Head West CD (2000)

Artist: Comotion

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview


Label Sci-Fidelity
SKU 60434495
UPC 662102100721
UPC 14 00662102100721
Format CD
Release Date 9/12/2000
Author Comotion
Technical Info
CatalogID 1007
Lable Name Sci Fidelity Records
Released 07/25/2005
Original Release 2000
Number of Discs 1
SPARE Code n/a
Mono/Stereo Stereo
Studio/Live Studio
UPC 00662102100721
Album Notes and Credits
Comotion: Mike Marshall (steel & nylon string guitar, ouditar, cello guitar); Michael Kang (acoustic & electric mandolin); Darol Anger (violin); Paul McCandless (bass clarinet, oboe, saxophone); Tye North (fretted & fretless electric bass); Aaron Jonston (drums, percussion); Jeff Sipe (drums).
Producers: Darol Anger, Michael Kang, Mike Marshall, Paul McCandless.
Engineers include: Dave Denison, Anger Marshall, Kang.
Recorded at Mobius Studios, San Francisco, California on January 7-12, 2000.
Personnel: Mike Marshall (steel guitar, nylon-string guitar); Michael Kang (mandolin); Darol Anger (violin); Paul McCandless (bass clarinet, oboe, saxophone); Aaron Johnston (drums, percussion); Jeff Sipe (drums).
Audio Mixer: David Luke.
Recording information: Fiddlistics (01/07/2000-01/12/2000); Gatorland Studio, Oakland, CA (01/07/2000-01/12/2000); Mobius Studio, San Francisco, CA (01/07/2000-01/12/2000).
Photographer: Don Lloyd.
Arrangers: Darol Anger; Tye North; Paul McCandless; Mike Marshall ; Michael Kang; Aaron Johnston.
The multi-talented musicians in Comotion cast a heavy blend of progressive bluegrass on Head West, making for an enjoyable instrumental listen. Incorporating elements of jazz, country, and folk, Head West flows smoothly with the likes of humming fiddles and hushing violins. Saxophone loops echo over songs such as the reggae-light "Into Da Night." "Crawl We Must" is more up-tempo, classy jazz hooks are steady, and Comotion does not fall short of consistency. Head West is a fine album for anyone interested in the sounds of B?la Fleck and Sam Bush, and for those who follow modern instrumentalists with a sharp eye. ~ MacKenzie Wilson
Disc 1
1 Pleebus
2 Into Da Night
3 Crawl We Must
4 Marshaul McKanger
5 Oh, Lei
6 News, The
7 Slither Me Yonder
8 Thank You
9 I Coulda Told You
10 Dominical
11 Celtus Mobius 2000
Sold Out
Sorry, you missed the deal!
This product is currently not available.