Ships from/sold by Movie Mars
Seller Rating:
Artist: Rush
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Rush In Rio (Live) CD 1 of 1
(Save 44%)
$14.95 + $2.98 SHIPPING
EARN 15 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
IN STOCK: Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
View My Store
Seller Information

Learn more about Rush In Rio (Live):

Format: CD
Sku: 60610618
UPC: 075678367229
UPC 14: 00075678367229
Release Date: 10/21/2003
See more in Pop

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
1. Tom Sawyer ~ Rush
2. Distant Early Warning ~ Rush
3. New World Man ~ Rush
4. Roll The Bones ~ Rush
5. Earthshine ~ Rush
6. YYZ ~ Rush
7. Pass, The ~ Rush
8. Bravado ~ Rush
9. Big Money, The ~ Rush
10. Trees, The ~ Rush
11. Free Will ~ Rush
12. Closer To The Heart ~ Rush
13. Natural Science ~ Rush
Disc 2
Song Title
1. One Little Victory ~ Rush
2. Driven ~ Rush
3. Ghost Rider ~ Rush
4. Secret Touch ~ Rush
5. Dreamline ~ Rush
6. Red Sector A ~ Rush
7. Leave That Thing Alone ~ Rush
8. O Baterista ~ Rush
9. Resist ~ Rush
10. 2112 ~ Rush
Disc 3
Song Title
1. Limelight ~ Rush
2. La Villa Strangiato ~ Rush
3. Spirit Of Radio, The ~ Rush
4. By-Tor And The Snow Dog ~ Rush
5. Cygnus X-1 ~ Rush
6. Working Man ~ Rush
7. Between Sun & Moon ~ Rush
8. Vital Signs ~ Rush
Legendary rock trio Rush (Geddy Lee, Alex Lifeson, Neil Peart) returns with the simultaneous release of a two-disc, first-ever live DVD and a three-disc live CD, both entitled RUSH IN RIO. The sets capture all the excitement of the band’s 2002 tour of North and South America. One of the largest-grossing tours of the year, the itinerary found Rush performing before hundreds of thousands of fans throughout Canada, the United States and, for the very first time, in Mexico and Brazil. RUSH IN RIO was recorded and filmed at Maracana Stadium in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil on the final night of the tour in front of a spirited crowd of over 60,000.

The three-hour concert includes songs spanning the group’s entire 30-year career - from the mammoth guitar riffs of “Working Man” (from Rush’s debut album) to the contemporary crunch of their latest #1 rock smash, “One Little Victory” (from their critically acclaimed 17th studio album, 2002’s VAPOR TRAILS). All of the great Rush hits are present, including “Tom Sawyer,” “The Spirit of Radio,” “Closer to the Heart,” “New World Man,” “Distant Early Warning,” “2112,” “The Big Money,” “Freewill,” “YYZ,” “Dreamline,” “The Trees,” and “Limelight.” Also featured is a special never-before-performed acoustic version of “Resist” from 1996’s TEST FOR ECHO and an updated awe-inspiring Neil Peart drum solo (“O Baterista”).

In addition to the entire live performance, which was mixed by James “Jimbo” Barton (Metallica, Godsmack, Eric Clapton) and guitarist Alex Lifeson, both the DVD and CD packages include special bonus materials that will appeal to both new and long-time Rush fans.

The CD set contains two “authorized bootleg” tracks recorded earlier in the 2002 tour: “Between Sun & Moon,” a gem from 1993’s COUNTERPARTS album never before played live; and “Vital Signs,” from 1981’s classic MOVING PICTURES and appearing on a live album for the very first time.

The DVD was produced from a 22-camera shoot and is presented in 16x9 widescreen format. Audio options include Dolby 5.1 Surround Sound and Dolby Digital Stereo. Among the numerous DVD bonus features are:

  • A documentary by longtime Rush photographer Andrew MacNaughtan that includes band interviews as well as rare rehearsal and backstage footage.
  • Multi-angle viewing options on “La Villa Strangiato” and “YYZ” (Alex, Geddy, or Neil angle in addition to the original cut), plus two alternate angle shots on “O Baterista.”
  • Easter eggs: “By Tor & The Snow Dog” (from 1975’s FLY BY NIGHT) cartoon created specifically for the tour, and an extremely rare live performance from 1975 of “Anthem” (also from FLY BY NIGHT) that was recently discovered in the Rush vault.

