Get Free Shipping when you spend at least $0.01 with Blow It Outa Here.
Ships from/sold by Blow It Outa Here
Seller Rating:
See All Buying Options
Artist: Kieran Kane
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Lost John Dean CD 1 of 1
(Save 10%)
$16.15  + Free Shipping
EARN 17 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
IN STOCK: Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
1 New
See all sellers
View My Store
More Buying Options
Seller Information

Learn more about Lost John Dean:

Format: CD
Sku: 202424597
UPC: 766397442921
UPC 14: 00766397442921
Release Date: 5/9/2006
See more in Folk

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
1. Monkey Jump ~ Kieran Kane
2. Satan's Paradise ~ Kieran Kane
3. Lost John Dean ~ Kieran Kane
4. Heaven Now ~ Kieran Kane
5. Postcard From Mexico ~ Kieran Kane
6. To The Harvest Look Ahead ~ Kieran Kane
7. I Can't Wait ~ Kieran Kane
8. Mr Bones ~ Kieran Kane
9. Clean Getaway ~ Kieran Kane
10. Them Wheels Don't Roll ~ Kieran Kane
11. Mellow Down Easy ~ Kieran Kane

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote Personnel: Kieran Kane (vocals, banjo, drums, tambourine); Kevin Welch (vocals, guitar, background vocals); Fats Kaplin (electric guitar, oud, fiddle, accordion).
Muze PNote Audio Mixers: Charles Yingling; Philip Scoggins.
Muze PNote Recording information: Moraine, Studios (2005).
Muze PNote Photographers: Kevin Welch; Kieran Kane.
Muze PNote Arrangers: Fats Kaplin; Kevin Welch; Kieran Kane.
Muze PNote Kieran Kane along with longtime musical associate Kevin Welch and Fats Kaplin join for their second album as a trio. Although it shares the same basic instrumentation and stripped down, one take, folk approach of 2004's You Can't Save Everybody, the follow-up is more full, layered, and seems ever so slightly beefed up. Multi-instrumentalist Kaplin (guitar, pedal steel, oud, accordion, fiddle) is better integrated and helps fill out the sound that is still primarily acoustic, but has flashes of subtle electric guitar fills. The songs are largely ballads concerning the usual suspect topics of lost love ("Clean Getaway"), cars as a metaphor for life ("Them Wheels Don't Roll Anymore") and spiritual concerns ("I Can't Wait"), yet the melodies and singing are so consistently engaging that the project takes on a life of its own. A few more upbeat tunes such as the closing cover of Willie Dixon's "Mellow Down Easy" (a far cry from Little Walter's boogie thumping original) would help keep the energy flowing, but there is no shortage of talent and enthusiasm here. Kane and Welch's vocals, both solo and in tandem, find a melancholy groove that is hypnotic, beautiful and sincere. Welch's reflective "Heaven Now," a sad and insightful meditation on ageing, is stunning in its simplicity and naked emotion. "To the Harvest Look Ahead" takes a simple circular melody, brings a swampy, dusky mood and connects with restrained intensity. Middle Eastern chords infuse the mysterious "Mr. Bones" with Kaplin's oud driving the world beat influences. The recording is clean, clear and crisp, with each instrument defined under the vocals making a good album even better. Highly recommended especially for folk/Americana fans. ~ Hal Horowitz

Engineer: Charles Yingling; Philip Scoggins

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 04/04/2006
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 2006
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : COM 44292
Music Label Name Label : Compass (USA)
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 1
Music Studio or Live Studio/Live : Studio
Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Stereo
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00766397442921

Professional Reviews

Down Beat (p.66)
- 4 stars out of 5 -- "[T]his remarkable group melds folk, country and blues when singing and playing string instruments with a jazz musician's spontaneity and freedom."

No Depression (p.125)
- "Kane in particular keeps coming up with singularly catchy, simple, funky new tunes, with some strong banjo to match."

Product Attributes

Product attributeArtist:   Kane,Kieran
Product attributeLabel:   Compass Records
Product attributeMusic Format:   Compact Disc
Advertisement Bottom