Snowdrops (Paperback)

Author: Miller, A. D.

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview

In the tradition of "Gorky Park" and "The Talented Mr. Ripley" this extraordinary debut set in Moscow in the early 2000s examines the irresistible allure of sin, featuring characters whose hearts are as cold as the Russian winter.


Publisher Random House Inc
Mfg Part# 9780307739476
SKU 221907586
Format Paperback
ISBN10 0307739473
Release Date 2/7/2012
Dimensions (in Inches) 8H x 5.25L x 1T
"A mesmerizing tale of a man seduced by a culture he fancies himself above, Miller's novel is both a nuanced character study and a fascinating look at the complexities of Russian society." (starred review)
From the Publisher
Annotation At once a murder thriller and a thoughtful consideration of life abroad, Andrew Miller's SNOWDROPS sends an untraveled American lawyer to Moscow at the height of Russia's hectic leap into capitalism. Finding himself in a modern-day Wild West--albeit a frozen one--full of cutthroat risks and legal shortcutting, Nick Platt becomes entangled in a chilly affair with two Russian sisters, and is pushed to the brink of his ethical boundaries. Far from the relative comforts of the city in winter, Platt learns the double meaning in thee Russian slang for a corpse that lies hidden under the snow.
Editors Note An intense psychological drama that echoes sophisticated entertainments like Gorky Park and The Talented Mr. Ripley. Nick Platt is a British lawyer working in Moscow in the early 2000s—a place where the cascade of oil money, the tightening grip of the government, the jostling of the oligarchs, and the loosening of Soviet social mores have led to a culture where corruption, decadence, violence, and betrayal define everyday life. Nick doesn’t ask too many questions about the shady deals he works on—he’s too busy enjoying the exotic, surreally sinful nightlife Moscow has to offer. One day in the subway, he rescues two willowy sisters, Masha and Katya, from a would-be purse snatcher. Soon Nick, the seductive Masha, and long-limbed Katya are cruising the seamy glamour spots of the city. Nick begins to feel something for Masha that he is pleased to think is love. Then the sisters ask Nick to help their aged aunt, Tatiana, find a new apartment. Of course, nothing is as it seems—including this extraordi­nary debut novel. The twists in the story take it far beyond its noirish frame—the sordid and vivid portrayal of Moscow serves as a backdrop for a book that examines the irresistible allure of sin, featuring characters whose hearts are as cold as the Russian winter.From the Hardcover edition.
Product Attributes
Book Format Paperback
Number of Pages 0262
Publisher Anchor Books

More Buying Options

Seller Infomation Price & Shipping
$10.25 + $2.90 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns

Usually Ships within 24 hours
Add to Cart
Books2AnywhereUS $13.50 + free shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock
New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Ria Christie Collections $22.44 + $7.98 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock

Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
$10.25 + $2.90 shipping
$14.95 You save $4.70 (31%)
Earn 11 ($0.11) Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
Format: Paperback
Condition: Brand New
Very few left In Stock! Order soon -- product may sell out.
In Stock. Usually Ships within 24 hours
Please select an option to buy
Add to Cart

Sold By:
For Books, Music, Movies & TV place over $40 (before tax and shipping charges) of eligible products in your shopping basket. Not valid with marketplace products, other restrictions apply.