Ships from/sold by
See All Buying Options
Artist: Various Artists
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Soul Hits Of 80s CD 1 of 1
(Save 14%)
$7.70 + $1.90 SHIPPING
EARN 8 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
More inventory may be available. Place your order today and be one of the first to receive this product when it arrives!
Alert me when this item is in stock.
5 New
See all sellers
45 day return policy
More Buying Options

Learn more about Soul Hits Of 80s:

Format: CD
Sku: 61009585
UPC: 079897031022
UPC 14: 00079897031022
Release Date: 2/17/2004
Sales Rank: 1291
See more in R&B / Soul

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
1. Juicy Fruit - Mtume ~ Various Artists
2. Sanctified Lady - Marvin Gaye ~ Various Artists
3. Baby Come To Me - Regina Belle ~ Various Artists
4. Stop To Love - Luther Vandross ~ Various Artists
5. Let's Hear It For The Boy - Deniece Williams ~ Various Artists
6. Caravan Of Love ~ Various Artists
7. All Cried Out - Full Force/Lisa Lisa & Cult Jam ~ Various Artists
8. Lovegirl - Teena Marie ~ Various Artists
9. Shining Star - The Manhattans ~ Various Artists
10. Fall In Love With Me - Earth, Wind & Fire ~ Various Artists
11. Shake You Down - Gregory Abbott ~ Various Artists
12. Lovey Dovey - Tony Terry ~ Various Artists
13. Easy Lover - Philip Bailey/Phil Collins ~ Various Artists
Disc 2
Song Title
1. Encore - Cheryl Lynn ~ Various Artists
2. Ooo La La La - Teena Marie ~ Various Artists
3. Shower Me With Your Love - Surface ~ Various Artists
4. Lost In Emotion - Lisa Lisa & Cult Jam ~ Various Artists
5. Magnetic - Earth, Wind & Fire ~ Various Artists
6. All In My Mind - Full Force ~ Various Artists
7. How 'Bout Us - Champaign ~ Various Artists
8. Heaven Sent You - Stanley Clarke ~ Various Artists
9. Here And Now - Stanley Clarke ~ Various Artists
10. You, Me And He - Mtume ~ Various Artists
11. Dancing In The Sheets - Shalamar ~ Various Artists
12. Thigh Ride - Tawatha Agee ~ Various Artists
13. All I Want Is Forever - Regina Belle/James "J.T." Taylor ~ Various Artists
Disc 3
Song Title
1. Rockit - Herbie Hancock ~ Various Artists
2. Summer Nights - Grover Washington Jr. ~ Various Artists
3. Wishing Well - Terence Trent D'Arby ~ Various Artists
4. Oh Yeah! - Bill Withers ~ Various Artists
5. Save The Overtime (For Me) - Gladys Knight & The Pips ~ Various Artists
6. Sweat (Till You Get Wet) - Brick ~ Various Artists
7. Hydraulic Pump - The P-Funk All-Stars ~ Various Artists
8. Love Attack - Isaac Hayes ~ Various Artists
9. It's Gonna Take A Miracle - Deniece Williams ~ Various Artists
10. Show Me The Way - Regina Belle ~ Various Artists
11. Nights (Feel Like Getting Down) - Billy Ocean ~ Various Artists
12. Just Got Paid - Johnny Kemp ~ Various Artists
13. I Know Your Hot Spot - Enchantment ~ Various Artists
14. It's No Crime - Babyface ~ Various Artists

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote A budget three-CD set, Soul Hits of the 80's collects some of that awkward decade's soul moments from the Columbia/Sony catalog. Note the author's use of "moments" and the title's use of "hits," because they are, in fact, talking about the same songs. Not everything here was a hit, with some of the songs just squeaking into the Billboard Top 100; however, regardless of chart position, they do represent the era very well. There's a broad range of work here, from jazz crossovers like Stanley Jordan with "Heaven Sent You" and Grover Washington with "Summer Nights" to straight pop crossovers like Deniece Williams with "Let's Hear It for the Boy" and the classic and true hit "Easy Lover" by Philip Bailey and Phil Collins. Other actual chart-toppers here include "Juicy Fruit" by Mtume, Herbie Hancock with the seismic hit "Rockit," and one-hit wonder Johnny Kemp with "Just Got Paid." Luther Vandross, Teena Marie, Bill Withers, Babyface, and Regina Belle are a few of the others whose tracks pepper this 40-song (!) collection. It's not definitive, but does a fine job of representing just how broad soul music's reach had become in the '80s. ~ Wade Kergan

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 02/17/2004
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 2002
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : 70310
Music Label Name Label : Sony Music Distribution (USA)
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 3
Music Studio or Live Studio/Live : Studio
Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Stereo
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00079897031022

Advertisement Bottom