No Such Place CD (2005)

Artist: Jim White

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview


Label Ryko Distribution
SKU 60618587
UPC 680899004329
UPC 14 00680899004329
Format CD
Release Date 1/25/2005
Author Jim White
Associated Artist/Work Original Soundtrack
Associated Artist/Work Packway Handle Band
Associated Artist/Work White, Jim (Drums Dirty Three)
Technical Info
CatalogID 899004329
Lable Name Luaka Bop
Released 10/09/2007
Original Release 2001
Number of Discs 1
SPARE Code n/a
Length 63m : 42s
Mono/Stereo Stereo
Studio/Live Studio
UPC 06808990043298
Musical Guests
Q-Burns Abstract Message
Album Notes and Credits
Personnel includes: Jim White (vocals, various instruments); Ross Godfrey (guitar, Wurlitzer piano, bass, background vocals); Ben Peeler (lap steel guitar, dobro, mandolin); Toshi Nakanishi (lap steel guitar, whistle, harmonica, percussion); Dal Thomas (banjo, background vocals); Jem Sullivan (mandolin); Andrew Hale (piano, Fender Rhodes piano, melodion, drums, percussion, programming, vinyl sratches).
Producers: Paul Godfrey, Ross Godfrey, Pete Norris, Jim White, Andrew Hale.
Engineers: Andrew Hale, Jim White, Q-Burns Abstract Message.
Personnel: Jim White (vocals, guitar, lap steel guitar, banjo, trombone, keyboards, percussion); Jim White; Dale Thomas (vocals, slide guitar, banjo, autoharp, mandolin); Steve Maples (vocals, drums, percussion); Paul Godfrey (vocals, drums, programming, scratches); Toshihiro Nakanishi (whistling, guitar, lap steel guitar, electric sitar, harmonica, percussion); Sohichiro Suzuki (slide guitar); Ben Peeler (lap steel guitar, dobro, hand claps); Jeremiah Sullivan (mandolin); Andrew Hale (piano, toy piano, celesta, Fender Rhodes piano, melodion, keyboards, drums, kalimba, percussion); Steve Ferry (vibraphone, drums, percussion); Andy Keep (bass instrument); Q-Burns, Q-Burns Abstract Message (programming); Stephanie Simon, Linda Delgado (background vocals); Ross Godfrey (vocals, guitar, Wurlitzer organ).
Audio Mixers: Andrew Hale; Sohichiro Suzuki; Andy Bradfield; Q-Burns Abstract Message.
Jim White's sophomore release on David Byrne's Luaka Bop imprint comes four years after the release of Wrong-Eyed Jesus!, an album that introduced him as a quirky, yet clever master of Southern gothic storytelling and lo-fi folk music. No Such Place is a brilliant follow-up and reveals White at his best. It's a bluesy, atmospheric-laced collection of songs about loners, ghosts, devils, love, and angels. Well skilled at providing listeners with a detailed look into his psyche, White simultaneously, and almost undetectably, provokes introspection throughout the album's 13 tracks. His songwriting is best exhibited when the album flows between gentle, dark, and spacy tunes like "Corvair" and "The Wrong Kind of Love," to all-out stompers like "10 Miles to Go on a 9 Mile Road," "Handcuffed to a Fence in Mississippi," and his unique cover of Roger Miller's "King of the Road." No Such Place is a classic storytelling affair. Continuing to draw from a lifetime's worth of experiences, including stints as a religious fanatic, drug addict, taxi driver, fashion model, and professional surfer, White generously offers up a collage of deeply personal thoughts and feelings. Although comparable to Beck's Mutations and Shawn Mullins' Beneath the Velvet Sun, No Such Place breaks new ground by pairing White's unique lyrical twists and vocal stylings with the slick production of Morcheeba, Sweetback co-founder and Sade musician Andrew Hale, DJ/producer Q-Burns Abstract Message, and Sohichiro Suzuki (formerly of Yellow Magic Orchestra and currently with World Standard). The result is a cohesive effort that's bold, bizarre, and beautiful. His tales, often witty and dipped in irony, stream underneath samples of crickets, howls, sirens, whistles, and an ample filling of ambient clings and clangs. White is a master of exposing his world, while singing the majority of his songs under the guise of a third-person narrator. Combining banjos, harmonicas, and jaw harps with thick lo-fi beats, record scratches, and samples, No Such Place is an exciting and fresh collection of music. Add to the mix White's tongue-in-cheek storyteller talents and the result is a strong album that proves that he's closer to finding peace with his past and optimistic about the journey ahead. ~ Don Kline
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (3/15/01, p.81) - 3.5 stars out of 5 - "...These tracks ground themselves in White's flawless songcraft - melodies, hooks and choruses that are instantly memorable...freshened up by hip-hop beats and swirling atmospherics....transports the listener to the imagination's outskirts..."
Entertainment Weekly (3/9/01, p.83) - "...Gothic folktales inspired by fire-and-brimstone religion, freedom-promising highways, and broken-down cars..." - Rating: B
Q (3/01, p.113) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...Beatmasters Morcheeba and Sade's Andrew Hale give White and his cast of oddballs and ne'er-do-wells a multi-layered contemporary sheen....A few more crunching melodies and he would be genuinely flying, but this will most certainly do."
Alternative Press (2/02, p.65) - Ranked #11 in AP's "25 Best Albums of 2001" - " American treasure..."
Magnet (4-5/01, p.91) - "...Long on urban beats and electronic effects...The settings and imagery...remain straight out of the Southern gothic tradition and in the very human scale of hand-to-mouth living..."
CMJ (2/12/01, p.24) - "...Rural rock from outer space..."
Mojo (Publisher) (2/01, p.94) - "...Caustic country and slinky white funk, with acoustic guitars, banjos, synths and samples, and a vocal warping from Will Oldham at his most affecting to Johnny Dowd at his most pathological..."
Disc 1
1 Handcuffed To A Fence In Mississippi
2 Wound That Never Heals, The
3 Corvair
4 Wrong Kind Of Love, The
5 10 Miles To Go On A 9 Mile Road
6 Christmas Day
7 Bound To Forget
8 God Was Drunk When He Made Me
9 King Of The Road
10 Ghost-Town Of My Brain
11 Hey! You Going My Way???
12 Love That Never Fails, The
13 Corvair Reprise
Product Attributes
Artist White,Jim
Music Format Compact Disc

More Buying Options

Seller Infomation Price & Shipping  
Importcds $10.75 + $2.98 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns
All our items are brand new - Ships directly from our Warehouse in California - Estimated delivery time: 5-7 days after shipment.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Blow It Outa Here $17.25 + free shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns
All products are BRAND NEW and factory sealed. Fast shipping with tracking and delivery confirmation! 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
$10.75 + $2.98 shipping
$14.99 You save $4.24 (28%)
Rakuten Super Points Earn 11 ($0.11) Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
Format: CD
Condition: Brand New
In Stock. Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
Please select an option to buy
Add to Cart

Sold By:  Importcds
What is a Marketplace and Shop Owner?
  • Our marketplace is a platform where approved third-party retailers (Shop Owners) can sell their products
  • Items are sold and shipped by Shop Owners
  • Your credit card and personal information remain secure; meets all PCI Security Standards.
  • Purchases can only be returned to the Shop Owner
  • All purchases receive Rakuten Super Points™