Sold Out
This product is currently not available.
Artist: Various Artists
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sold Out!
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Les Miserables Original London Cast CD 1 of 1

Learn more about Les Miserables Original London Cast:

Format: CD
Sku: 61012451
UPC: 766927336225
UPC 14: 00766927336225
Release Date: 6/8/2004
See more in Broadway Shows

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
0. DISC 1:
1. Mis?rables, musical: Work Song, Les
2. Mis?rables, musical: Valjean Arrested/Valjean Forgiven, Les
3. Mis?rables, musical: What Have I Done?, Les
4. Mis?rables, musical: At the End of the Day, Les
5. Mis?rables, musical: I Dreamed a Dream, Les
6. Mis?rables, musical: Lovely Ladies, Les
7. Mis?rables, musical: Who Am I?, Les
8. Mis?rables, musical: Come to Me, Les
9. Mis?rables, musical: The Confrontation, Les
10. Mis?rables, musical: Castle on a Cloud, Les
11. Mis?rables, musical: Master of the House, Les
12. Mis?rables, musical: The Th?nardier Waltz of Treachery, Les
13. Mis?rables, musical: Stars, Les
14. Mis?rables, musical: Look Down, Les
15. Mis?rables, musical: Little People, Les
16. Mis?rables, musical: Red and Black, Les
17. Mis?rables, musical: Do You Hear the People Sing?, Les
Disc 2
Song Title
0. DISC 2:
1. Les Mis?rables, musical: I Saw Him Once: In My Life / A Heart Full Of Love
2. Mis?rables, musical: The Attack on Rue Plumet, Les
3. Mis?rables, musical: One Day More, Les
4. Mis?rables, musical: On My Own, Les
5. Mis?rables, musical: The First Attack, Les
6. Mis?rables, musical: A Little Fall of Rain, Les
7. Mis?rables, musical: Drink With Me, Les
8. Mis?rables, musical: Bring Him Home, Les
9. Mis?rables, musical: Dog Eats Dog, Les
10. Mis?rables, musical: Soliloquy, Les (Javert's Suicide)
11. Mis?rables, musical: Turning, Les
12. Mis?rables, musical: Empty Chairs at Empty Tables, Les
13. Mis?rables, musical: Beggars at the Feast/Wedding Chorale, Les
14. Mis?rables, musical: Finale. Do You Hear the People Sing?, Les (Reprise)

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote Principal cast includes: Patti LuPone, Colm Wilkinson, Frances Ruffelle.
Muze PNote Producers: Alan Boubil, Claude-Michel Schonberg.
Muze PNote All music written by Alan Boubil and Claude-Michel Schonberg.
Muze PNote The songs on this recording are slightly different from those on the Broadway cast album, including a complete version of the song "Little People."
Muze PNote Originally conceived as a simple recording production, Les Mis?rables evolved quickly into one of the premiere theater events of the 1980s. Theatrically on par with The Phantom of the Opera, Les Miz is drawn from the Victor Hugo novel of the same name. The story chronicles the life of Jean Valjean, a simple Frenchman who was arrested as a youth for stealing a loaf of bread. After serving five years for that crime, as well as an additional 14 for attempted escape, Valjean is released on parole. Upon changing his name and eluding his parole officer, Valjean becomes the surrogate father of a young girl and a mayor as the French Revolution sets in. As the war rages, he finds that he cannot change the man he is. Les Mis?rables is typical of theater in the '80s, with extravagant effects and large full-cast numbers. The beautiful score is full of emotion and humor, including such memorable and noteworthy songs as "Look Down," "Do You Hear the People Sing?," "Bring Him Home," "Empty Chairs at Empty Tables," and the ubiquitous "On My Own." The original London cast recording is considered by many to be superior to various other releases of Les Miz, including the Broadway cast. Colm Wilkinson and Frances Ruffelle originate here the roles they played in the Broadway cast, joined by Patti LuPone and Michael Ball. An important addition to a collection for those who want a nearly complete version but who don't need the full symphonic version. ~ Sarah Erlewine

Musical Guests
Muze Guest Artist Patti LuPone

Associated Artists and Works

California Dreams
Original Soundtrack

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 05/19/1998
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 1985
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : 73362
Music Label Name Label : Red Ink Records (USA)
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 2
Music Studio or Live Studio/Live : Studio
Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Stereo
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : AAD
Music UPC UPC : 00766927336225

Advertisement Bottom