Get Free Shipping when you spend at least $0.01 with Blow It Outa Here.
Ships from/sold by Blow It Outa Here
Seller Rating:
See All Buying Options

Lights Out (2014)

Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Lights Out CD 1 of 1
(Save 13%)
$12.13  + Free Shipping
EARN 13 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
IN STOCK: Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
4 New
See all sellers
View My Store
More Buying Options
Seller Information

Learn more about Lights Out:

Format: CD
Sku: 262381219
UPC: 888174537429
UPC 14: 00888174537429
Release Date: 4/15/2014
See more in Pop

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
1. Home
2. Girls Chase Boys
3. Wonderful Unknown ~ (featuring Greg Laswell)
4. You Got Me
5. Warpath
6. Handsome Hands
7. Time Machine
8. One Night Town
9. Open Hands
10. Ready to Lose
11. Stick
12. Afterlife
13. Over You
14. Everyone is Gonna Love Me Now

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote Audio Mixers: F. Reid Shippen; Serban Ghenea.
Muze PNote Photographer: Shervin Lainez.
Muze PNote Ingrid Michaelson's sixth studio album, 2014's Lights Out, is a polished, well-produced effort that magnifies all of the sounds and lyrical themes she's been working with since breaking through with 2007's Girls and Boys. Michaelson even seems to reference that album with her Lights Out lead single, the infectious "Girls Chase Boys." However, where Girls and Boys centered around Michaelson's intimate ukulele and acoustic guitar-driven dorm room pop, Lights Out features a broadened sonic palette and a much more robust vocal performance; it's a transformation she's been perfecting since 2009's Everybody and 2012's Human Again. This time out, Michaelson has enlisted a handful of producers who include, among others, her bandmate bassist Chris Kuffner, Jacquire King (Modest Mouse, Norah Jones), and singer/songwriter Katie Herzig. Michaelson even reunites with longtime collaborator Dan Romer for the epic ballad "Over You," featuring A Great Big World. While there are a few of Michaelson's trademark intimate breakup songs here, including the tear-inducing "Open Hands," overall the album reveals Michaelson to be in a bright, upbeat state of mind. Cuts like the bluesy, handclap-heavy "Warpath" and the similarly fiery "Time Machine," with its '90s-esque sax samples, are more emblematic of the album's ambitious, empowered tone. Elsewhere, we get the catchy dance-pop duet "One Night Town" with Mat Kearney and the uplifting anthem "Afterlife." There's also a very in-the-moment feeling of both poignancy and happiness to Lights Out, which is perhaps best expressed in the midtempo Beatlesque ballad "Wonderful Unknown," featuring Michaelson's husband, singer/songwriter Greg Laswell. In it, Michaelson ruminates on the small details of her everyday life, singing "We make bread on Sundays and the little ones are climbing the walls/Up the walls/Nothing lasts forever but the sound of love astounds me every time that it calls." Ultimately, on Lights Out, Michaelson has captured that sound of love. ~ Matt Collar

Producer: Chris Kuffner; Dan Romer; Jacquire King; Jeremy Bose; Cason Cooley; Katie Herzig

Musical Guests
Muze Guest Artist Greg Laswell
Muze Guest Artist Storyman
Muze Guest Artist Mat Kearney
Muze Guest Artist Trent Dabbs
Muze Guest Artist A Great Big World

Compilation Appearances

Muze Music Compilations Sex And The City Vol 2
Muze Music Compilations Landline

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 04/15/2014
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 2014
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : MP 1512
Music Label Name Label : Mom Pop Music
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 1
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00888174537429

Product Attributes

Product attributeArtist:   Michaelson,Ingrid
Advertisement Bottom