Shangri La CD (2013)

Artist: Jake Bugg

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview


Label Universal Music Group
SKU 256167302
UPC 602537560554
UPC 14 00602537560554
Format CD
Release Date 11/19/2013
Author Jake Bugg
Compilation Appearance Fault In Our Stars (ost)
Technical Info
Engineer Dana Nielsen; Dave Schiffman; Phillip Broussard, Jr.
Producer Rick Rubin
CatalogID 3756055
Lable Name Virgin EMI (Universal UK)
Released 11/18/2013
Original Release 2013
Number of Discs 1
SPARE Code n/a
Length 39m : 57s
Mono/Stereo Stereo
UPC 00602537560554
Album Notes and Credits
Personnel: Jake Bugg (vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, slide guitar); Matt Sweeney (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, slide guitar); Jason Lader (baritone guitar, piano); Pete Thomas , Chad Smith (drums, percussion).
Audio Mixers: Andrew Scheps; Billy Bush.
Recording information: Shangri La Studios, Malibu, CA.
Editors: Dana Nielsen; Jason Grossman; Jason Lader.
Photographer: Kevin Westernberg.
Jake Bugg's eponymous 2012 debut was enough of a success to push him into neo-stardom across the Atlantic Ocean. He never had an actual hit in America -- the album did get to 75 on the Billboard 200, though -- but his reputation was strong, strong enough to gain the attention of Rick Rubin, who signed up to record the young British singer/songwriter's sophomore album at the producer's home studio. Literal guy that he is, Bugg named his second album Shangri La after Rubin's Malibu studio, and it's an appropriate title because it's a collection of 12 songs that were recorded at Shangri La. Rubin cannily assists Bugg in going electric, accelerating the process that took Bob Dylan the better part of three years into something less than 12 months. Rubin skillfully retains a veneer of authenticity throughout Shangri La, adhering to the Dylan in Greenwich Village vibe of the 2012 debut and never letting the electric expansion feel like exploitation. The producer brings in Pete Thomas, one of rock's great unheralded drummers, to anchor this throwback to 1965 Dylan, an exercise in '60s folk-rock pastiche that is pleasing enough. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (p.70) - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "On Bugg's second album, Rick Rubin oversees an expanding sonic palette and a tougher sound..."
Entertainment Weekly (p.64) - "[A]iry moments like the spare 'Me and You' suggest he's a better troubadour than troublemaker." -- Grade: B
Mojo (Publisher) (p.84) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he styles veer from the Crazy Horse echoes of 'All Your Reasons' to 'Slumville Sunrise''s filthy rockabilly twang."
Disc 1
1 There's a Beast and We All Feed It
2 Slumville Sunrise
3 What Doesn't Kill You
4 Me and You
5 Messed Up Kids
6 Song About Love, A
7 All Your Reasons
8 Kingpin
9 Kitchen Table
10 Pine Trees
11 Simple Pleasures
12 Storm Passes Away
Product Attributes
Artist Bugg,Jake
Label Universal Music Group
$9.03 + $1.90 shipping
$10.98 You save $1.95 (17%)
Earn 10 ($0.10) Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
Format: CD
Condition: Brand New
In Stock. Usually Ships within 24 hours
Please select an option to buy
Add to Cart

Sold By:
For Books, Music, Movies & TV place over $40 (before tax and shipping charges) of eligible products in your shopping basket. Not valid with marketplace products, other restrictions apply.