Ships from/sold by
See All Buying Options
Artist: Various Artists
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Reggae Anthology/channel One CD 1 of 1
(Save 23%)
$16.78 + $1.90 SHIPPING
EARN 17 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
More inventory may be available. Place your order today and be one of the first to receive this product when it arrives!
Alert me when this item is in stock.
4 New
See all sellers
45 day return policy
More Buying Options

Learn more about Reggae Anthology/channel One:

Format: CD
Sku: 61005751
UPC: 054645167826
UPC 14: 00054645167826
Release Date: 4/13/2004
See more in Caribbean

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
1. I Need A Roof - The Mighty Diamonds ~ Various Artists
2. Don't Smoke the Seed - DJ Frankie Jones ~ Various Artists
3. Right Time - The Mighty Diamonds ~ Various Artists
4. Natty Dread Have Credentials - Don Carlos ~ Various Artists
5. Natty Burial - Lone Ranger ~ Various Artists
6. Woman Is Like a Shadow - The Meditations ~ Various Artists
7. Road Block - Sammy Dread ~ Various Artists
8. Burial - Revolutionaries ~ Various Artists
9. Things & Time - The Wailing Souls ~ Various Artists
10. Cokane In My Brain - Dillinger (DJ mix) ~ Various Artists
11. Far East - Barry Brown ~ Various Artists
12. C.B. 200 - Dillinger ~ Various Artists
13. Welding - I-Roy ~ Various Artists
14. Worries In The Dance - Frankie Paul ~ Various Artists
15. Herbman Smuggling - Yellowman ~ Various Artists
16. Dances Are Changes - Barrington Levy ~ Various Artists
17. Show Me That You Love Me Girl - Sugar Minott ~ Various Artists
18. I Know Myself - Ernest Wilson ~ Various Artists
19. Truly (DJ Mix) - Ranking Trevor ~ Various Artists
Disc 2
Song Title
1. Truly - The Jays ~ Various Artists
2. Hard to Confess - The Tamlins ~ Various Artists
3. Ballistic Affair - Leroy Smart ~ Various Artists
4. Satisfaction - John Holt ~ Various Artists
5. Ragnampiza - Dillinger ~ Various Artists
6. M.P.L.A. - Revolutionaries ~ Various Artists
7. Death in the Arena - Revolutionaries ~ Various Artists
8. Prema Ballerina - Clint Eastwood ~ Various Artists
9. Sharing The Night Together - Delroy Wilson ~ Various Artists
10. Babylon - Sugar Minott ~ Various Artists
11. Smoke Ganja Hard - Little John ~ Various Artists
12. Fade Away - Junior Byles ~ Various Artists
13. Queen Majesty - The Jays/Jays & Ranking Trevor ~ Various Artists
14. Without Love - Leroy Smart ~ Various Artists
15. Up Park Camp - John Holt ~ Various Artists
16. Yaho - The Jays ~ Various Artists
17. Roach Killer - Super Chick ~ Various Artists
18. M. 16 - Lone Ranger ~ Various Artists

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote Personnel: Eradication Squad (horns).
Muze PNote Liner Note Author: Dave Hendley.
Muze PNote Recording information: Channel One Studio, Kingston, Jamaica.
Muze PNote Editor: Paul Shields.
Muze PNote Photographers: Dave Hendley; Simon Buckland.
Muze PNote Although not as well known as Studio One, Treasure Isle or Black Ark, Joseph and Ernest Hookim's Channel One Studio has played an equally strong role in the history of Jamaican reggae, first as a last blast of roots material at the close of the 1970s, and then as a cornerstone of the emerging dancehall scene in the mid-'80s. These two periods correspond neatly to the house bands in residence at Channel One, with the Revolutionaries providing the rhythms behind the first phase, and Roots Radics powering the second. This two-disc history of the studio shows that whatever the differences were between early and later Channel One releases, a crisp, clear sound was the constant, and the hits here from the Mighty Diamonds ("I Need a Roof," "Right Time"), Barrington Levy ("Dances Are Changes"), Delroy Wilson ("Sharing the Night Together"), the Jays (a cover of "Queen Majesty" by the Impressions), John Holt ("Up Park Camp") and Sugar Minott ("Babylon") all feature that same sharp, fresh feel and tone, making this a wonderful introduction to a vital Jamaican institution. ~ Steve Leggett

Producer: Earl "Chinna" Smith; Ossie Hibbert; Lloyd Campbell (Compilation)

Engineer: Barnabas Stanley Brian; Joseph Hoo Kim; Soljie; Bunny Tom Tom

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 04/26/2004
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 2004
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : VPCD 1678
Music Label Name Label : VP
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 2
Music Studio or Live Studio/Live : Studio
Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Stereo
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00054645167826

Advertisement Bottom