Sold Out
This product is currently not available.

Laya Project (2006)

Artist: Laya Project
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sold Out!
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Laya Project CD 1 of 1

Learn more about Laya Project:

Format: CD
Sku: 216291652
UPC: 094922656216
UPC 14: 00094922656216
Release Date: 9/21/2010
See more in World Music

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
1. Glorious Sun [Remix] - Laya Project (remix) ~ Various Artists
2. Muliya - Laya Project ~ Various Artists
3. New Day, A - Laya Project ~ Various Artists
4. Hai La Sa - Laya Project ~ Various Artists
5. Tapatam - Laya Project ~ Various Artists
6. Tapatam - Laya Project ~ Various Artists
7. Farihi - Laya Project ~ Various Artists
8. Touare - Laya Project ~ Various Artists
9. Waterside - Laya Project ~ Various Artists
Disc 2
Song Title
1. Glorious Sun - Laya Project ~ Various Artists
2. Sunrise In Injumbakkam - Laya Project ~ Various Artists
3. Rain Buddha - Laya Project ~ Various Artists
4. Premjam - Laya Project ~ Various Artists
5. Poothai - Laya Project ~ Various Artists
6. Sunset In Akkarai - Laya Project ~ Various Artists
7. Nium Nium - Laya Project ~ Various Artists
8. Karalutalu - Laya Project ~ Various Artists
9. Going To Seville - Laya Project ~ Various Artists
10. Music - Laya Project ~ Various Artists
11. Laya Mantra - Laya Project ~ Various Artists

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote Audio Mixer: Yotam Agam.
Muze PNote Recording information: Clementine Studios, Chennai, India.
Muze PNote Director: Harold Monfils.
Muze PNote Arranger: Patrick Sebag.
Muze PNote Released in conjunction with a movie of the same name, Laya Project is a two-disc compilation of music recorded in some of the locations that the 2004 tsunami hit with the greatest devastation: Sri Lanka, Thailand, Indonesia, the Maldives, India, and Myanmar. The genesis of each track was a field recording made by the film's producers using a portable studio; one is a song of mourning for a man's wife lost in the tsunami, another is a song of welcome offered spontaneously to the group by a woman in the Maldives; there is a recording of a percussion ensemble, of Buddhist chanting, and one of a couple who, when they saw the recording crew, pulled out traditional Thai instruments and began playing. The music producers, Patrick Sebag and Yotam Agam, then took the field recordings and added other instruments: a string section from Madras, tabla, harmonium, bansuri, keyboards, electric bass, and sampled rhythms. In most cases, one wonders whether the original artists would recognize their contributions (and one also wonders what it means that so many tracks show as having been "composed by" Sebag and Agam -- perhaps in this context the word "composed" means "arranged"). It's also slightly troubling that for all their discussion of the resilience and resourcefulness of the people whose musical traditions are documented here, neither the album's liner notes nor, as far as can be discerned, the project's website offers any explanation as to whether and how this recording (and the accompanying documentary film) will translate into material aid for them and their fellow victims. Presumably such arrangements have been made, but the lack of any statement to that effect leaves one wondering. Still, the music itself is mostly excellent: a traditional song from Myanmar titled "Glorious Sun" is presented in two mixes (both very good, though the original mix is much subtler and lovelier than its more aggressively dance-oriented remix); "Hai La Sa" is mournful and quietly funky, with a faintly bhangra-inflected rhythmic structure; "Touare" is a trancey instrumental with dubwise scraps of vocal floating around in the mix. Not everything on the two discs is equally entrancing, but all of it is worth hearing. ~ Rick Anderson

Producer: Patrick Sebag; Sonya Mazumdar; Paul Jacob; Joanne de Rozario

Engineer: Patrick Sebag; Yotam Agam

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 09/21/2010
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 2006
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : ES0027
Music Label Name Label : White Swan Records
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 3
Music Studio or Live Studio/Live : Studio
Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Stereo
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00094922656216

Product Attributes

Product attributeArtist:   Laya Project
Product attributeMusic Format:   Compact Disc
Advertisement Bottom