Raising The Mammoth CD (2002)

Artist: Explorers Club

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview


Label Magna Carta
SKU 60566082
UPC 026245904620
UPC 14 00026245904620
Format CD
Release Date 8/20/2002
Author Explorers Club
Technical Info
Producer Trent Gardner
CatalogID MAX 9046CD
Lable Name Magna Carta
Released 08/20/2002
Original Release 2002
Number of Discs 1
SPARE Code n/a
Length 59m : 9s
Mono/Stereo Stereo
Studio/Live Studio
UPC 00026245904620
Album Notes and Credits
Explorers Club: Trent Gardner (vocals, keyboards); James LaBrie, Steve Walsh (vocals); Marty Friedman, Kerry Livgren, Garry Wehrkamp (guitar); Mark Robertson (keyboards); John Myung (bass); Terry Bozzio (drums).
Additional personnel: Jeff Curtis (guitar); Hal "Stringfellow" Imbrie (bass).
Once again, Trent Gardner has assembled a plethora of progressive rock musicians to produce an album under the heading of Explorer's Club. This time, the notable participants include drumming legend Terry Bozzio (UK, Frank Zappa, Bozzio Levin Stevens), bassist John Myung (Liquid Tension Experiment, Platypus, Dream Theater), Kerry Livgren (guitarist for Kansas), Gary Wehrkamp (Shadow Gallery) and keyboardist Mark Robertson (Cairo). Marty Friedman (best known for his work as guitarist in Megadeth) also makes his presence known. Gardner brings both vocal and keyboard talents, along with his songwriting work, to the project. The vocalists rounding out the recording are Steve Walsh (Kansas) and James LaBrie (Dream Theater, Mullmuzzler). If the first album by Explorer's Club (Age of Impact) prompted comparisons to Yes' Close to the Edge, then this release would be Explorer's Club's Tales From Topographic Oceans. Much like that Yes album, this one is a meandering sort of work that although it contains some awesome passages, doesn't work so well as an overall piece. Although the album is divided into four sections, much like Topographic, Gardner considers it to be one piece, as Yes vocalist Jon Anderson envisioned their release. Among the things that work really well on the album are those aforementioned vocals, most notably Walsh's. The segments on which he sings are among the best of the disc. Some of the more coherent musical passages are quite impressive as well -- especially those that call to mind Emerson, Lake & Palmer. The album just doesn't gel all that well, though, and some segments leave the listener scratching their head just a bit. ~ Gary Hill
Disc 1
1 Passage To Paralysis 1
2 Passage To Paralysis 2
3 Passage To Paralysis 3
4 Passage To Paralysis 4
5 Passage To Paralysis 5
6 Passage To Paralysis 6
7 Passage To Paralysis 7
8 Passage To Paralysis 8
9 Passage To Paralysis 9
10 Passage To Paralysis 10
11 Passage To Paralysis 11
12 Passage To Paralysis 12
13 Passage To Paralysis 13
14 Broad Decay 14
15 Broad Decay 15
16 Broad Decay 16
17 Broad Decay 17
18 Broad Decay 18
19 Broad Decay 19
20 Vertebrates 20
21 Vertebrates 21
22 Vertebrates 22
23 Vertebrates 23
24 Vertebrates 24
25 Vertebrates 25
26 Vertebrates 26
27 Vertebrates 27
28 Gigantipithicus 28
29 Gigantipithicus 29
30 Gigantipithicus 30
31 Gigantipithicus 31
32 Gigantipithicus 32
33 Gigantipithicus 33
34 Gigantipithicus 34
35 Gigantipithicus 35
36 Gigantipithicus 36
37 Gigantipithicus 37
38 Gigantipithicus 38
39 Gigantipithicus 39
40 Gigantipithicus 40
41 Gigantipithicus 41
42 Gigantipithicus 42
43 Gigantipithicus 43
44 Gigantipithicus 44

More Buying Options

Seller Infomation Price & Shipping  
Importcds $14.18 + $2.98 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns
All our items are brand new - Ships directly from our Warehouse in California - Estimated delivery time: 5-7 days after shipment.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Blow It Outa Here $17.18 + free shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns
All products are BRAND NEW and factory sealed. Fast shipping with tracking and delivery confirmation! 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
$14.18 + $2.98 shipping
$16.98 You save $2.80 (16%)
Rakuten Super Points Earn 15 ($0.15) Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
Format: CD
Condition: Brand New
In Stock. Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
Please select an option to buy
Add to Cart

Sold By:  Importcds
What is a Marketplace and Shop Owner?
  • Our marketplace is a platform where approved third-party retailers (Shop Owners) can sell their products
  • Items are sold and shipped by Shop Owners
  • Your credit card and personal information remain secure; Rakuten.com meets all PCI Security Standards.
  • Purchases can only be returned to the Shop Owner
  • All purchases receive Rakuten Super Points™