People Who Eat Darkness: The True Story of a Young Woman Who Vanished from the Streets of Tokyo--and the Evil That Swallowed Her Up (Paperback)

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview

In 2000, a tall, blonde, 21-year-old went missing in Tokyo, and her remains were found several months later. Questions arose about her friendships, her career, and her intentions.

Specifications

Publisher Farrar Straus & Giroux
Mfg Part# 9780374230593
SKU 225635882
Format Paperback
ISBN10 0374230595
Release Date 5/22/2012
Physical
Dimensions (in Inches) 7.5H x 5.25L x 1.25T
Praise
"Reporting the story, Parry discovered a side of Japan he hadn't known; his Tokyo thrums with energy, and the long-dead Lucie haunts the page as her killer fills the reader's consciousness with an undeniable sense of dread." (starred review)
"[A]n exceptionally perceptive and nuanced look at a terrible crime, one that put nations, institutions and family members at odds, and often into bitter and toxic conflict."
"Parry subtly encourages an understanding that goes past the headlines. It is a dark, unforgettable ride."
"Lucie Blackman was a beautiful woman full of promise and love. . . . I thank Parry for helping her posthumously proclaim her hopes and insecurities, her joys and flaws; for restoring her humanity, never allowed full bloom; for bring her back to life."
"[N]ot merely an exemplary piece of reportage but a sustained and quietly profound work of moral inquiry as well."
"[A] fascinating meditation that does not pretend to offer pat answers to obscene mysteries."
From the Publisher
Editors Note ?A masterpiece of writing this surely is, but it is more than that?it is a committed, compassionate, courageous act of journalism that changes the way we think. Everyone who has ever loved someone and held that life dear should read this stunning book, and shiver.? ?Chris Cleave, author of Little Bee and Incendiary||Lucie Blackman?a tall, blond, twentyone-year-old?stepped out into the vastness of Tokyo in the summer of 2000 and disappeared. The following winter, her dismembered remains were found buried in a seaside cave. The seven months in between had seen a massive search for the missing girl, involving Japanese policemen, British private detectives, and Lucie's desperate but bitterly divided parents. Had Lucie been abducted by a religious cult or snatched by human traffickers? Who was the mysterious man she had gone to meet? And what did her work as a hostess in the notorious Roppongi district of Tokyo really involve? ||Richard Lloyd Parry, an award-winning foreign correspondent, had followed the case since Lucie's disappearance. Over the course of a decade, as the rest of the world forgot but the trial dragged on, he traveled to four continents to interview those connected with the story, assiduously followed the court proceedings, and won unique access to the Japanese detectives who investigated the case. Ultimately he earned the respect of the victim's family, and delved deep into the mind and background of the man accused of the crime: Joji Obara, described by the judge as ?unprecedented and extremely evil.? The result is ?a big, ambitious true-crime book in the tradition of Norman Mailer's The Executioner's Song and Truman Capote's In Cold Blood? (Esquire).
Product Attributes
eBooks Kobo
Book Format Paperback
Number of Pages 0454
Publisher Farrar Straus Giroux

More Buying Options

Seller Infomation Price & Shipping  
Books2AnywhereUS $13.77 + free shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock
New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Buy.com
$11.03 + $3.75 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns

Usually Ships within 1 business day
Add to Cart
Synergy Data Inc $23.49 + $1.65 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock

Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
loading
$11.03 + $3.75 shipping
$16.00 You save $4.97 (31%)
Earn 12 ($0.12) Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
Format: Paperback
Condition: Brand New
In Stock. Usually Ships within 1 business day
Please select an option to buy
Add to Cart

Sold By:  Buy.com
For Books, Music, Movies & TV place over $40 (before tax and shipping charges) of eligible products in your shopping basket. Not valid with marketplace products, other restrictions apply.
ADVERTISEMENT
Promotions & Offers (1)
  •  custom promo
    5% Back Sitewide with Promo Code REWARDME at Checkout - Ends 8/31/15 *See page for details
Buy From Other Sellers (3)
kobo
  • Take your library with you wherever you go
  • Use the device you want to use… smartphone, desktop and many of today’s most popular eReaders

WHY KOBO?

We love the Kobo eReading service… and we know you will too. We’ve partnered with them to bring you the most flexible, enjoyable eReading experience in the U.S.

SHOPPING ON KOBO

You’ll be asked to sign in or create a new account with Kobo. Once you do, you’ll immediately get access to millions of titles and be ready to start eReading. Anytime. Anyplace.

continue to kobo
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT