Sold Out
This product is currently not available.
Artist: Various Artists
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sold Out!
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Soldiers Joy: a Civil War Odyssey CD 1 of 1

Learn more about Soldier's Joy: a Civil War Odyssey:

Format: CD
Sku: 60628912
UPC: 027297882027
UPC 14: 00027297882027
Release Date: 4/6/2004
See more in Folk

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
1. Home Sweet Home - Benny Martin ~ Various Artists
2. Brother Green - Leroy Troy ~ Various Artists
3. Soldier's Joy - Bubby Spicher ~ Various Artists
4. Cumberland Gap - Leroy Troy ~ Various Artists
5. When Johnny Comes Marching Home - Simon & Verity Grace ~ Various Artists
6. Give The Fiddler A Dram - Merle Travis/Red Herron ~ Various Artists
7. Two Little Boys - Simon & Verity Grace ~ Various Artists
8. Grandfather's Clock - Granpa Jones ~ Various Artists
9. Devil's Dream - Joe Maphis/Red Herron ~ Various Artists
10. Aura Lee - Simon & Verity Grace ~ Various Artists
11. Dixie - Arthur Smith/Benny Martin ~ Various Artists
12. Goober Peas - Arthur Smith ~ Various Artists
13. Darling Nellie Gray - Johnny Gimble ~ Various Artists
14. Go Down Yonder Moses - Eddie Adcock Band ~ Various Artists
15. Marching Through Georgia - Hoot Hester/Sam Levine ~ Various Artists
16. Girl I Left Behind, The - Jim & Jesse ~ Various Artists
17. Write A Letter To My Mother - Leroy Troy ~ Various Artists
18. Faded Coat Of Blue - Laura Weber ~ Various Artists
19. My Pretty Quadroon - Grandpa Jones ~ Various Artists
20. Yellow Rose Of Texas - Tommy Faile ~ Various Artists
21. Maryland, My Maryland - Dick & Jacquie Schuyler ~ Various Artists
22. Listen To The Mockingbird - Paul Warren ~ Various Artists
23. Lorena - Don Ange ~ Various Artists
24. Battle Hymn Of The Republic - Rhonda Renee ~ Various Artists
25. Angel Band - Carl Story ~ Various Artists

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote Liner Note Author: Norm Cohen.
Muze PNote Arrangers: Nat Vincent; M. Christian.
Muze PNote The premise of Soldier's Joy: A Civil War Odyssey seems a bit shaky, since it purports to be inspired by Charles Frazier's Cold Mountain novel, and given the high-profile movie made from the book, this disc smacks more of marketing than it does inspiration, especially since most of the songs included here were old even when the Civil War was fought, and the recorded versions selected are 20 or 30 years old. However, Norm Cohen's liner notes, which sketch out the fascinating history of some of these period songs, save this project from the scrap heap; it's interesting to note how much musical borrowing was going on even in the mid-1800s, reminding listeners that sampling is hardly a new phenomenon. "Brother Green" (done here on banjo by Leroy Troy) takes its melody from the ancient folk tune "Barbara Allen," and has also been recorded as "The Dying Soldier." The story (a dying soldier communicates his dying wish) is maudlin, but that melody, in whatever guise, is supremely beautiful. The melody to "Aura Lee," supposedly written in 1861 by W.W. Fosdick, is also achingly beautiful (it is done here by Simon Grace), and should be familiar to most listeners, since it was lifted for Elvis Presley's "Love Me Tender," recorded in 1956. ~ Steve Leggett

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 03/30/2004
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 2004
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : 8820
Music Label Name Label : CMH Records
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 1
Music Studio or Live Studio/Live : Studio
Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Stereo
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00027297882027

Advertisement Bottom