Penthouse & Pavement (Bonus Tracks) (Rmst) CD (2006)

Artist: Heaven 17

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview


Label Caroline Distribution
SKU 202847385
UPC 094636680224
UPC 14 00094636680224
Format CD
Release Date 10/3/2006
Author Heaven 17
Technical Info
Engineer Peter Walsh; Steve Rance
CatalogID CDVR 2208
Lable Name Blue Plate/Caroline
Released 08/07/2006
Original Release 1981
Number of Discs 1
SPARE Code n/a
Length 62m : 5s
Mono/Stereo Stereo
Studio/Live Studio
UPC 00094636680224
Album Notes and Credits
Heaven 17: Glenn Gregory (vocals); Martyn Ware (synthesizer, piano, percussion, background vocals); Ian Craig Marsh (synthesizer, saxophone, percussion).
Additional personnel: Josie James (vocals); The Boys Of Buddha (synthetic horns); Steve Travell (piano); John Wilson (bass, guitar, synthesizer).
Includes liner notes by Gerard Talbot.
Heaven 17: Glenn Gregory, Ian Craig Marsh, Martyn Ware.
Personnel: Glenn Gregory, Josie James (vocals); John Wilson (guitar, guitar synthesizer); Ian Craig Marsh (saxophone, synthesizer, percussion); Martyn Ware (piano, synthesizer, percussion, background vocals); Steve Travell (piano).
Audio Remasterer: Donal Whelan.
Liner Note Author: John Gill.
An offshoot of the British post-punk band the Human League, Heaven 17 were influenced in equal parts by disco, David Bowie, and a keen awareness of the political and social winds of change blowing in early 1980s Britain. Though their debut album is packed with early gems of electronica, tracks like "We Don't Need This Fascist Groove Thing," "Play to Win," and "Let's All Make a Bomb" also reflect the social turmoil, as well as the threat of nuclear annihilation, that formed the roiling background to their music's shiny hedonism. This remastered reissue also contains two bonus tracks.
Professional Reviews
Uncut (p.86) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[They] defined new pop ambitions with PENTHOUSE AND PAVEMENT, a steely state-of-the-art, state-of-the-nation address..."
Mojo (Publisher) (p.121) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "It is stark and arty, as evidenced by the anti-nuke 'Let's All Make A Bomb' and the astonishing electronic/symphonic of 'Geisha Boys And Temple Girls.'"
Uncut (magazine) (p.88) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Their debut is a quintessentially '80s pop'n'politics confection, back when every dancefloor had a soap box in the corner."
Disc 1
1 (We Don't Need This) Fascist Groove Thang
2 Penthouse And Pavement
3 Play To Win
4 Soul Warfare
5 Geisha Boys And Temple Girls
6 Let's All Make a Bomb
7 Height Of The Fighting, The
8 Song With No Name
9 We're Going To Live For A Very Long Time
10 Groove Thang - (B.E.F.)
11 Are Everything - (12" version)
12 I'm Your Money - (12" version)
13 Decline Of The West - (B.E.F.)
14 Honeymoon In New York - (B.E.F.)
Sold Out
Sorry, you missed the deal!
This product is currently not available.