New Connection CD (2002)

Artist: Todd Snider

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview

While some of us indulge in cigarettes, alcohol or even chocolate for comfort, Todd Snider finds solace in strumming his faithful acoustic guitar and making up songs. With his latest endeavor, New Connection, Snider's songwriting links his past with his present and offers him a new connection to his future. Twelve of the extraordinary thirteen tracks on the album were written or co-written by Snider. For the first time Snider worked with noted producer R.S. Field (Sonny Landreth, Alison Moorer, Webb Wilder) at the controls. New Connection is undeniably inspired. The album stretches from the energetic groove of the title track, to the tongue-in-cheek fun of "Statistician's Blues" to the lonesome ache of "Close Enough To You" and the longing for home in "Rose City." Within all of his compositions, Snider proves to be an insightful yarnspinner who dishes out life's meaningful victories and sorrows in three-minute stories. On New Connection Snider reconnects with his hometown Portland, Oregon, a place he left seventeen years ago, and celebrates the union with the love of his life.


Label Oh Boy Classics
SKU 60555289
UPC 094012002329
UPC 14 00094012002329
Format CD
Release Date 5/14/2002
Author Todd Snider
Compilation Appearance Rock-Live From Mountain Stage (Live)
Associated Artist/Work Cast, Original
Associated Artist/Work Original Cast
Technical Info
Engineer Jim DeMain
Producer R.S. Field
CatalogID OBR 023
Lable Name Oh Boy
Released 09/13/2004
Original Release 2002
Number of Discs 1
SPARE Code n/a
Length 45m : 28s
Mono/Stereo Stereo
Studio/Live Studio
UPC 00094012002329
Musical Guests
John Prine
Kim Richey
Album Notes and Credits
Personnel includes: Todd Snider, John Prine, Kim Richey, Jason Wilber, Dave Jacques, Will Kimbrough, Paul Griffith.
Audio Mixers: R.S. Field; Jim DeMain.
Recording information: Hum Depot.
Photographer: Jim Shea.
New Connection -- Todd Snider's fifth album and the second for John Prine's Oh Boy label -- finds the singer riding atop a warm band featuring Jason Wilber and David Jacques (both of Prine's touring unit), Paul Griffith, and Will Kimbrough. Like Kevn Kinney, Snider's voice alternates between a drawl and a scratch, occasionally dropping into Jim White-like whispers. It is in these cracks that Snider finds a wry strength, which he hangs on his almost traditional singer/songwriter wares. There are humorous tunes -- "Vinyl Records," "Beer Run," and "Statistician's Blues" -- but they're rarely anything more than cute. "Broke," meanwhile, sounds like a Nashville version of Lou Reed's "Goodnight Ladies." Snider gets a few elegiac beauties into the mix, too, including the subtly produced "Easy" and the almost heartbreaking "Class of 85." These are fine songs. Prine takes a guest turn on his own "Crooked Piece of Time," which fits in with the rest of the record almost too well. ~ Jesse Jarnow
Professional Reviews
CMJ (5/27/02, p.12) - "...Witty, often heartbreaking and always sincere, assembled from well-worn scraps of country, blues and folk..."
Disc 1
1 New Connection
2 Vinyl Records
3 Rose City
4 Beer Run
5 Easy
6 Crooked Piece Of Time
7 Anywhere
8 Stuck All Night
9 Statistician's Blues
10 Class Of 85
11 Broke
12 Close Enough To You
13 Waco Moon

More Buying Options

Seller Infomation Price & Shipping  
Blow It Outa Here $15.69 + free shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns
All products are BRAND NEW and factory sealed. Fast shipping with tracking and delivery confirmation! 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Importcds $12.74 + $2.98 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns
All our items are brand new - Ships directly from our Warehouse in California - Estimated delivery time: 5-7 days after shipment.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
$15.69 + free shipping
$16.98 You save $1.29 (7%)
Rakuten Super Points Earn 16 ($0.16) Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
Format: CD
Condition: Brand New
In Stock. Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
Please select an option to buy
Add to Cart

Sold By:  Blow It Outa Here
What is a Marketplace and Shop Owner?
  • Our marketplace is a platform where approved third-party retailers (Shop Owners) can sell their products
  • Items are sold and shipped by Shop Owners
  • Your credit card and personal information remain secure; meets all PCI Security Standards.
  • Purchases can only be returned to the Shop Owner
  • All purchases receive Rakuten Super Points™