Ships from/sold by Buy.com
See All Buying Options
advertisement

Shadow Divers The True Adventure of Two Americans Who Risked Everything to Solve One of the Last Mysteries of World War II ( CD)

Earn Super Points: Write a Review
37%
OFF
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Shadow Divers Kurson, Robert/ Scott, Campbell (NRT) 1 of 1
$14.99
(Save 37%)
$9.43 + $2.90 SHIPPING
EARN 10 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Super Points
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
FORMAT: CD
ALSO AVAILABLE: Other Formats Choose Format
CONDITION:  Brand New
IN STOCK: Usually Ships within 24 hours
Very few left In Stock! Order soon -- product may sell out.
2 New
from
$9.43
See all sellers
45 day return policy
Share
promo
 
Description
 

Product Details:

Format:  CD
ISBN-10: 0739320831
ISBN-13: 9780739320839
Sku: 31123586
Publish Date: 4/26/2005
Dimensions:  (in Inches) 6.25H x 5.5L x 1T
Pages:  3
Age Range:  NA
 
*Author: Kurson, Robert/ Scott, Campbell (NRT) *Subtitle: The True Adventure of Two Americans Who Risked Everything to Solve One of the Last Mysteries of World War II *Publication Date: 2005/04/26 *Binding Type: CD/Spoken Word *Language: English *Depth: 1.00 *Width: 5.50 *Height: 6.25
From the Publisher:
In the tradition of Jon Krakauer’s Into Thin Air and Sebastian Junger’s The Perfect Storm comes a true tale of riveting adventure in which two weekend scuba divers risk everything to solve a great historical mystery–and make history themselves.

For John Chatterton and Richie Kohler, deep wreck diving was more than a sport. Testing themselves against treacherous currents, braving depths that induced hallucinatory effects, navigating through wreckage as perilous as a minefield, they pushed themselves to their limits and beyond, brushing against death more than once in the rusting hulks of sunken ships.
But in the fall of 1991, not even these courageous divers were prepared for what they found 230 feet below the surface, in the frigid Atlantic waters sixty miles off the coast of New Jersey: a World War II German U-boat, its ruined interior a macabre wasteland of twisted metal, tangled wires, and human bones–all buried under decades of accumulated sediment.
No identifying marks were visible on the submarine or the few artifacts brought to the surface. No historian, expert, or government had a clue as to which U-boat the men had found. In fact, the official records all agreed that there simply could not be a sunken U-boat and crew at that location.

Over the next six years, an elite team of divers embarked on a quest to solve the mystery. Some of them would not live to see its end. Chatterton and Kohler, at first bitter rivals, would be drawn into a friendship that deepened to an almost mystical sense of brotherhood with each other and with the drowned U-boat sailors–former enemies of their country. As the men’s marriages frayed under the pressure of a shared obsession, their dives grew more daring, and each realized that he was hunting more than the identities of a lost U-boat and its nameless crew.

Author Robert Kurson’s account of this quest is at once thrilling and emotionally complex, and it is written with a vivid sense of what divers actually experience when they meet the dangers of the ocean’s underworld. The story of Shadow Divers often seems too amazing to be true, but it all happened, two hundred thirty feet down, in the deep blue sea.


From the Hardcover edition.
Annotation:
The perilous, obsessive world of the deep-sea diver is revealed in this true account of a six-year quest begun in 1991 to recover items from and discover the identity of a World War II U-boat sunk off the coast of New Jersey, a place where the history books said no such ship should be. As a team of divers explores the twisted wreck underwater and conducts painstaking research on land, lives and marriages will be sacrificed to get to the bottom of the mystery. SHADOW DIVERS was the nonfiction choice for ABA's 2005 Book Sense Book of the Year Award.
Product Attributes
Product attributeBook Format:   Audio Cassette - Abridged / Audio CD - Abridged
Product attributeNumber of Pages:   3
Product attributePublisher:   Random House Audio
Advertisement Bottom