Get Free Shipping when you spend at least $0.01 with Blow It Outa Here.
Ships from/sold by Blow It Outa Here
Seller Rating:
See All Buying Options
Artist: Mott The Hoople
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Mott The Hoople Live CD 1 of 1
(Save 20%)
$18.27  + Free Shipping
EARN 19 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
IN STOCK: Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
2 New
See all sellers
View My Store
More Buying Options
Seller Information

Learn more about Mott The Hoople Live:

Format: CD
Sku: 211410114
UPC: 886975273720
UPC 14: 00886975273720
Release Date: 8/25/2009
See more in Pop

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
1. Intro - Jupiter From "The Planets" ~ Mott The Hoople
2. American Pie/The Golden Age Of Rock 'n' Roll ~ Mott The Hoople
3. Sucker ~ Mott The Hoople
4. Roll Away The Stone/Sweet Jane ~ Mott The Hoople
5. Rest In Peace ~ Mott The Hoople
6. All The Way From Memphis ~ Mott The Hoople
7. Born Late '58 ~ Mott The Hoople
8. One Of The Boys ~ Mott The Hoople
9. Hymn For The Dudes ~ Mott The Hoople
10. Marionette ~ Mott The Hoople
11. Drivin' Sister/Crash Street Kidds/Violence ~ Mott The Hoople
12. All The Young Dudes ~ Mott The Hoople
13. Walking With A Mountain ~ Mott The Hoople
Disc 2
Song Title
1. Intro - Jupiter From "The Planets" ~ Mott The Hoople
2. Drivin' Sister ~ Mott The Hoople
3. Sucker ~ Mott The Hoople
4. Sweet Jane ~ Mott The Hoople
5. Sweet Angeline ~ Mott The Hoople
6. Rose ~ Mott The Hoople
7. Roll Away The Stone ~ Mott The Hoople
8. All The Young Dudes ~ Mott The Hoople
9. Jerkin' Crocus/One Of The Boys/Rock 'n' Roll Queen/Get Back/Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' On/Violence ~ Mott The Hoople
10. Walking With A Mountain ~ Mott The Hoople

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote Mott The Hoople: Ian Hunter, Ariel Bender (vocals, guitar); Morgan Fisher (vocals, piano); Overend Watts (vocals, bass); Dale Griffin (vocals, drums);
Muze PNote Stan Tippins (vocals); Blue Weaver, Mike Bolton (organ).
Muze PNote Recorded live at The Uris Theatre, New York, New York on May 9, 1975. Includes liner notes by Martin Hayman and Ben Edmonds.
Muze PNote Personnel: Ariel Bender (vocals, guitar); Morgan Fisher (vocals, piano); Dale "Buffin" Griffin (vocals, drums); Ian Hunter, Overend Watts, Stan Tippins (vocals); Mick Bolton, Blue Weaver (organ).
Muze PNote Liner Note Authors: Campbell Devine; Ben Edmonds.
Muze PNote Photographers: Dagmar; Bill Griffin.
Muze PNote By 1974, Mott the Hoople was quite possibly the greatest concert band in the world, a blur of high-energy rock, high content poetics, and high camp costuming -- Ian Hunter the tough guy in leather and shades; Ariel Bender the street kid, all satin hat flash; Overend Watts, the freakoid in skyscraper thigh boots; and a live show which out-dressed the lot of them. If any band deserved a live album, it was Mott. And if any live album failed to deliver, it was this one. Today, the album's deficiencies seem less severe. Though the band's Bender era remains considerably less well-documented than the earlier Mick Ralphs period, still live material has poured out from a variety of sources, from the Shades of Ian Hunter compilation to the All the Young Dudes box set, and onto the spring 2001 reissue of Bender's own Floodgates solo album (an excellent version of "Here Comes the Queen"). There's even a quasi-legal fan club release for the 1974 King Biscuit broadcast which remains the highpoint of the band's live career. Live, however, remains the only official document of the glory, and the problems commence on the back cover -- a great shot of the band performing "Marionette" on a stage hung with puppets, when the song itself is nowhere in sight. Two shows recorded five months and two continents apart (London's Hammersmith Odeon in December 1973; New York's Uris Theater in May 1974) are highlighted by just seven songs and one medley. The hits "All the Young Dudes" and "All the Way From Memphis," of course, are present, but the remainder of the track list is bizarre to say the least -- the ballads "Rest in Peace" and "Rose" were British B-sides only, while "Sucker," "Walking With a Mountain," and "Sweet Angeline" were never much more than filler on their own original albums (Dudes, Mad Shadows, and Brain Capers, respectively). The medley is mightier, spanning both Mott's own history, and rock & roll's in general -- who, after all, would deny the band their own exalted place in the lineage which stretches from "Whole Lotta Shakin'" to "Get Back" and beyond (the uncredited snatch of Bowie's "Jean Genie")? But even here, one cannot help but think more must have happened that night than a breakneck assault on a handful more cuts -- and sure enough, it did. The Hammersmith show was the night when the management tried to halt the gig during the closing number, and wound up causing a riot. The liner notes remember it well, but the "Mountain" here was found in New York. It is a great album in its own way, the band are in terrific form, and Bender plays the guitar hero better than anyone else of his entire generation. But Mott gigs, like their albums, were about more than simple snapshots -- that was what made the band so important, that's what made their music so memorable. And that's what the fearfully episodic Live completely overlooks. ~ Dave Thompson

Producer: Dale Griffin

Engineer: Gary Edwards; Bill Price

Compilation Appearances

Muze Music Compilations Rock Hits Of The 70's
Muze Music Compilations Rockin' 70s
Muze Music Compilations Vietnam War Years: vol 1
Muze Music Compilations Rock Of The Seventies
Muze Music Compilations Juno
Muze Music Compilations Rock Classic Of 70'S
Muze Music Compilations Box Set Series:classic Rock

Associated Artists and Works

Hunter, Ian

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 02/28/2010
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 1974
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : ICO 527372
Music Label Name Label : Iconoclassic Records
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 2
Music Studio or Live Studio/Live : Live
Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Stereo
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00886975273720

Product Attributes

Product attributeArtist:   Mott The Hoople
Product attributeMusic Format:   Compact Disc
Advertisement Bottom