Ships from/sold by Buy.com
See All Buying Options
advertisement

Mr. Churchill's Secretary A Maggie Hope Novel (Paperback)

Earn Super Points: Write a Review
37%
OFF
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Mr. Churchills Secretary Macneal, Susan Elia 1 of 1
$15.00
(Save 37%)
$9.44 + $2.90 SHIPPING
EARN 10 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Super Points
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
FORMAT: Paperback
CONDITION:  Brand New
IN STOCK: Usually Ships within 24 hours
2 New
from
$9.44
See all sellers
45 day return policy
Share
promo
 
Description
More Buying Options
 

Learn more about Mr. Churchill's Secretary:

Format: Paperback
ISBN-10: 0553593617
ISBN-13: 9780553593617
Sku: 219182236
Publish Date: 4/3/2012
Dimensions:  (in Inches) 7.75H x 5L x 1T
Pages:  384
 
After German Luftwaffe bomb London, Maggie Hope--trained in math and code breaking, but only able to find a job as Winston Churchills secretary--uses the unfettered access her position demands to try to unravel a plot to assassinate Churchill himself. A first novel. Original. 12,500 first printing. *Author: Macneal, Susan Elia *Publication Date: 2012/04/03 *Number of Pages: 373 *Binding Type: Paperback *Language: English *Depth: 1.00 *Width: 5.00 *Height: 7.75
From the Publisher:
For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, Mr. Churchill's Secretary captures the drama of an era of unprecedented challenge?and the greatness that rose to meet it.

London, 1940. Winston Churchill has just been sworn in, war rages across the Channel, and the threat of a Blitz looms larger by the day. But none of this deters Maggie Hope. She graduated at the top of her college class and possesses all the skills of the finest minds in British intelligence, but her gender qualifies her only to be the newest typist at No. 10 Downing Street. Her indefatigable spirit and remarkable gifts for codebreaking, though, rival those of even the highest men in government, and Maggie finds that working for the prime minister affords her a level of clearance she could never have imagined?and opportunities she will not let pass. In troubled, deadly times, with air-raid sirens sending multitudes underground, access to the War Rooms also exposes Maggie to the machinations of a menacing faction determined to do whatever it takes to change the course of history.

Ensnared in a web of spies, murder, and intrigue, Maggie must work quickly to balance her duty to King and Country with her chances for survival. And when she unravels a mystery that points toward her own family's hidden secrets, she'll discover that her quick wits are all that stand between an assassin's murderous plan and Churchill himself.

In this daring debut, Susan Elia MacNeal blends meticulous research on the era, psychological insight into Winston Churchill, and the creation of a riveting main character,  Maggie Hope, into a spectacularly crafted novel.

Praise

"Brave, clever Maggie's debut is an enjoyable mix of mystery, thriller and romance that captures the harrowing experiences of life in war-torn London." 02/01/2012

Product Attributes

Product attributeeBooks:   Kobo
Product attributeBook Format:   Paperback
Product attributeNumber of Pages:   0384
Product attributePublisher:   Bantam
Advertisement Bottom