Revealed (Unreleased Recordings) CD (2009)

Artist: Hank Williams

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview

At the peak of his career in 1951, Hank Williams recorded 143 songs for the Mother's Best Flour Company, Hank sang with his regular studio band and recorded his hits as well as songs he never recorded commercially anywhere else. From this amazing legacy, Time Life is proud to release the second 3-disc set Hank Williams: Revealed, another historic 3-CD, 54-track collection drawn from the Mother's Best recordings. It's a rare, informal glimpse into the heart and soul of country music's greatest star who passed away on New Year's Day 1953, at age 29.

This second three-CD set drawn from the Mother's Best shows includes a little more conversation, and each disc also includes a complete show. The highlights are many. On one of the earliest surviving shows, Hank plays the just-released "Cold, Cold Heart" without any idea of what it will do for his career. On one of the later shows, his back pain is so crippling he has to sing sitting down. The spinal problems he'd had since birth had been aggravated by the year's punishing itinerary. In the songs and chatter, Hank Williams takes us back to his world. These days, we count ourselves lucky if we find an alternate take or two by any late giant of American music. To find eighteen hours of music and talk is truly without precedent. Set the time machine for 1951.

Disc-1 Track Listing
1. Cold, Cold Heart
2. Move It On Over
3. Lonesome Whistle
4. Long Gone Lonesome Blues
5. Hey, Good Lookin'
6. I Can't Help It (If I'm Still in Love with You)
7. Why Don't You Love Me
8. A Mansion on the Hill
9. Moanin' the Blues
10. I Just Don't Like This Kind of Livin'
11. They'll Never Take Her Love from Me
12. Mind Your Own Business
13. Lovesick Blues
14. Nobody's Lonesome for Me
15. Don Helms and Sammy Pruett and the Drifting Cowboys: Twin Guitar Polka
16. Gathering Flowers for the Master's Bouquet
17. Jerry Rivers and the Drifting Cowboys: Eighth of January
18. Closing Theme

Disc-2 Track Listing
1. That Beautiful Home
2. How Can You Refuse Him Now
3. Lord, Build Me a Cabin in Glory
4. Farther Along
5. Calling You
6. I Am Bound for the Promised Land
7. Dear Brother
8. Jesus Died for Me
9. At the Cross
10. Thirty Pieces of Silver
11. Hank & Audrey: Something Got Hold of Me
12. Lovesick Blues
13. My Sweet Love Ain't Around
14. Jerry Rivers and the Drifting Cowboys: Fire on the Mountain
15. I Saw the Light
16. Closing Theme

Disc-3 Track Listing
1. Everything's Okay
2. I've Just Told Mama Goodbye
3. Where the Old Red River Flows
4. Alabama Waltz
5. Faded Love and Winter Roses
6. Deck of Cards
7. Just Waitin'
8. I Hang My Head and Cry
9. Jerry Rivers, Hank Williams and the Drifting Cowboys: Orange Blossom Special
10. I've Been Down That Road Before
11. Steal Away/The Funeral
12. Lovesick Blues
13. I Dreamed about Mom Last Night
14. Jerry Rivers and the Drifting Cowboys: Black Mountain Rag
15. I Heard My Savior Calling Me
16. Closing Theme


Label Time Life Music
SKU 212442620
UPC 610583316520
UPC 14 00610583316520
Format CD
Release Date 11/3/2009
Author Hank Williams
Product Attributes
Artist Williams,Hank
Label Time Life Music
Music Format Compact Disc
Sold Out
Sorry, you missed the deal!
This product is currently not available.