Laura Ingalls Wilder: The Little House Books (Hardcover)

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview

Originally published from 1932 to 1943, Laura Ingalls Wilder?s Little House books are classics of children?s literature, beloved by millions. But readers who last enjoyed them as children may be astonished at the quiet poetry of Wilder?s prose and the force and poignancy of her portrait of the lives of American pioneers. Now The Library of America and editor Caroline Fraser present a new two-volume edition that affirms Wilder?s place in the American canon, reintroducing these enduring works to readers young and old. Here, for the first time in two collectible hardcover volumes, are all eight Little House novels?brilliant narratives of the early life of Laura Ingalls and her family as they grow up with the country in the woods, on the plains, and finally in the small towns of the advancing American frontier?plus the posthumous novella The First Four Years, which recounts the early years of the author?s marriage to Almanzo Wilder. This second volume includes By the Shores of Silver Lake, The Long Winter, Little Town on the Prairie, These Happy Golden Years, and The First Four Years, plus two rare autobiographical pieces that reveal real life events not included in the novels and address the inevitable question: what happened next?
A companion volume gathers Little House in the Big Woods, Farmer Boy, Little House on the Prairie,and On the Banks of Plum Creek.
Each volume features a newly-researched chronology of Laura Ingalls Wilder?s life and career, and helpful notes. The volumes are also available in a deluxe collector?s boxed set, The Little House Books: The Library of America Collection.


Publisher Library of America
Mfg Part# 9781598531619
SKU 228638537
Format Hardcover
ISBN10 1598531611
Release Date 8/13/2012
Sold Out
Sorry, you missed the deal!
This product is currently not available.