No Quarter (bonus Track) CD (2006)

Artist: Jimmy Page

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview


Label Universal Uk/zoom
SKU 63505034
UPC 731452636225
UPC 14 00731452636225
Format CD
Release Date 10/8/2006
Author Jimmy Page
Technical Info
Engineer Mike Gregovich
Producer Jimmy Page; Robert Plant
CatalogID 5263622
Lable Name Universal International
Released 10/01/1994
Original Release 1994
Number of Discs 1
SPARE Code n/a
Length 79m : 32s
Mono/Stereo Stereo
Studio/Live Mixed
UPC 00731452636225
Musical Guests
Porl Thompson
Album Notes and Credits
Personnel includes: Jimmy Page (acoustic & electric guitars, mandolin); Robert Plant, Najma Akhtar (vocals); Porl Thompson (guitar, banjo); Jim Sutherland (mandolin, bodhran); Nigel Eaton (hurdy gurdy); Ed Shearmur (Hammond B-3); Charlie Jones (bass, percussion); Michael Lee (drums, percussion); Hossam Ramzy, Ibrahim Abdel Khaliq (percussion); Abdel Salam Kheir (oud); London Metropolitan Orchestra, Hassan El Arfaoui, El Mahjoub El Mathoun, Abdelhak Eddahmane.
Recorded in Marrakesh, Morocco; Bron-Y-Aur, Wales; London, England.
"Kashmir" was nominated for a 1996 Grammy Award for Best Rock Performance By A Duo Or Group With Vocal.
CD contains bonus track.
Personnel: Najma, Robert Plant (vocals); Porl Thompson (guitar, banjo); Jimmy Page (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, mandolin); Nigel Eaton (hurdy-gurdy); Jim Sutherland (mandolin, bodhran); Abdul Salam Kheir (oud); Mark Berrow, Jessica OLeary, Perry Montague-Mason, Jeremy Williams, Pauline Lowbury, Anne Morlee, Elizabeth Layton, Clare Thompson, Peter G. Hanson, Harriet Davies, Rosemary Furness, Ian Humphries, David Juritz, Rita Manning, David Ogden, Cathy Thompson (violin); Andrew Brown , Janet Atkins, John Jezzard, Rusen Gunes, Bill Hawkes, Andrew Parker (viola); Cathy Giles, Stephen Milne, Ben Chappell, Caroline Dale (cello); Bashir Abdel 'Aal (strings, nay); Bahig Mikhaeel, Amin Abdelazeem (strings); Edward Shearmur (organ); Michael K. Lee (drums, percussion); Farouk El Safi, Farid Khashab, Ali Abdel Salem (bendir); Hossam Ramzy, Charlie Jones (percussion).
Audio Mixer: Mike Gregovich.
Recording information: Albion (08/1994); London, Albion (08/1994); Maroc (08/1994); Marrakech, Maroc (08/1994); Snowdonia, Wales (08/1994); Wales (08/1994).
Photographer: Andy Earl.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Farouk El Safi; Ali Abdel Salem.
Arranger: Edward Shearmur.
In this age of unplugged it was inevitable that Led Zeppelin would return in some shape or form to reclaim a legacy which fused folky musings with harder leanings. On NO QUARTER, Robert Plant and Jimmy Page are joined by a core group of musicians featuring the Cure's Porl Thompson, The London Metropolitan Orchestra, and a multitude of Middle Eastern musicians playing exotic instruments. The result is a fascinating blend of Zeppelin classics and three new songs. "Nobody's Fault But Mine" and "Friends" are given a slightly altered interpretation while the more recent "Yallah," "City Don't Cry," and "Wonderful One" revel in multicultural trappings. "Yallah" and "City Don't Cry" are both steeped in chanting in a foreign tongue while "Wonderful One" sounds like an outtake from HOUSES OF THE HOLY.
Robert Plant and Jimmy Page's world music approach casts a positive sheen on the remainder of this collection of Zeppelin songs which include exotic versions of "The Battle Of Evermore," "Gallows Pole," and "Kashmir."
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (12/15/94, p.92) - 4 Stars - Excellent - "...far better than anyone but their accountants had a right to expect..."
Entertainment Weekly (11/11/94, p.70) - "...With Page strumming away energetically and Plant hitting most of his old mystic-hippie high notes...they and their band offer up sharp remakes....Show the connection between the folk music of the British Isles and...Middle East..." - Rating: B
Q (12/94, p.148) - 3 Stars - Good - "...a curious, new, bombastic, post-Peter Gabriel species of non-groinal World Music Zeppelin. The album is hit-and-miss...but it does stand up, as far as spirit of adventure goes, with prime, hubristic Zeppelin..."
Mojo (Publisher) (1/95, p.50) - Included in Mojo's "25 Best Albums of 1994" - "...A robust and thrilling new beginning....with this hugely enjoyable album..."
NME (Magazine) (11/19/94, p.47) - 6 - Good - "...Plant wibbles on about Moroccan sunrises and the like, and actually manages to transfer his wandering moods to the music..."
Disc 1
1 Nobody's Fault But Mine
2 Thank You
3 No Quarter
4 Friends
5 Yallah
6 City Don't Cry
7 Since I've Been Loving You
8 Battle of Evermore
9 Wonderful One
10 Wah Wah
11 That's the Way
12 Gallow's Pole
13 Four Sticks
14 Kashmir

More Buying Options

Seller Infomation Price & Shipping  
Importcds $5.46 + $2.98 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns
All our items are brand new - Ships directly from our Warehouse in California - Estimated delivery time: 5-7 days after shipment.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Blow It Outa Here $13.29 + free shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns
All products are BRAND NEW and factory sealed. Fast shipping with tracking and delivery confirmation! 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
$5.46 + $2.98 shipping
$17.98 You save $12.52 (69%)
Rakuten Super Points Earn 6 ($0.06) Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
Format: CD
Condition: Brand New
In Stock. Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
Please select an option to buy
Add to Cart

Sold By:  Importcds
What is a Marketplace and Shop Owner?
  • Our marketplace is a platform where approved third-party retailers (Shop Owners) can sell their products
  • Items are sold and shipped by Shop Owners
  • Your credit card and personal information remain secure; meets all PCI Security Standards.
  • Purchases can only be returned to the Shop Owner
  • All purchases receive Rakuten Super Points™