Ships from/sold by Blow It Outa Here
Seller Rating:
See All Buying Options
Artist: Various Artists
Earn Super Points: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Mountain Gospel CD 1 of 1
(Save 25%)
$21.49 + $2.99 SHIPPING
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
4 New
See all sellers
View My Store
More Buying Options
Seller Information

Learn more about Mountain Gospel:

Format: CD
Sku: 63995840
UPC: 788065775520
UPC 14: 00788065775520
Release Date: 8/23/2005
Sales Rank: 2224
See more in Folk

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
1. Music in My Soul ~ Various Artists
2. Crossed Old Jordan's Stream ~ Various Artists
3. I Am on My Way to Heaven ~ Various Artists
4. Called to the Foreign Field ~ Various Artists
5. When They Ring the Golden Bells ~ Various Artists
6. Sailing Ship, The ~ Various Artists
7. Just Inside the Pearly Gates ~ Various Artists
8. God's Getting Worried ~ Various Artists
9. Turn Away ~ Various Artists
10. What a Change ~ Various Artists
11. Glory Is Rising in My Soul ~ Various Artists
12. Odem ~ Various Artists
13. Joy Among the Angels ~ Various Artists
14. Going Down the Valley ~ Various Artists
15. Sinless Summerland, The ~ Various Artists
16. I Remember Calvary ~ Various Artists
17. Jacob's Ladder ~ Various Artists
18. Hellelujah to the Lamb ~ Various Artists
19. I Belong to This Band ~ Various Artists
20. Old Ship of Zion ~ Various Artists
21. Happy in Prison ~ Various Artists
22. Shine on Me ~ Various Artists
23. Bright Tomorrow ~ Various Artists
24. Cuba ~ Various Artists
25. My Prayer ~ Various Artists
26. I'll Lead a Christian Life ~ Various Artists
27. Abraham ~ Various Artists
28. Though Your Sins Be Scarlet ~ Various Artists
29. Life's Ev'nin Sun ~ Various Artists
30. Precious Jewel, The ~ Various Artists
31. Heavenly Train, The ~ Various Artists
32. He Will Be Your Savior Too ~ Various Artists
33. My God the Spring of All My Joys ~ Various Artists
34. When He Died He Got a Home in Hell ~ Various Artists
35. Lights in the Valley ~ Various Artists
36. In a Little Village Churchyard ~ Various Artists
37. I Got a Home in Beulah Land ~ Various Artists
38. I Shall Not Be Moved ~ Various Artists
39. Sowing on the Mountain ~ Various Artists
40. In Steps of Light ~ Various Artists
41. I'm Going Home to Die No More ~ Various Artists

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote The four-disc, 100-track Mountain Gospel box set collects sacred music released on commercial 78s by Southern white performers in the 1920s, '30s, and '40s, and includes string bands, gospel quartets, and sacred harp singers all trying to sing their way to heaven while maybe making a dollar or two on the way. By turns exuberant, wise, humorous, forgiving, unforgiving, ragged as a soup bone and occasionally dressed up fine as silk, these selections are reminders of how much the sacred and the secular were intermingled in the early days of the recording industry. Highlights include the bass string runs of Alfred Karnes on his double-necked Gibson guitar on the comforting and majestic "We Shall All Be Reunited," the odd waltzes of the Garland Brothers, who tackle "Beautiful" and "Just Over the River" with a lineup of fiddle, guitar, and violincello, the flowing "Going Down the Valley" by Ernest Stoneman (whose long career saw him record on acoustic cylinders, 78s, stereo LPs, and even videotape), and a chugging string band version of "Ain't Gonna Lay My Armor Down" by Ancil McVay and Roland N. Johnson. Ernest Phipps delivers energetic takes on "Do Lord Remember Me" and "Old Ship of Zion," while the Phil Crow Trio crack off a goofy and cartoonish "I'm a Gittin' Ready to Go." Other high points include J.E. Mainer's folksy "This World Is Not My Home" and his energetic "Just Over in the Gloryland" (featuring the three-finger banjo style of Snuffy Jenkins, who helped set the table for bluegrass), as well as younger brother Wade Mainer's gentle waltz version of "The Precious Jewel." The all-female string band the Coon Creek Girls blast through an impressive "Sowing on the Mountain" before the whole set comes to a close with the whimsical and joyous "What Kind of Shoes You Gwine to Wear" by William Rexroat's Cedar Crest Singers. There is a fair bit of fire and brimstone scattered throughout these songs, and a good deal of pining for homes on far, distant shores, but there is also the kind of ragged joy that comes with knowing that singing about a better life may actually -- however briefly -- deliver that better life. ~ Steve Leggett

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 08/23/2005
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 2005
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : 7755
Music Label Name Label : JSP (UK)
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 1
Music Studio or Live Studio/Live : Studio
Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Stereo
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00788065775520

Advertisement Bottom