Ships from/sold by
See All Buying Options

Icon (1993)

Artist: Paradise Lost
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Icon CD 1 of 1
(Save 23%)
$12.95 + $1.90 SHIPPING
EARN 13 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
More inventory may be available. Place your order today and be one of the first to receive this product when it arrives!
Alert me when this item is in stock.
3 New
See all sellers
45 day return policy
More Buying Options

Learn more about Icon:

Format: CD
Sku: 231235831
UPC: 654436022923
UPC 14: 00654436022923
Release Date: 8/28/2012
See more in Pop

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
1. Embers Fire ~ Paradise Lost
2. Remembrance ~ Paradise Lost
3. Forging Sympathy ~ Paradise Lost
4. Joys Of The Emptiness ~ Paradise Lost
5. Dying Freedom ~ Paradise Lost
6. Widow ~ Paradise Lost
7. Colossal Rains ~ Paradise Lost
8. Weeping Words ~ Paradise Lost
9. Poison ~ Paradise Lost
10. True Belief ~ Paradise Lost
11. Shallow Seasons ~ Paradise Lost
12. Christendom ~ Paradise Lost
13. Deus Misereatur ~ Paradise Lost
14. Sweetness ~ Paradise Lost
15. Your Hand In Mine - (live) ~ Paradise Lost

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote Paradise Lost: Nick Holmes (vocals); Aaron Aedy (acoustic & electric guitars); Gregor Mackintosh (electric guitar); Stephen Edmondson (bass); Matt Archer (drums, percussion).
Muze PNote Additional personnel: Andrew Holdsworth (keyboards); Denise Bernard (background vocals).
Muze PNote Recorded at Jacobs Studios, Surrey, England in June and July, 1993.
Muze PNote Personnel: Denise Bernard, Nick Holmes (vocals); Gregor MacKintosh (guitar); Aaron Aedy (acoustic guitar); Andrew Holsworth (keyboards); Stephen Edmondson (bass guitar); Matt Archer (drums, percussion).
Muze PNote Audio Mixers: Pete "Pee Wee" Coleman; Simon Efemey.
Muze PNote Recording information: Jacobs Studios, Surrey, UK (06/1993-07/1993).
Muze PNote Photographer: Matt Anker.
Muze PNote Arranger: Gregor MacKintosh.
Muze PNote Icon represents a turning point for Paradise Lost: vocalist Nick Holmes loses the limiting growl in favor of a James Hetfield-style bark and Gregorian chants, while mastermind Gregor Mackintosh (lead guitar) further perfects his brand of baroque metal. Although older fans were beginning to protest that the band was becoming a sellout, this album retains the harsh edge of earlier albums while refining a more artistic vision for the band. Experimentation fits in flawlessly with the new sound: synthesized strings on "Embers Fire," angry coliseum crowds on "Colossal Rains," timpani and piano in "Deus Misereatur," and angelic female vocals in "Christendom." It would be difficult to overstate the mastery and genius behind Mackintosh's guitar work and arrangements. The album's scope is majestic and the end result is nothing short of glorious. Listeners who prefer the heavier elements of these songs should move backward in the band's canon, preferably to Gothic; those who are thoroughly satisfied with the sound may enjoy Draconian Times even more. ~ Christopher Anderson

Producer: Simon Efemey

Engineer: Simon Efemey

Associated Artists and Works

Original Soundtrack

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 2012
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 1993
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : TE 2292
Music Label Name Label : The End
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 1
Music Studio or Live Studio/Live : Studio
Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Stereo
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00654436022923

Product Attributes

Product attributeArtist:   Paradise Lost
Product attributeLabel:   End Records/telegraph Company
Product attributeMusic Format:   Compact Disc
Advertisement Bottom