Sleep Well CD (2008)

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview


Label Forced Exposure
SKU 207895284
UPC 880918008424
UPC 14 00880918008424
Format CD
Release Date 6/24/2008
Author Electric President
Technical Info
CatalogID MM 084
Lable Name Morr Music
Released 06/23/2008
Original Release 2008
Number of Discs 1
SPARE Code n/a
Length 52m : 51s
Mono/Stereo Stereo
Studio/Live Studio
UPC 00880918008424
Album Notes and Credits
Electric President: Alex Kane, Ben Cooper.
On their second album, Ben Cooper and Alex Kane aka Electric President pursue a vein of moody pop that could almost be to whatever was called trip-hop as the Postal Service was to synth pop -- a revisiting of a played out sound in the hopes that something could be done to re-hotwire it for a later time. Admittedly, Sleep Well is more of a fusion of that and the later work of Slowdive -- not to mention a healthy dollop of Orange Cake Mix's bedroom pop efforts, but there's a murky moodiness punctuated by low-key drum loops and shuffles which sound uncannily like an Anglophilic dream of what Bristol 1994 was supposed to be like. Combined with the delicate guitar work and softly sung vocals on songs like "We Will Walk Through Walls," the result is entrancing. Where the band best succeeds is with their ear for anthemic choruses and arrangements delivered in a gentle fashion, such as the suddenly quicker-paced, near talk/singing moments on "Ether," contrasted with calmer breaks and wordless vocals that do the Beach Boys proud without directly aping them, and the swelling vocal and keyboard conclusion to "Graves and the Infinite Arm." But perhaps the conclusion of "Lullaby" shows this best, where after an understandably quiet start the song becomes a majestic blend of rich orchestrations and singing while still sounding like a softly enveloping effort instead of a bludgeoning one. A lovely touch at the end: having one of the briskest and almost sunniest songs titled "When It's Black." ~ Ned Raggett
Disc 1
1 Monsters
2 Bright Mouths
3 We Will Walk Through Walls
4 Graves and the Infinite Arm
5 Adrift in Space, Or Whatever
6 Ether
7 Robophobia
8 Lullaby
9 It's Like a Heartbeat, Only It Isn't
10 All the Bones
11 It's An Ugly Life
12 When It's Black
Product Attributes
Artist Electric President
Music Format Compact Disc

More Buying Options

Seller Infomation Price & Shipping  
Blow It Outa Here $14.10 + free shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns
All products are BRAND NEW and factory sealed. Fast shipping with tracking and delivery confirmation! 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Importcds $12.71 + $2.98 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns
All our items are brand new - Ships directly from our Warehouse in California - Estimated delivery time: 5-7 days after shipment.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
$14.10 + free shipping
$17.98 You save $3.88 (21%)
Earn 15 ($0.15) Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
Format: CD
Condition: Brand New
In Stock. Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
Please select an option to buy
Add to Cart

Sold By:  Blow It Outa Here
What is a Marketplace and Shop Owner?
  • Our marketplace is a platform where approved third-party retailers (Shop Owners) can sell their products
  • Items are sold and shipped by Shop Owners
  • Your credit card and personal information remain secure; meets all PCI Security Standards.
  • Purchases can only be returned to the Shop Owner
  • All purchases receive Rakuten Super Points™