Ships from/sold by BookCloseouts
Seller Rating:
See All Buying Options
advertisement
Author:  Bill Cheng
Earn Super Points: Write a Review
76%
OFF
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Southern Cross the Dog Cheng, Bill 1 of 1
$25.99
(Save 76%)
$5.99 + $3.99 SHIPPING
EARN 6 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Super Points
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
FORMAT: Hardcover
CONDITION:  Brand New
IN STOCK: Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
2 New
from
$5.99
See all sellers
View My Store
Share
promo
 
Description
More Buying Options
Seller Information
 

Learn more about Southern Cross the Dog:

Format: Hardcover
ISBN-10: 0062225006
ISBN-13: 9780062225009
Sku: 243076018
Publish Date: 5/7/2013
Dimensions:  (in Inches) 9.25H x 6.25L x 1T
Pages:  336
See more in Historical
 
In the tradition of Cormac McCarthy and Flannery O''Connor, Cheng''s literary debut explores the bonds between three childhood friends that are upended by the Great Mississippi Flood of 1927.
From the Publisher:

In the tradition of Cormac McCarthy and Flannery O?Connor, Bill Cheng?s Southern Cross the Dog is an epic literary debut in which the bonds between three childhood friends are upended by the Great Mississippi Flood of 1927. In its aftermath, one young man must choose between the lure of the future and the claims of the past.

Having lost virtually everything in the fearsome storm?home, family, first love?Robert Chatham embarks on an odyssey that takes him through the deep South, from the desperation of a refugee camp to the fiery and raucous brothel Hotel Beau-Miel and into the Mississippi hinterland, where he joins a crew hired to clear the swamp and build a dam.

Along his journey he encounters piano-playing hustlers, ne?er-do-well Klansmen, well-intentioned whores, and a family of fur trappers, the L?Etangs, whose very existence is threatened by the swamp-clearing around them. The L?Etang brothers are fierce and wild but there is something soft about their cousin Frankie, possibly the only woman capable of penetrating Robert?s darkest places and overturning his conviction that he?s marked by the devil.

Teeming with language that renders both the savage beauty and complex humanity of our shared past, Southern Cross the Dog is a tour de force that heralds the arrival of a major new voice in fiction.

Convinced that he is cursed after the Great Mississippi Flood of 1927, 20-year-old Robert Chatham, who, constantly followed by trouble, has lost his will to live, finally shakes his demons until he is forced to make an impossible choice. 50,000 first printing. A first novel.

Product Attributes

Product attributeeBooks:   Kobo
Product attributeBook Format:   Hardcover
Product attributeNumber of Pages:   0336
Product attributePublisher:   Amistad Press
Advertisement Bottom