Sold Out
This product is currently not available.

King Solomon's Mines (Paperback)

$10 off $75 Home, Sports, School Supplies, Fashion, & Beauty - Back to School. Use promo code BACK2SCHOOL at checkout. Ends 7/8/2015.
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sold Out!
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
King Solomons Mines Haggard, H. Rider 1 of 1

Learn more about King Solomon's Mines:

Format: Paperback
ISBN-10: 1420925814
ISBN-13: 9781420925814
Sku: 31308602
Publish Date: 4/10/2007
Dimensions:  (in Inches) 9H x 6L x 0.5T
Pages:  132
Age Range:  NA
See more in Fiction
H. R. Haggard's "King Solomon's Mines" is quite simply one of the greatest adventure novels ever written. Originally published in 1885, "King Solomon's Mines" quickly became one of the best selling and most popular novels of the late 19th century. "King Solomon's Mines" is the story of elephant-hunter Allan Quatermain and his quest for a fabled treasure in the wilds of Africa.
Allan Quatermain, gentleman adventurer, is retained to locate a missing man by two Englishmen. The man, brother of one of the Englishmen, has disappeared into the heart of Africa while on a hunt for the lost mines of King Solomon. Joining up with a Zulu named Umslopogaas, they follow a trail of fabulous wealth. The first volume of a series of ten about Quatermain and his friends.
Author Bio
Henry Rider Haggard
Born in Norfolk, England in 1856, Henry Rider Haggard traveled extensively in South Africa as a government employee until the age of 25. Settling in England in 1881, he began writing. His first book, KING SOLOMON'S MINES, appeared in 1885 and was a huge success. It charts the adventures of Allan Quatermain as he tries to locate a man who has gone missing in the heart of Africa. With this first book in a series, Haggard virtually defined the notion of the "lost world" science fiction/fantasy genre--which, simply put, is the discovery by "modern man" of a long-hidden enclave of some form of "primitive" life: humans, dinosaurs, or almost anything else. Haggard followed KING SOLOMON'S MINES with 13 other books about Quatermain, and the series was eventually joined--in 1921's SHE & ALLAN--with Haggard's other important series--the Ayesha books. That series started with SHE in 1886, and followed the life of an immortal goddess who ruled from a hidden city. Haggard was knighted in 1912 and continued to write up until his death in 1925. The final two Quatermain adventures appeared posthumously. Many contemporary fantasy writer regularly mention Haggard as an important influence on their work, citing in particular his 1890 book, ERIC BRIGHTEYES, which is often considered the best early example of a fantasy novel based on Nordic legend.

Product Attributes

Product attributeeBooks:   Kobo
Product attributeBook Format:   Paperback
Product attributeNumber of Pages:   0132
Product attributePublisher:
Advertisement Bottom