Get Free Shipping when you spend at least $0.01 with Blow It Outa Here.
Ships from/sold by Blow It Outa Here
Seller Rating:
See All Buying Options
Artist: Various Artists
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Motown Classics: gold CD 1 of 1
(Save 26%)
$14.68  + Free Shipping
EARN 15 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
IN STOCK: Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
5 New
See all sellers
View My Store
More Buying Options
Seller Information

Learn more about Motown Classics: gold:

Format: CD
Sku: 63949242
UPC: 602498632260
UPC 14: 00602498632260
Release Date: 3/1/2005
See more in R&B / Soul

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
1. Money (That's What I Want) - Barrett Strong ~ Various Artists
2. Shop Around - The Miracles ~ Various Artists
3. Please Mister Postman - The Marvelettes ~ Various Artists
4. Do You Love Me - The Contours ~ Various Artists
5. You Beat Me To The Punch - Mary Wells ~ Various Artists
6. Fingertips Part 2 - Little Stevie Wonder ~ Various Artists
7. Heat Wave, (Love Is Like A) - Martha Reeves & The Vandellas ~ Various Artists
8. My Guy - Mary Wells ~ Various Artists
9. Where Did Our Love Go - The Supremes ~ Various Artists
10. Dancing In The Streets - Martha Reeves & The Vandellas ~ Various Artists
11. How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You) - Marvin Gaye ~ Various Artists
12. My Girl - The Temptations ~ Various Artists
13. Shotgun - Jr. Walker & The All Stars ~ Various Artists
14. Stop! In The Name Of Love - The Supremes ~ Various Artists
15. I Can't Help Myself (Sugar Pie Honey Bunch) - The Four Tops ~ Various Artists
16. Tracks Of My Tears, The - Smokey Robinson & The Miracles ~ Various Artists
17. Uptight (Everything's Alright) - Stevie Wonder ~ Various Artists
18. Going To A Go-Go - Smokey Robinson & The Miracles ~ Various Artists
19. Ain't Too Proud To Beg - The Temptations ~ Various Artists
20. What Becomes Of The Brokenhearted - Jimmy Ruffin ~ Various Artists
Disc 2
Song Title
1. You Can't Hurry Love - The Supremes ~ Various Artists
2. Reach Out I'll Be There - The Four Tops ~ Various Artists
3. Jimmy Mack - Martha Reeves & The Vandellas ~ Various Artists
4. Your Precious Love - Marvin Gaye/Tammi Terrell ~ Various Artists
5. I Heard It Through The Grapevine - Gladys Knight & The Pips ~ Various Artists
6. I Heard It Through The Grapevine - Marvin Gaye ~ Various Artists
7. My Whole World Ended (The Moment You Left Me) - David Ruffin ~ Various Artists
8. I Can't Get Next To You - The Temptations ~ Various Artists
9. I Want You Back - The Jackson 5 ~ Various Artists
10. Someday We'll Be Together - Diana Ross & The Supremes ~ Various Artists
11. Up The Ladder To The Roof - The Supremes ~ Various Artists
12. Ball Of Confusion (That's What The World Is Today) - The Temptations ~ Various Artists
13. Signed, Sealed, Delivered I'm Yours - Stevie Wonder ~ Various Artists
14. It's A Shame - The Spinners ~ Various Artists
15. War - Edwin Starr ~ Various Artists
16. Tears Of A Clown - Smokey Robinson & The Miracles ~ Various Artists
17. What's Going On? - Marvin Gaye ~ Various Artists
18. Smiling Faces Sometimes - Undisputed Truth ~ Various Artists
19. Papa Was A Rollin' Stone - The Temptations ~ Various Artists
20. Neither One Of Us - Gladys Knight & The Pips ~ Various Artists

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote Personnel: The Love-Tones (vocals); Stevie Wonder (harmonica, bongos).
Muze PNote Arrangers: Clarence Paul; Deke Richards; Freddie Perren; Alphonso Mizell; Michael Omartian; Paul Riser; Artie Butler; Wade Marcus; Berry Gordy, Jr.; David Van De Pitte.
Muze PNote One of the most dominating forces in the history of popular music, the Motown imprint was more than a label, it was a juggernaut of soul music, a machine so finely honed and working with such efficiency that it wasn't uncommon for several chart topping hits to be recorded in one session. This anthology was previously issued in 2000 under the moniker Motown: The Classic Years. But a title more befitting of such a quality compilation would be Motown 101, for it contains practically every monumental chart topping hit that the label became known for across the globe. Nearly every song on this collection has been imprinted on the collective memory of popular culture, and with good reason. The insanely catchy, uptempo sound was the audio wallpaper for a generation facing dramatic changes socially, culturally and politically. Starting with the first major hits of the label courtesy of Barrett Strong ("Money") and the Miracles ("Shop Around"), the artists included here read like a venerable who's who A-list of soul music. Names like Marvin, Stevie, and Diana, as well as groups like the Temptations, the Four Tops, the Contours, and the Supremes. Songs that defined moments decades after their release ("Do You Love Me," "I Heard It Through the Grapevine") and songs that forever changed the face of popular music ("My Girl," "What's Going On," "War"). Sadly this collection only covers the first half of Gordy and company's run, ending in 1972 when Motown left its home base of Detroit for the sunny shores of California. But an examination of those years would also be worthy of its own double-disc set. For the die-hard Northern soul or Motown fanatic, there is little here that probably isn't already in your collection. But for those looking for all of the hits that defined the Motown sound, or for those looking for a comprehensive introduction to the label, this very well could be all the Motown you ever need to purchase. ~ Rob Theakston

Producer: Joe Porter; Deke Richards; Freddie Perren; Ronnie White; Harvey Fuqua; Henry Cosby; Frank Beaty Wilson; BrianBert; Johnny Bristol; Lamont Dozier; Lawrence Horn; Marvin Gaye; Alphonso Mizell; Pete Moore; Stevie Wonder; William "Mickey" Stevenson; William W

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 03/01/2005
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 2005
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : 0003120
Music Label Name Label : Motown
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 2
Music Studio or Live Studio/Live : Studio
Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Stereo
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00602498632260

Advertisement Bottom