Ships from/sold by Movie Mars
Seller Rating:
See All Buying Options

Sleep Dirt (1979)

Artist: Frank Zappa
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Sleep Dirt CD 1 of 1
(Save 29%)
$9.20 + $2.98 SHIPPING
EARN 10 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
IN STOCK: Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
4 New
See all sellers
View My Store
More Buying Options
Seller Information

Learn more about Sleep Dirt:

Format: CD
Sku: 234172171
UPC: 824302385821
UPC 14: 00824302385821
Release Date: 8/28/2012
See more in Pop

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
1. Filthy Habits ~ Frank Zappa
2. Flambay ~ Frank Zappa
3. Spider Of Destiny ~ Frank Zappa
4. Regyptian Strut ~ Frank Zappa
5. Time Is Money ~ Frank Zappa
6. Sleep Dirt ~ Frank Zappa
7. Ocean Is The Ultimate Solution, The ~ Frank Zappa

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote Personnel includes: Frank Zappa (guitar, keyboards, percussion); Thana Harris (vocals); Bruce Fowler (trombone); George Duke (keyboards); Ruth Underwood (marimba, vibraphone, percussion); Dave Parlato, Patrick O'Hearn, James Youman (bass); Chester Thompson, Terry Bozzio, Chad Wackerman (drums).
Muze PNote Digitally remastered by Bob Stone.
Muze PNote Recording information: 1974-1976.
Muze PNote Illustrator: Gary Panter.
Muze PNote Arranger: Frank Zappa.
Muze PNote Always a prolific, restless artist, Frank Zappa was constantly recording. The songs on his 1979 release SLEEP DIRT, which stem from as early as 1974, were originally intended for release on a planned four-platter package, but when the record company balked, they were eventually issued separately. Drawing on the talents of such stalwart accompanists as George Duke, Ruth Underwood, and Terry Bozzio, SLEEP DIRT is an intricate, multi-textured record. Initially all instrumental, the CD version was released with soprano vocalist Thana Harris on three tracks.
Muze PNote SLEEP DIRT opens with "Filthy Habits," a minor-key, somewhat Spanish-sounding workout. The stately, keyboard-dominated "Flambay" follows, with tinkling marimbas and lyrical bass work, sequing into "Spider of Destiny." These are not so much songs as compositions, mini-operas composed of distinct, often skewed melodic runs. "Time is Money" features the distinctive jazzy, intricate excursions that characterize much of Zappa's "serious" work, but the title track is a surprisingly gentle acoustic number featuring FZ's lovely guitar playing. With its five songs sprawling unhurriedly; this is serious stuff, despite punning titles like "Regyptian Strut" and "The Ocean is the Ultimate Solution."

Producer: Frank Zappa

Musical Guests
Muze Guest Artist Bruce Fowler
Muze Guest Artist George Duke
Muze Guest Artist Terry Bozzio

Associated Artists and Works

Boulez, Pierre
Boulez, Pierre (Composer, Condu
Boulez Conducts Zappa: The Perfect Stranger ~ Boulez, Pierre (Composer, Condu
Original Soundtrack
Persuasions (The)
King Kong: Jean-Luc Ponty Plays the Music of Frank ~ Ponty, Jean-Luc

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 08/28/2012
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 1979
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : ZR 3858
Music Label Name Label : Zappa Records (USA)
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 1
Music Studio or Live Studio/Live : Studio
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00824302385821

Product Attributes

Product attributeArtist:   Zappa,Frank
Product attributeLabel:   Hip-O Records
Product attributeMusic Format:   Compact Disc
Advertisement Bottom