie

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 09/13/2011
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 2011
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : 693
Music Label Name Label : Jasmine Records
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 2
Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Stereo
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00604988069327

Product Attributes

Product attributeArtist:   Ray,Johnnie
Product attributeLabel:   Jasmine Records
Product attributeMusic Format:   Compact Disc
Advertisement Bottom