    RUSH IN RIO is a truly stellar set that captures the energy, power, and virtuosity of one of music’s most dynamic ensembles.

  • Album Notes and Credits

    Notes & Personnel Info
    Muze PNote Rush: Geddy Lee (vocals, keyboards, bass); Alex Lifeson (guitar, background vocals); Neil Peart (drums, percussion).
    Muze PNote Principally recorded at the Maracana Stadium, in Rio de Janiero, Brazil, on November 23, 2002. Includes liner notes by Neil Peart.
    Muze PNote Personnel: George Steinert (organ).
    Muze PNote Audio Mixers: James Barton ; Alex Lifeson.
    Muze PNote Liner Note Author: Neil Peart.
    Muze PNote Recording information: Colisee, Quebec City, PQ (09/27/2002-10/19/2002); Cricket Pavilion, Phoenix, AZ (09/27/2002-10/19/2002).
    Muze PNote Animations: Jarrett Smith; Greg Hermanovic; Alan Kapler; Ben Voigt; Farah Yusuf; Rob Bairos; Paul Simpson.
    Muze PNote Illustrator: Hugh Syme.
    Muze PNote Photographers: M. Rossi; Carrie Nuttall; Andrew MacNaughtan.
    Muze PNote Unknown Contributor Roles: Vapor Trails Tour Crew; Lashawn Lundstrom; Dave Cook; Michael Gibney; Jon Cordes; James Ellis; Tom Hartman; Steve Kotzer; Lonnie Sweet; Arthur McLear "Mac"; Don Johnson ; Dave Burnette.
    Muze PNote RUSH IN RIO is a unique 3-CD document that features an entire set recorded at a Rio de Janeiro show in November 2002 that was also the last date on the Vapor Trails international tour. Originally recorded for the Rush concert video/DVD of the same name, this collection is raw around the edges but still manages to capture the live might of this critically underrated progressive rock power trio. Playing South America for the first time, the Canadian threesome waded deep into their canon for this crowd of 40,000 rabid fans. In addition to serving up expected Rush perennials like "Tom Sawyer," "Limelight," and "The Spirit of Radio," Rush doled out a few more obscure nuggets including a medley of "By-Tor and the Snow Dog," "Cygnus X-1," and "Working Man."
    Muze PNote More recent fare also gets trotted out including "Earthshine," "One Little Victory," and "Ghost Rider" from VAPOR TRAILS. Add the expected Neil Peart drum solo found within the instrumental tour de force "O Baterista," including a healthy swing jazz segment, and RUSH IN RIO proves to be another stellar addition to the band's catalog.

    Producer: James Barton; Alex Lifeson

    Engineer: James Barton

    Compilation Appearances

    Muze Music Compilations Freaks & Geeks Soundtrack
    Muze Music Compilations Halloween ( Original Soundtrack ) (Explicit Version)
    Muze Music Compilations Now: Classic Rock
    Muze Music Compilations Rounder Records Story
    Muze Music Compilations Xxx:three Decades Of Roadrunner Recor
    Muze Music Compilations Atlantic Records: Time Capsule (Limited Edition)

    Associated Artists and Works

    Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
    String Quartet

    Technical Info

    Music Release Date Release Date : 10/21/2003
    Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 2003
    Music CatalogId Catalog ID : 7567836722
    Music Label Name Label : Atlantic (Label)
    Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 3
    Music Studio or Live Studio/Live : Live
    Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Stereo
    Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
    Music UPC UPC : 00075678367229

    Professional Reviews

    Q (1/04, p.121)
    - 4 stars out of 5 - "Rush prove themselves the masters of virtuoso prog-metal."

    Mojo (Publisher)
    (12/03, p.131)
    - 3 stars out of 5 - "[T]here's more warmth and humanity here than non-converts might expect."

    Advertisement Bottom