King Sides: vol 1 CD (2004)

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview


Label Collectables Records
SKU 61013624
UPC 090431288122
UPC 14 00090431288122
Format CD
Release Date 8/17/2004
Author Ivory Joe Hunter
Technical Info
CatalogID 2881
Lable Name Collectables
Released 03/14/2006
Original Release 2004
Number of Discs 1
SPARE Code n/a
Length 68m : 1s
Mono/Stereo Stereo
Studio/Live Studio
UPC 00090431288122
Album Notes and Credits
Personnel: Ivory Joe Hunter (vocals, piano); Owen Bradley (guitar); Ray Nance (violin); Russell Procope (clarinet, alto saxophone); Johnny Hodges (alto saxophone); Harold Baker (trumpet); Tyree Glenn (trombone); Sonny Greer (drums).
Liner Note Author: Victor Pearlin.
Recording information: Cincinnati, OH (09/06/1947-07/15/1949); Los Angeles, CA (09/06/1947-07/15/1949); Nashville, TN (09/06/1947-07/15/1949); New York, NY (09/06/1947-07/15/1949).
The King Sides, Vol. 1 features 25 tracks recorded during Ivory Joe Hunter's brief tenure with the Cincinnati-based King label from 1948-1949. While most are familiar with Hunter's smooth ballads like "Since I Met You Baby" recorded for Atlantic in the mid-'50s, these songs find Ivory Joe singing and playing piano on swinging midtempo jump tunes that spotlight several members of Duke Ellington's Orchestra, including Tyree Glenn, Johnny Hodges, Russell Procope, Harold Baker, Ray Nance, Oscar Pettiford, and Sonny Greer. This affordable set is highly recommended alongside Since I Met You Baby: The Best of Ivory Joe Hunter on Razor & Tie. ~ Al Campbell
Disc 1
1 San Francisco Blues
2 I Was Only Playin'
3 Don't Be No Fool-Fool
4 Come On Let Your Hair Down
5 All States Boogie
6 Code Song, The
7 She's Gone Blues
8 No Money, No Luck Blues
9 Woo Wee Blues
10 Landlord Blues
11 Old Gal And New Gal Blues
12 Don't Know
13 I Like It
14 False Friend Blues
15 Send Me Pretty Mama
16 What Did You Do To Me
17 Stop Rockin' That Train
18 Siesta With Sonny
19 That's the Gal For Me
20 Changing Blues
21 Too Late
22 I Got Your Water On
23 I Quit My Pretty Mama
24 Lying Woman Blues
25 I Have No Reason To Complain
Product Attributes
Artist Hunter,Ivory Joe
Label Collectables Records
Music Format Compact Disc

More Buying Options

Seller Infomation Price & Shipping  
Blow It Outa Here $13.14 + free shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns
All products are BRAND NEW and factory sealed. Fast shipping with tracking and delivery confirmation! 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Importcds $11.21 + $2.98 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns
All our items are brand new - Ships directly from our Warehouse in California - Estimated delivery time: 5-7 days after shipment.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
$13.14 + free shipping
$15.98 You save $2.84 (17%)
Earn 14 ($0.14) Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
Format: CD
Condition: Brand New
In Stock. Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
Please select an option to buy
Add to Cart

Sold By:  Blow It Outa Here
What is a Marketplace and Shop Owner?
  • Our marketplace is a platform where approved third-party retailers (Shop Owners) can sell their products
  • Items are sold and shipped by Shop Owners
  • Your credit card and personal information remain secure; meets all PCI Security Standards.
  • Purchases can only be returned to the Shop Owner
  • All purchases receive Rakuten Super Points™