Ships from/sold by Buy.com
See All Buying Options
advertisement

People Who Eat Darkness: The True Story of a Young Woman Who Vanished from the Streets of Tokyo--and the Evil That Swallowed Her Up The True Story of a Young Woman Who Vanished from the Streets of Tokyo--and the Evil That Swallowed Her Up (Paperback)

Earn Super Points: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
People Who Eat Darkness: The True Story of a Young Woman Who Vanished from the Streets of Tokyo--and the Evil That Swallowed Her Up Parry, Richard Lloyd 1 of 1
$16.00
(Save 32%)
$10.79 + $3.75 SHIPPING
EARN 11 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Super Points
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
FORMAT: Paperback
CONDITION:  Brand New
IN STOCK: Usually Ships within 24 hours
2 New
from
$10.79
See all sellers
45 day return policy
Share
 
Description
More Buying Options
 

Learn more about People Who Eat Darkness: The True Story of a Young Woman Who Vanished from the Streets of Tokyo--and the Evil That Swallowed Her Up:

Format: Paperback
ISBN-10: 0374230595
ISBN-13: 9780374230593
Sku: 225635882
Publish Date: 5/22/2012
Dimensions:  (in Inches) 7.5H x 5.25L x 1.25T
Pages:  454
See more in Murder / General
 
In 2000, a tall, blonde, 21-year-old went missing in Tokyo, and her remains were found several months later. Questions arose about her friendships, her career, and her intentions.
From the Publisher:
?A masterpiece of writing this surely is, but it is more than that?it is a committed, compassionate, courageous act of journalism that changes the way we think. Everyone who has ever loved someone and held that life dear should read this stunning book, and shiver.? ?Chris Cleave, author of Little Bee and Incendiary||
Lucie Blackman?a tall, blond, twentyone-year-old?stepped out into the vastness of Tokyo in the summer of 2000 and disappeared. The following winter, her dismembered remains were found buried in a seaside cave. The seven months in between had seen a massive search for the missing girl, involving Japanese policemen, British private detectives, and Lucie's desperate but bitterly divided parents. Had Lucie been abducted by a religious cult or snatched by human traffickers? Who was the mysterious man she had gone to meet? And what did her work as a hostess in the notorious Roppongi district of Tokyo really involve? ||Richard Lloyd Parry, an award-winning foreign correspondent, had followed the case since Lucie's disappearance. Over the course of a decade, as the rest of the world forgot but the trial dragged on, he traveled to four continents to interview those connected with the story, assiduously followed the court proceedings, and won unique access to the Japanese detectives who investigated the case. Ultimately he earned the respect of the victim's family, and delved deep into the mind and background of the man accused of the crime: Joji Obara, described by the judge as ?unprecedented and extremely evil.? The result is ?a big, ambitious true-crime book in the tradition of Norman Mailer's The Executioner's Song and Truman Capote's In Cold Blood? (Esquire).

Praise

"Reporting the story, Parry discovered a side of Japan he hadn't known; his Tokyo thrums with energy, and the long-dead Lucie haunts the page as her killer fills the reader's consciousness with an undeniable sense of dread." (starred review) 03/05/2012

"[A]n exceptionally perceptive and nuanced look at a terrible crime, one that put nations, institutions and family members at odds, and often into bitter and toxic conflict." - Laura Miller 05/20/2012

"Parry subtly encourages an understanding that goes past the headlines. It is a dark, unforgettable ride." - Carolyn Kellogg 06/03/2012

"Lucie Blackman was a beautiful woman full of promise and love. . . . I thank Parry for helping her posthumously proclaim her hopes and insecurities, her joys and flaws; for restoring her humanity, never allowed full bloom; for bring her back to life." - Jimmy So 06/05/2012

"[N]ot merely an exemplary piece of reportage but a sustained and quietly profound work of moral inquiry as well." - Dwight Garner 06/07/2012

"[A] fascinating meditation that does not pretend to offer pat answers to obscene mysteries." - Susan Chira 06/10/2012

Product Attributes

Product attributeeBooks:   Kobo
Product attributeBook Format:   Paperback
Product attributeNumber of Pages:   0454
Product attributePublisher:   Farrar Straus Giroux
Advertisement Bottom