Orphans CD (2006)

Artist: Tom Waits

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview

A veritable godsend for Tom Waits fans (and a fun place for the uninitiated to plunge in feet first), Orphans is a 3-disc, 54-track set that brings together previously unheard material from various stages of Waits's career. The songs are grouped by style. The first disc, Brawlers, contains raucous stomps and uptempo jams, the second disc, Bawlers, is full of lyrical balladry, and the third, Bastards, is a hodge-podge of experimental tunes and covers. Many of the songs are outtakes from studio albums, while others are the results of outside projects or one-off oddities.

Waits's unique sensibility is in full flower throughout the set: his gruff croon, barks, and howls; the insistent clanking of strange percussion; and his evocative, detail-rich lyrics are all on ample display. From the spooky rave-up of Lie to Me through the heartrending beauty of Shiny Things and the familiar strains of Goodnight Irene, to his off-kilter cover of Daniel Johnston's King Kong, ORPHANS is packed with spectacular surprises. Add beautiful packaging and a lyric book complete with rare photos, and ORPHANS becomes another must-have document from one of music's most imaginative and consistently enjoyable artists.

Track Listing

Disc 1: Brawlers:
1. Lie To Me
2. Lowdown
3. 2:19
4. Fish In The Jailhouse
5. Bottom Of The World
6. Lucinda
7. Ain't Goin' Down The Well
8. Lord I've Been Changed
9. Puttin' On The Dog
10. Road To Peace
11. All The Time
12. Return Of Jackie And Judy, The
13. Walk Away
14. Sea Of Love
15. Buzz Fledderjohn
16. Rains On Me

Disc 2: Bawlers:
1. Bend Down The Branches
2. You Can Never Hold Back Spring
3. Long Way Home
4. Widow's Grove
5. Little Drop Of Poison
6. Shiny Things
7. World Keeps Turning
8. Tell It To Me
9. Never Let Go
10. Fannin Street
11. Little Man
12. It's Over
13. If I Have To Go
14. Goodnight Irene
15. Fall Of Troy, The
16. Take Care Of All My Children
17. Down There By The Train
18. Danny Says
19. Jayne's Blue Wish
20. Young At Heart

Disc 3: Bastards:
1. What Keeps Mankind Alive
2. Children's Story
3. Heigh Ho
4. Army Ants
5. Books Of Moses
6. Bone Chain
7. Two Sisters
8. First Kiss
9. Dog Door
10. Redrum
11. Nirvana
12. Home I'll Never Be
13. Poor Little Lamb
14. Altar Boy
15. Pontiac, The
16. Spidey's Wild Ride
17. King Kong
18. On The Road


Label Anti
SKU 203532933
UPC 045778684427
UPC 14 00045778684427
Format CD
Release Date 12/12/2006
Author Tom Waits
ReviewSource Entertainment Weekly
Review "[The set] adds a truckload of characters....Familiar, compelling, and tugging out empathy." Grade: A
ReviewRating 9
ReviewSource Mojo
Review With his unfussy brushstrokes, umber hues and humanely honest delight in warts and all, he is the Rembrandt of modern music."
ReviewRating 10
Product Attributes
Artist Waits,Tom
Music Format Compact Disc
Rolling Stone 'Tell It to Me' and the recycled 'The Fall of Troy' are genre classics right up there with Wait's bumptious claims on 'Young at Heart' and 'Goodnight Irene'.
Q Magazine Bawlers is Asylum-vintage Waits. Piano and death-rattle voice to the fore, here he's wreathed in smoke, down at the bottom of a bottle.

More Buying Options

Seller Infomation Price & Shipping  
Importcds $26.52 + $2.98 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns
All our items are brand new - Ships directly from our Warehouse in California - Estimated delivery time: 5-7 days after shipment.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Blow It Outa Here $31.51 + free shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns
All products are BRAND NEW and factory sealed. Fast shipping with tracking and delivery confirmation! 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
amitcj $31.58 + $4.31 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy. (ORPHANS:BRAWLERS BAWLERS & BASTARDS )
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Plutus Brands $40.78 + $2.99 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock
Direct from Manufacturer! Authorized Dealer
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
$26.52 + $2.98 shipping
$34.98 You save $8.46 (24%)
Rakuten Super Points Earn 27 ($0.27) Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
Get this item for
(price with shipping)
(redeem points)
Format: CD
Condition: Brand New
In Stock. Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
Please select an option to buy
Add to Cart

Sold By:  Importcds
What is a Marketplace and Shop Owner?
  • Our marketplace is a platform where approved third-party retailers (Shop Owners) can sell their products
  • Items are sold and shipped by Shop Owners
  • Your credit card and personal information remain secure; Rakuten.com meets all PCI Security Standards.
  • Purchases can only be returned to the Shop Owner
  • All purchases receive Rakuten Super Points™