Harry, the Rat With Women (Paperback)

Author: Feiffer, Jules

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview

A satirical novel about the downfall of a narcissistic lothario.
Jules Feiffer's first satirical novel follows the humorous, existential rise and fall of a narcissistic lothario, Harry, from influential high-society hanger-on to suicidal cipher.
Harry is "blessed" by his family's endless bounty of love and hope, raised to believe he is the embodiment of perfection--beautiful, infallible, irresistible. So great are their expectations that he will provide for them in the future that he is given everything he could ever need. He is kept comfortable and protected at every step of his childhood: "The Harry Fund" is established by his relatives to ensure that he need not worry about money in his younger years, as they are certain the returns on this "investment" will be exponential.
Harry, of course, develops an extraordinarily "healthy" ego. Everyone else is so focused on his development that he can only focus on himself as well. Maturing into adulthood, he gorges on the love and attention of others while never reciprocating. Those around him, in their insecurity, find this terribly attractive--especially women. The physical beauty and aloofness he radiates appears as strength and Harry finds he can use women to maintain his decadent lifestyle in the midst of New York elite social circles. When one woman can no longer serve him, he simply moves on to the next; burning through their money with abandon.
Feiffer's brilliant modern fable comments less on the anomie of narcissism and more on the insecure desire of the world to find a charismatic messiah. Persuaded to become the attractive face on an idealistic political movement, Harry, finally, realizes the immense power andeffect he can have on others. He also realizes that he has not truly experienced and that he is incapable of human connectedness. The novel reaches it crescendo when Harry attempts to leave his oblivious, self-obsessed ways behind: he begins to lose himself--his entire personality shatters; his looks begin to fail; women reject him!
Originally published in 1963, "Harry the Rat With Women" is a typically scathing satirical tour de force in the tradition of "Little Murders" and "The White House Murder Case," a wry, hilarious commentary on the American public's seemingly endless love affair with chiselers and rats--more relevant now than ever.

Specifications

Publisher Fantagraphics Books
Mfg Part# 9781560977933
SKU 203148860
Format Paperback
ISBN10 1560977930
Release Date 5/21/2007
Product Attributes
Book Format Paperback
Number of Pages 0174
Publisher Fantagraphics Books

More Buying Options

Seller Infomation Price & Shipping  
M and N Media $28.79 + $3.99 shipping
Condition: Used-Acceptable
In Stock

Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
M and N Media $35.09 + $3.99 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock

Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
University Bookstore $86.63 + $5.98 shipping
Condition: Used-Good
In Stock
Ships with Tracking Number! 30 day returns. May not contain Access Codes or Supplements. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service! 6k 1560977930
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
loading
$28.79 + $3.99 shipping
Rakuten Super Points Earn 29 ($0.29) Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
Get this item for
(price with shipping)
(redeem points)
Format: Paperback
Condition: Used-Acceptable
In Stock. Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
Please select an option to buy
Add to Cart

Sold By:  M and N Media
What is a Marketplace and Shop Owner?
  • Our marketplace is a platform where approved third-party retailers (Shop Owners) can sell their products
  • Items are sold and shipped by Shop Owners
  • Your credit card and personal information remain secure; Rakuten.com meets all PCI Security Standards.
  • Purchases can only be returned to the Shop Owner
  • All purchases receive Rakuten Super Points™
ADVERTISEMENT
Promotions & Offers (1)
  •  custom promo
    5% Back* Sitewide with Promo Code Rewardme *See page for details
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT