Motown Anthology CD (2005)

Artist: Chris Clark

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview


Label Universal Uk/zoom
SKU 63989226
UPC 602498195642
UPC 14 00602498195642
Format CD
Release Date 3/7/2005
Author Chris Clark
Associated Artist/Work Joe Masters
Associated Artist/Work Massters, Joe
Technical Info
CatalogID 9819564
Lable Name Island (Label)
Released 03/07/2005
Original Release 2005
Number of Discs 1
SPARE Code n/a
Mono/Stereo Stereo
UPC 00602498195642
Album Notes and Credits
This British import collects two discs worth of Chris Clark's Motown label works, including singles and unreleased material; 50 tracks in all.
Along with so many other artists on the Motown imprint, Chris Clark stood in the shadows of music giants, waiting patiently to get her turn in the spotlight under the magic spell of the Motor City music machine. Like many of these artists, Clark had her brief moment in the sun, then languished in near obscurity, save for the die-hard loyalists of the Northern soul scene, who relished every move she made from her Motown years and beyond. Thankfully, the folks over at the U.K. imprint of Motown had the good sense to include her in their recent onslaught of catalog reissues highlighting the minor players of Motown. The two-disc set is all the Chris Clark diehards and casual fans could possibly ever need to include in their collection, but the gems found herein are pleasant surprises nevertheless. The first disc culls tracks off her Soul Sounds and CC Rides Again albums, a bluesy blue-eyed soul (think Dusty Springfield) take on the traditional Motown formula as well as mildly tepid takes on contemporary pop songs. The covers (especially "Got to Get You into My Life" and "In the Ghetto") don't work nearly as well as the original compositions, but Motown would often pad full-length records with them, so they're of little use other than for historical significance. Her take on "Take Me in Your Arms" (originally recorded by Kim Weston) and the amazing "If You Should Walk Away" are two of many highlights that compensate for the duller moments, but it's the second disc of unreleased material and rarities where Clark truly shines. There are several moments that would find the perfect home at a weekender in the Northern country, especially the stomper "Something's Wrong." It's another fine addition to the U.K. Motown series, and for those longing for the majority of her recorded works on compact disc, it's simply essential. ~ Rob Theakston
Disc 1
1 I Want to Go Back There Again
2 Love's Gone Bad
3 Born to Love You Baby
4 If You Should Walk Away
5 Whisper You Love Me Boy
6 Got to Get You Into My Life
7 Day by Day or Never
8 From Head to Toe
9 Do Right Baby Do Right
10 Until You Love Someone
11 Put Yourself in My Place
12 Sweeter as the Days Go By
13 C.C. Rider
14 Spinning Wheel
15 How About You
16 Good Morning Starshine
17 With a Little Help From My Friends
18 One
19 In the Ghetto
20 Can I See You in the Morning
21 You've Made Me So Very Happy
22 Get Back
23 Don't Be Too Long
24 I Love You
25 Beginning of the End
26 Ask Any Girl
27 Everything Is Good About You
28 Try It Baby
29 I Like Everything You
30 Take Me in Your Arms (Rock Me For a Little While)
31 In the Neighbourhood
32 Yester
33 I Just Can't Forget Him
34 If You Let Me Baby
35 Your Wonderful Love
36 Do Like I Do
37 Let Me Go
38 Mr. Maestro Play a Blue Sonata
39 Soft Touch
40 Crying in the Chapel
41 He's Got the Whole World in His Hands
42 It Must Be Love Baby
43 Stay Away From Temptation
44 He's Good For Me
45 I Just Wanna Be Lovin' You
46 Bad Seed
47 Something's Wrong
48 Mighty Good Lovin'
49 Everything's Right Everything's Wrong
50 What You Doing
Sold Out
Sorry, you missed the deal!
This product is currently not available.