Ships from/sold by Buy.com
See All Buying Options
advertisement

Snowdrops (Paperback)

Author:  A. D. Miller
Earn Super Points: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Snowdrops Miller, A. D. 1 of 1
$14.95
(Save 31%)
$10.25 + $2.90 SHIPPING
EARN 11 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Super Points
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
FORMAT: Paperback
CONDITION:  Brand New
IN STOCK: Usually Ships within 24 hours
Very few left In Stock! Order soon -- product may sell out.
2 New
from
$10.25
See all sellers
45 day return policy
Share
promo
 
Description
 

Product Details:

Format: Paperback
ISBN-10: 0307739473
ISBN-13: 9780307739476
Sku: 221907586
Publish Date: 2/7/2012
Pages:  262
See more in Suspense
 
In the tradition of "Gorky Park" and "The Talented Mr. Ripley" this extraordinary debut set in Moscow in the early 2000s examines the irresistible allure of sin, featuring characters whose hearts are as cold as the Russian winter.
From the Publisher:
An intense psychological drama that echoes sophisticated entertainments like Gorky Park and The Talented Mr. Ripley.

Nick Platt is a British lawyer working in Moscow in the early 2000s—a place where the cascade of oil money, the tightening grip of the government, the jostling of the oligarchs, and the loosening of Soviet social mores have led to a culture where corruption, decadence, violence, and betrayal define everyday life. Nick doesn’t ask too many questions about the shady deals he works on—he’s too busy enjoying the exotic, surreally sinful nightlife Moscow has to offer.

One day in the subway, he rescues two willowy sisters, Masha and Katya, from a would-be purse snatcher. Soon Nick, the seductive Masha, and long-limbed Katya are cruising the seamy glamour spots of the city. Nick begins to feel something for Masha that he is pleased to think is love. Then the sisters ask Nick to help their aged aunt, Tatiana, find a new apartment.

Of course, nothing is as it seems—including this extraordi­nary debut novel. The twists in the story take it far beyond its noirish frame—the sordid and vivid portrayal of Moscow serves as a backdrop for a book that examines the irresistible allure of sin, featuring characters whose hearts are as cold as the Russian winter.


From the Hardcover edition.
Annotation:
At once a murder thriller and a thoughtful consideration of life abroad, Andrew Miller's SNOWDROPS sends an untraveled American lawyer to Moscow at the height of Russia's hectic leap into capitalism. Finding himself in a modern-day Wild West--albeit a frozen one--full of cutthroat risks and legal shortcutting, Nick Platt becomes entangled in a chilly affair with two Russian sisters, and is pushed to the brink of his ethical boundaries. Far from the relative comforts of the city in winter, Platt learns the double meaning in thee Russian slang for a corpse that lies hidden under the snow.

Praise

"A mesmerizing tale of a man seduced by a culture he fancies himself above, Miller's novel is both a nuanced character study and a fascinating look at the complexities of Russian society." (starred review) - Kristine Huntley 11/01/2010
Product Attributes
Product attributeBook Format:   Paperback
Product attributeNumber of Pages:   0262
Product attributePublisher:   Anchor Books
Advertisement Bottom